Lousy Day

9 Sep

Today has to be my worst day at work.
To begin with, tomorrow was supposed to be a holiday, one of the 10 declared annual holidays, as per govt. rules. Given that my office provides support functions to US-based clients, naturally the company cannot shut doors for the entire day, so most people work on those holidays and take compensatory leaves on other days.
I, on the other hand, am a trainee who isn’t interacting with clients yet. Nor do I have any training sessions to attend. I sit here and study all day, and then go home. Why then am I being denied a holiday tomorrow? In the manager’s words… “Holiday? Why? You have a girlfriend? No? Then hang out with all your boyfriends here… No need for a holiday.”
Now he’s generally a nice fellow from my interactions with him so far, but this I’m not going to forget if I can help it… It’s completely unjustified to assume that I have no life outside of this stupid office. And NO, I’m NOT going to reason for a holiday that is rightfully mine.
This may be a great place to work, but this has certainly taken a huge hit at my loyalty towards the company.

If that isn’t enough, the fellow-recruit who I was having my meals with so far, by virtue of us being the only ones in close physically proximity, in spite of being in different teams, gave me a most unceremonious goodbye. I knew it was a matter of time before either of us shifted loyalties to our own teams for breaks, but I assumed it would’ve happened with some courtesy. She, instead thought it appropriate to inform me after her dinner, that she’d eaten with them, and that she’d “smsed” me but it got “stuck in the inbox”. Because it’s apparently impossible to stop en route to the cafeteria, and let me know in person. Or make a phonecall, instead of an SMS.

Damn mad, I am, which makes it all the harder to concentrate on bloody annoying textbooks.

2 Responses to “Lousy Day”

  1. soulmate September 10, 2010 at 8:38 pm #

    Hmm… Take it easy… Calm down… Life, as we call it..

  2. Pesto Sauce September 15, 2010 at 5:59 pm #

    Get used to this baby,worklife is like that. And girls mostly ditch, maybe they like to

Leave a Reply

