Worthy

1 Dec

So the long, long wait ends. And it happens almost in a heartbeat, with literally no warning. To add to the heat, the customers that I’m dealing with in my first cases belong to a category that new recruits aren’t allowed to interact with for a good few months into their onboarding here!

Yesterday, I got my first case assigned. Sure, my mentor sat before me and was literally backseat driving, but at least it was a start, no? The matter was resolved too, though mostly the mentor’s doing.

Today, my team assigned me yet another possibly more complex, but certainly a much more important one in terms of the client. So much so that my mentor made no effort in openly questioning the team as to why I’d been handed such an important client. (I have no objections to his concerns, but I wish he’d be a tad diplomatic in airing them.) The client though had left work when I called him up, and asked me to get in touch tomorrow, has been emailing me since he reached home, and seems to be in a hurry to get it all done. To the extent that I’m logging on from home and interacting with him.

Feels great to finally feel of some worth around here… Here’s hoping for a fast career progression!

7 Responses to “Worthy”

  1. Pesto Sauce December 1, 2010 at 7:44 pm #

    Dude it seems you are having an interesting tryst with corporate life….live it up!

  2. Marvin December 2, 2010 at 1:16 pm #

    Congrats! Lots of corporate terminology in that post – first time I’ve heard of ‘onboarding’. 🙂

    • unsungpsalm December 4, 2010 at 2:23 am #

      Is it so? I thought it was fairly common :-/

  3. abc December 4, 2010 at 7:31 am #

    cool

  4. Firebolt December 6, 2010 at 10:39 am #

    Good for you and all the best!

Leave a Reply

