Support Group

3 Oct

It’s extremely touching to see Hag and Hag boyfriend, more so the latter, sit your own sister down and try to explain to her that her brother’s sexuality is not his choice.

Yep, the sister holds on to her belief that my sexuality is entirely a “choice” I make with regards to who I sleep with, and is purely determined upon the basis of factors that surrounded me while I was growing up. That it’s not how I was born, and that I chose it. And that she has to accept me for a brother upon her choice.

And she also feels it unnecessary to do any kind of reading up on the subject, because she’s so convinced of her beliefs.

And hag-boyfriend attempted to convince her for hours that there were experts out there who had spent more time in researching the subjects than she had, which she should look up if she wants to understand me better. But she’s confident of her source of knowledge (which is her “value system” and beliefs)

I really don’t care enough to try and make her understand, or enlighten her in any way. But it was extremely touching to see 2 friends care so much about me to literally be at loggerheads with her, in attempt to make her look at a larger and possibly more accurate picture.

Friends truly are the family one chooses for oneself. I may or may not have the family I was born into, by my side tomorrow, but I hope I don’t do anything to lose the family that I chose for myself.

23 Responses to “Support Group”

  1. flygye12 October 3, 2010 at 8:31 am #

    Reading your blog after ages.
    Ha ! Exactly really, how DOES their life ‘crumble around them’ because WE are gay?
    Almost the same sentiments were expressed by my cousin.

    • unsungpsalm October 4, 2010 at 3:10 pm #

      She apparently had too many “plans” for my wedding!

      • abc October 4, 2010 at 10:10 pm #

        what a bloody ctrl freak!

        • unsungpsalm October 8, 2010 at 2:50 pm #

          She IS.
          But who are YOU?

          • abc October 8, 2010 at 10:01 pm #

            an anon nosy obsrvr

          • abc October 18, 2010 at 12:31 am #

            k, smthng u myt wanna uz on her:

            • unsungpsalm October 18, 2010 at 4:01 am #

              Thank you, my anonymous observer friend! This is awesome!

  2. Peter October 3, 2010 at 12:15 pm #

    good to know you have the support of friends…

  3. H October 3, 2010 at 12:38 pm #

    I’m so happy for you UsP. It’s really nice of them to stand by you like that! Also, give her some time, I’m sure your sister will come around. She loves you and in the end that’s the only thing that matters.

  4. Ian October 3, 2010 at 6:32 pm #

    I think she will come round eventually.

    I can never understand this way of thinking, but I have also never met anyone that thought that way.

  5. Pesto Sauce October 3, 2010 at 7:54 pm #

    Some people wll never let go of so-called beleifs, glad you have some around to explain atleast

  6. chinkurli October 4, 2010 at 7:56 am #

    she may take time to come around…but till then, you have support. Good luck, and I hope things get resolved soon 🙂

  7. Meira October 4, 2010 at 9:54 am #

    I hope she ‘comes around’! But seriously…how is your sexual preference going to affect somebody whom you’l never have sex with? ok bad joke. But chin up.

  8. Rani October 5, 2010 at 12:09 pm #

    The sis is a drama queen, no?
    Give her some time. (read: ignore her)
    And I am so happy about the friends bit. Means a lot to have such people in your life. Take care boy.

    • flygye12 October 9, 2010 at 2:24 pm #

      Ignore her never helps : (

  9. Jackdaw October 5, 2010 at 10:17 pm #

    Good to hear that you’ve got such good friends who are there for you, and that you appreciate it and don’t take it for granted.

    By the by, would things really be so different if it WERE a choice? Wouldn’t she just have to respect your choice then?

    • unsungpsalm October 8, 2010 at 2:50 pm #

      I don’t think I would’ve chosen this life, Jacko… I don’t think anyone would’ve…

Leave a Reply

