Performance Pressure

26 Jul

1 week into my new job, and the performance pressure is becoming quite palpable.

No, it isn’t the pressure to performe “on job” that is mounting, but a different kind altogether, and I’m the only one to blame.

It all had to do with the (insane) number of jokes, sarcastic comments, wisecracks and so on that I made on the first day at work. I cannot understand where I’m garnering all these comments, but they’re coming forth as easy as can be! I suppose it’s because this entire environment is so new, and it’s a fresh start, so I’m light-spirited and the humour comes forth easy. Or maybe all my co-recruits have a really bad sense of humor!

So one week into work, every time I open my mouth, the entire class turns towards me with expectation written all over their faces. And under pressure, I scarcely disappoint. This week, the entire batch was divided into two, and a folk or two from the other half comes up and says “We really missed you today. It was so dull.” whereas members of my half are glad and seem to think they’ll be constantly entertained by my presence. How am I supposed to cater to these expectations? My jokes grow old, people grow tired. Am I to reinvent myself over time? Read joke-books? Watch comedy shows, just to be able to “entertain them”?

The environment has been conducive to my frequent barrage. It helps that all the people who have lectured us so far have been extremely amiable.
A few weeks down the line, maybe it wouldn’t be so? Maybe genuine work pressure, or the commencement of yet another rat-race (that I hope doesn’t happen) will undo? And then they’ll come up to me and say “Aww, whatever happened to you? You used to be so merry all the time…”
Why must I additionally live with the fear of disappointing?

7 Responses to “Performance Pressure”

  1. Aparna July 27, 2010 at 5:25 am #

    you are doing a noble work helping people forget other miseries. Good job!

  2. Pesto Sauce July 28, 2010 at 11:07 am #

    Take it easy

    These jokes will help when the real pressure starts

  3. DI July 28, 2010 at 1:55 pm #

    Reading you for a while, but commenting for the first time! 🙂
    Well, I would kill to be in a position where everyone ‘misses’ me or finds the class dull when I am not around!

    And no, I guess you should forget the pressure bit, and help the others enjoy for as long as you can! No one forgets the one who makes a bad day seem fun, even if it is for a short while! 😀 Too much gyaan, I know, but had to say it!

  4. BlueMist July 28, 2010 at 4:02 pm #

    I think you will do just fine. Chillax and enjoy 🙂

    • Kris July 29, 2010 at 10:56 pm #

      If this is of some use, I also make people at my work place. And I do it pretty well! Enjoy it!

  5. Harvey August 1, 2010 at 12:45 am #

    That is really a gr8 job ur doing….i am from the same genre…and my colleagues love me for it (could not help the praise session)….have fun @ work and spread the smile/laugh/giggle.

    • unsungpsalm August 1, 2010 at 12:49 am #

      Ohh, that’s great! Would definitely pick up tips from you for my “off” days 🙂

Leave a Reply

