New Beginnings

19 Jul

So here it is. The morning that I’ve been waiting for since forever (okay, 6 months). In 3 hours from now, I’ll be walking into my very first office, gasping at the brilliant interiors as I enter, and proceeding to despise them over time.
I’m shacked up in the guest-house accommodation they’ve so kindly given us. It ain’t that bad. I get free room-service and free laundry (within limits):D
I met two of my co-recruits last night, NEITHER of whose names I seem to recall (sure I’ll have lots of friends here 😐
I cannot even imagine the dreams I had last night, one including me being at this guest-house (though it looked more like a hotel in the dream) with some sort of star-cast and the subsequent one entailing my being late for the joining ceremony and desperately hunting an auto-rick to take me home so I could get dressed. The highlight of the second one was that firstly I was in Delhi (Delhi Metro was attempted before giving in to urgency), I gave Shilpa Shetty my blessings somewhere along the way :s and oh, of course, I was around 80 years in age! And all of this was an early morning dream.

Anyway, I sit here counting the minutes. The breakfast menu is pathetic, so I don’t feel like ordering any, and the TV hasn’t been working all night. And I’m wishing I’d brought in a friend on the pretext of him being a cousin, like a fellow recruit did. Did I imagine how boring my fellow-recruits are? I didn’t? Oh, they’re boring! One is a geeky nerd from whom I had some expectations of conversation and the other is a stud-who-chooses-not-to-speak. And I even tried speaking in both languages, and used some of my best humor, which even I was cracking at! Yes, Bah!

5 Responses to “New Beginnings”

  1. chinkurli July 19, 2010 at 4:21 pm #

    Hopefully you will find some people soon! Good luck with the job 🙂

  2. Harvey July 19, 2010 at 11:32 pm #

    Do well UsP….;-)

    • unsungpsalm July 20, 2010 at 8:27 am #

      Thank you sir! Do I know you? Or art thou new here?

      • Harvey July 20, 2010 at 9:59 pm #

        I am not new here…maybe am commenting now-a-days…have been following the blog religiously for abt year and a half now…love ur writing…would like to have a conversation with u on gtalk…whenever u have the time from ur busy schedule…now that u r working for THE Operating System giant!! :p…take care

Leave a Reply

