Khan he really do it?

16 Feb

Not only can he do it, he did it!

Yep, am talking about MNIK.

Karan Johar successfully took a brilliant plot, a fantastic storyline and mixed it into one of his melodramatic works that he honestly should’ve left behind in the 20th (more like 19th) century! And I rather doubt he has the right to portray America’s handling of emergencies in such an inefficient fashion. I’d like my American friends to watch the film and tell me if the country is likely to desert victims of a natural disaster when the area is as accessible as it was in the film.

But full credit goes to him for attempting to make a film with as brilliant a concept as the one this had. And full points to him for bringing Kajol and Sharukh on screen together without the chemistry that we always loved and adored. Now I won’t be so eager to see them act next to each other in the future.

All in all, a very, very mediocre film. Enjoyable moments, despicable ones too. I give it 3 on 5.

On a side-note, watching SF was quite a pleasure. Makes me long for being in the US yet again. Though at a more subtle level, I look at how an immigrant from this part of the world is likely to be treated there, and I’m forced to reconsider. Maybe if I could live on Wisteria Lane…

Anyhow, I thought I’d given that a long-needed break… The yearning to move to the States. And then I thought that I’d rather do Europe. And in between all that longing for everything out of reach, I’d told myself that being a first-grade citizen in India was pretty cool too… Yep, I want everything and I’m incapable of being satisfied with what I have. That’s established then. Nothing new there…

6 Responses to “Khan he really do it?”

  1. Dark Knight February 17, 2010 at 10:54 am #

    yeah: even i felt same abt the film… the movie has a good story but gone to trash because of so many unnecessary scenes… but some dialogues are cool. Btw you must check out this one: http://www.thevigilidiot.com/2010/02/16/my-name-is-khan/

    and yes: being first grade citizen of India sounds better (though less money and less infrastructures but still 🙂 )

  2. Rakesh February 17, 2010 at 9:06 pm #

    I haven’t seen the film so I am not really qualified to make any comments about it. Having said that, I’ve been hearing just bad reviews from friends who have seen it. There are stereotypes galore, so, we have the superhero Indian who single handedly saves an entire southern village during Katrina (unfortunately, there were no superhero Indians in reality); we have the stereotype Aunt Jemima (also from the 19th century) and so on. But stereotypes are expected from a KJo film. I have never had an issue with his past films because I have not only come to terms with the escapist Bollywood song-n-dance drama, but also come to enjoy the mindlessness. But, I am not ok with him trespassing into a serious film genre, and yet treating the viewers as fools to lap up the crap he serves in the name of realistic cinema. Unfortunately, going by the trade figures, it looks like there are more fools that are willing to buy this crap too. I just hope this doesn’t encourage him and worse, his followers to make more such crap. Just give me my good old Bollywood song-n-dance please.

    • Rambunctious WhipperSnapper February 18, 2010 at 2:01 am #

      I agree. I haven’t seen the movie either and am not planning too. K Jo movies are like mixing a large number of cliches into a large pot with tons of melted stale bubblegum sprinkled with a large number of manipulative supposed “heart wrenching” plot points.

      From the promos, this movie, Mink (or whatever)seems like SRK playing SRK as a retarded version of a person suffering from Asperger’s syndrome.

      Some people can do drama and some people cannot. K Jo should go back to doing things he is good at, which is making terrible rom-coms featuring his favorite over-hyped & over-hamming leading man and leave the ‘serious story-telling’ and ‘drama’ to the people who can are actually good at it.

      Like HBO.

      Also, USP, if you ever do get to Wisteria lane, please kill Susan. Kthanksbai.

    • Rebel February 18, 2010 at 3:11 am #

      I am sorry, I don’t think you should have used the sentence ‘there are more fools that are willing to buy this crap’. If you don’t like it, fair enough. I saw the movie, and I did like it (despite hating SRK for his (over)acting). I had my own reasons for liking the movie, which I chose not to go into. So taking an intellectual upper ground by rejecting all of KJo’s movies as a bucketful of crap is not really an apt thing to do.

      • Rakesh February 18, 2010 at 10:31 pm #

        @Rebel: Movies speak differently to different people and maybe you liked MNIK for a specific reason. Of course, some people are going to like it. I have no problem with that. I guess I wasn’t clear. My problem is that this movie claims to be realistic, when it isn’t. Because it is so much hyped up, and because it is an SRK/KJo film, it is going to be hugely successful financially. And where SRK/KJo lead, other film makers follow, giving rise to a trend of making more of the same – I have a problem with that. Then again, trends keep changing too. And I sure hope this trend changes quickly.

  3. Pesto Sauce February 19, 2010 at 11:28 pm #

    Will watch the film tomorrow….morning show

Leave a Reply

