My Mommie Best-est!

14 May

So mom’s been in town for nearly 2 weeks now! Relations are just so much better when one is spending lesser time together… one can talk about pretty much anything!

For instance, one evening, mom, sister, aunt and I were sitting with beer (which, mind, mom drinks more in quantity and frequency than I do) and discussing instances of relatives drinking to the extent of throwing up! And boy do stories come tumbling out… Another aunt’s… dad’s… mine and my sister’s!!! (Both thanks to her)… And we’re at that stage of life when we can just laugh it off… or mom can make a small face, but not care too much.

Then again, there were discussions of smoking… during which I openly admit that I do smoke occasionally (though in truth, I’m quite regular)… And mom says that it’s okay as long as I never buy my own cigarettes, at which point I have to admit that I very much do so (though I omit details of how frequently)… And then we talked about grooming (read, waxing) and about i-pills and what not.

And this evening, when I was doing the dishes, mom remarks on how I could get a job washing dishes if the IT industry ever crashed… and I say that I’d much sooner enter prostitution. And the mom and the aunt just laughed.

So I don’t have a conventional mum. She doesn’t work anymore, she doesn’t cook (except nowadays to give the aunt company, unless any of her soaps are on), she doesn’t do housework. She’s nearly 50, still wears skirts (albeit knee-length) and dresses and quite enjoys boasting about how many people are astounded that her kids are as old as they are, or the influence she wields on people left, right and centre “through sweet-talk, and her charm”…

But that’s my mum, and I would never trade her anyone else in the world…

except of course a very identical but wealthier version of her.

13 Responses to “My Mommie Best-est!”

  1. Jackdaw May 14, 2010 at 8:15 pm #

    That a thing that happens to most people who move out of the parental house. As soon as you see your parents less, your relationship with them changes drastically. It’s amazing how many of those valuable things that no one ever told you about you discover as you grow older, isn’t it?

    By the by, your mom sounds cool!

    • unsungpsalm May 16, 2010 at 9:52 am #

      Haha, read the newest post and you’ll know!

  2. BlueMist May 14, 2010 at 8:23 pm #

    Told this before that your mom is cool. But seriously who wants to trade mum no matter how she is ? Will there be someone like that ?
    and me thinks for a parent it is the best phase when kids become friends. 🙂

  3. Stuti May 14, 2010 at 8:44 pm #

    Bluemist- You’d probably judge me, but at one point I actually wanted a different mother. Obviously, I was much younger and stupid (as is a given, I think) and did not understand that all it really took to better relations was acknowledging that we are different people and would have varying opinions.
    Now of course, I realise that there is a lot of her in me, and it will stay like that, despite our problems.

    Also USP, please tell me you were very anti-iPill in your discussion? If asked to (or even if not), I’d lapse into an almost unending discourse about how harmful the iPill is.

    Oh, before I forget to mention in this spam novel of mine, your mom sounds so cool! No, really. 🙂

    • BlueMist May 14, 2010 at 9:02 pm #

      Of course No. I won’t judge you. 🙂
      Like you said; you were much younger then. Guess it is natural to feel at times when mind is not old enough to value of “mum”. It hurts and feels bad when you are corrected even if it is your mum.
      Again that’s momentary. One melts in those lovely arms forgetting all the qualms. Differences do exist but trading does not IMO. I might be old fashioned though. 🙂

    • unsungpsalm May 16, 2010 at 9:53 am #

      *Stuti
      I’m sorry but I don’t really know anything about the i-Pill. Never needed to and never will need to.
      Post about it, no. Would love to read and educate myself on it!

  4. Prapti May 14, 2010 at 8:48 pm #

    “But that’s my mum, and I would never trade her anyone else in the world…

    except of course a very identical but wealthier version of her.”

    This cracked me up!! Haha

  5. D May 16, 2010 at 2:05 am #

    If you don’t mind it, can I just call it a very ‘sweet’ post? Really.

  6. Rani May 17, 2010 at 12:48 pm #

    so cute!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

