Someone Like You

11 May

Why is it that the last thought before I fall asleep, and the first when I awake, is being wrapped in your embrace?
How is it that you take away my peace, unless my head on your shoulder lays?
Why is it that the thought of two weeks without you, causes so much pain?
Why do you make me feel at the very beginning, that I’ve lost the race?

Why in your tight embrace, do I feel so secure?
Each time you leave, I’m left feeling so unsure?
Why must I strive to distract from thoughts of you?
How am I to break from your allure?

You are so perfect, in every which way.
You listen, you laugh, bring out the best in me each day.
Make the right noises, without giving  much away.
But how am I to know if you are really here to stay?

Your home is my temple
Your bed is my shrine
Your visits are a blessing
Your presence is sublime

The sound of your voice
The touch, feel, sight of your greys
I bask in your wisdom
I strive for your affection, more attention
But wonder if it’s not only for me?

You fill up my senses
My heart and my mind
Do not leave, let me rest in your
tight, tight embrace
Even when the sun has set
and risen
and set again
Let us just lay

7 Responses to “Someone Like You”

  1. Ian May 12, 2011 at 12:03 am #

    Someone is infatuated!

  2. chandler. May 13, 2011 at 1:18 am #

    God, tell me the title’s directly lifted from Adele’s song.

    • unsungpsalm May 23, 2011 at 6:20 pm #

      Guilty!
      I listen to it about 5-6 times a day.

      • chandler May 27, 2011 at 10:12 pm #

        It’s criminal not to. Such awe-inspiring talent that woman is.

  3. DegeSMS September 9, 2011 at 3:46 pm #

    5 6 time in a day. why?

Leave a Reply

