When nothing makes sense, and nothing tastes good

11 Feb

I’m a bit afraid. My body is undergoing changes that I cannot logically justify.
The first clue would be the layers of fatΒ  that are starting to accumulate around my mid-region (I’m not exaggerating entirely!). I know I’m not getting any exercise, unable as I have been to find a gym in close vicinity and lousy as my office is for not having one, but my appetite is more than compensating for that, what with “Breakfast” having become a weekend affair and lunch and dinner being as measely as they get. And the volumes of coffee with a minimal amount of sugar… they’re supposed to help shed calories right? Or at least not contribute to them?
The second clue is how practically the entire week that has passed has been for me. From Saturday to Monday, I nursed a recurring headache. I could’ve blamed it on the contact lenses during the weekend, but waking up with one on Monday morning definitely did not fit into that explanation.
By Tuesday, the headache had quite cleared, but from then till yesterday, I’ve had significant loss of appetite. On Tuesday, I skipped breakfast as usual, and compensated by having 8 chocolate cookies at work (okay, the layers of tummy-fat are starting to make sense now) and felt nauseated for the rest of the day, thereby skipping lunch. Yesterday, I had decent breakfast (and discovered that I can use Facebook during lunch hour) so consequently couldn’t even think about lunch (Facebook wasn’t entirely responsible.) Then I went home and satisfied myself with the smallest quantity of rice and curd that I put together (more on that later). Today is another day entirely. I’ve a miniature breakfast and 2 cookies (here we go again!), and lunch doesn’t seem to be on the cards.
Low appetite, recurring illness, gaining fat… am I pregnant? If yes, I want an MTB song for me too!
Okay, maybe not.

I think the loss of appetite may have been caused by this hobby I’ve started pursuing off late… Cooking my own dinner! I had to face a LOT of resistance from my sister, but I fought off that resistance and the cook who was being forced upon me, and have been cooking my own dinner this week. How is it going, you ask?
The grand debut was on Sunday night. The first item attempted was Pulao (Flavoured Rice) with curd, made in a pressuer cooker. Mom was on the phone instructing, and I followed her instructions as closely as I could. Except that she forgot to mention to keep the stove on low flame, and the pressure cooker was whistling away ninteen to a dozen, quite like a heterosexual desperate man would at an attractive bimbo. Thus I couldn’t quite follow the “cook till the first whistle” instruction, and in nearly no time, there was the scent of positively burnt food.
Since I was determined and because it hadn’t taken much effort to make the first batch, I scraped out the burnt rice from the pressure cooker, but more veggies and made the entire extravaganza from scratch again. This time, I made it in an open vessel, and turned the gas off as soon as all the water had evaporated. The verdict was, interestingly, that I hadn’t used enough water (though exactly as much as instructed) the rice was still quite raw. I ate it nontheless. Can’t let SO much effort go to waste, can we?
The next day, I attempted Khichdi. I can’t quite put my finger on where I went wrong, but my guess is that it was something to do with the salt I’d forgotten to add, and the gigantic quantity of burnt garlic that was apparently supposed to be a substitute for the forgotten salt. The taste, texture and appearance it bore, at the end of the ordeal, was that of mashed potatoes. So I ate mashed potatoes with curd, that night. The worst mashed potatoes I’ve ever had.
Wednesday night, my aunt came to my rescue and called us over for dinner. Just as well… 2 nights’ worth of dinner, cooked by Moi, was still stuck somewhere in my alimentary canal.
Last night, I gave pulao another shot and lo-behold… It came out just fine πŸ™‚ Tasty, in fact. It’s another matter that I made it in a saucepan, and had to add small quantities of water about 6 times before the rice was finally adjudged “not raw”, but heck, I’m purely concerned with end results.

I’m feeling confident now… I think I’ll do Pasta tonight πŸ™‚
Okay, maybe not.

13 Responses to “When nothing makes sense, and nothing tastes good”

  1. BlueMist February 11, 2010 at 3:22 pm #

    LOL @ MTB song. We would love to arrange another hunt for USP; just give us an chance. πŸ˜‰

    I was planning not to laugh but sorry can not hold back. πŸ˜› By the time I come back to B’lore I am sure you will be an awesome expert cook. πŸ˜€

    Good luck USP. Lage raho. πŸ˜€

    Very USPish Post after a long time….very DQ. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    • BlueMist February 11, 2010 at 3:24 pm #

      Don’t tell me you are not joining Chisel ? :-O

      • unsungpsalm February 13, 2010 at 3:24 pm #

        Nope, not Chisel if I can help it. Very costly and lousy reviews, as far as trainers are concerned. No point in paying tons for a crappy trainer, na?

  2. vimesh February 11, 2010 at 6:02 pm #

    do not worry about burnt Pulao slowly or the various cooking mishaps ,but surely you would learn to cook… and become an chef de cuisine of your family in near future πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ but leave the cooking by yourself till your week off’s for now at least …

    and feeling nauseated … ur tummy is giving u subtle sign’s that it time to eat…

    eat USP eat do not skip lunch and also burn it out… u know how to do it guess besides gym πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    • unsungpsalm February 13, 2010 at 3:25 pm #

      Sigh, no gym in sight at present… That’s the trouble!

  3. Shruti February 11, 2010 at 8:14 pm #

    LOL. Reminded me of the days when I had just started cooking and burned everything (complete with fire alarms and shit). Oh wait, I still do that. Well, good to see you are better than me…haha πŸ™‚

    • unsungpsalm February 13, 2010 at 3:26 pm #

      Oh, that’s good to hear…! πŸ˜›
      TG for small mercies πŸ˜‰

  4. Rakesh February 11, 2010 at 10:36 pm #

    Reminded me of my first cooking adventures. I never cooked until I lived in India. When I moved to the US, I started cooking simple stuff. I burned rice a few times, coz it would look uncooked at the top, but get burned at the bottom. Don’t give up. If you keep at it, you’ll definitely get better.

    • unsungpsalm February 13, 2010 at 3:28 pm #

      Lazy bum, aren’t you supposed to stir it?
      Well, that’s good to hear πŸ™‚ I’ll be more optimistic!

  5. H February 12, 2010 at 1:14 am #

    “and had to add small quantities of water about 6 times before the rice”
    You know that’s how the italians actually make rissotto, my guess is you’ll be fine.
    I stumbled a bit at first but eventually i got better.
    It gets progressively more fun, the better you get.

  6. Pesto Sauce February 14, 2010 at 11:03 pm #

    I may have to cook my own food soon…scary

    • unsungpsalm February 14, 2010 at 11:55 pm #

      It’s not so bad if you have the flair/inclination towards cooking…

Leave a Reply

