Freaky Friday!

30 Jan

So the earlier part of Friday was quite horrid…

1. I had to do a LOT of copy-paste work at office! Like helloooo… How annoying is that?! What are all the freshly recruited employees for, I ask… Hmph!

2. I reached office and saw my boss dressed in Bridal wear. Then, I noticed TOO many people wearing Lungis et all… Has everyone lost their minds???
Then was told by boss that it was “Ethnic Day”!!! Thank god I wasn’t told sooner…
Was later informed that it would be nice if I could come to office “tomorrow” a.k.a Saturday. How nice is that!
Then I was asked to join in a gazillion (read Two) Photo Ops with people dressed in “Ethnic Wear” (read Fancy Dress)… I truly felt like a foreign exchange student!

3. Had to sit through a long, dull “interactive session” for the employees. The high point was a junior employee making fun of the senior employees. And a guy who came dressed in drag!! Or maybe he was a transexual. One really needs to get to the bottom of that! How can such a thing miss my eye!!

But the evening compensated…

1. Caught some drinks with an occasional blog-visitor who was in the country for some work. Right, so the fellow simply doesn’t believe in me when I tell him I know of places to catch a drink. But, well, it was a pleasant evening. If all 40 year olds are like him (damn sweet, sophisticated and look younger than 30) then I really need to widen my search-criteria a bit!

2. Caught MORE drinks with sister and cousins after that. Sang karaoke. “Boulevard of Dreams” as my sister puts it. An entire table of people was cheering and hooting for me. Tragically, it was my cousins. Oh well! Some appreciation is better than none, right? Besides, I was toooo high to care!

3. Came back to aunt’s place and attempted to put up a good drama of being sober et all. Will get to know the results of that tomorrow.

4. Came back home past midnight and finally posted something in the Booze Clues category after a long, long time!

I think I might enjoy Bengaluru after all!

23 Responses to “Freaky Friday!”

  1. Rakesh January 30, 2010 at 2:00 am #

    LOL. Even if it was Ethnic day, why was your boss dressed in bridal wear, unless she was getting married? Couldn’t she find anything else to wear?

    Drag? Transexual? Cool office.

    • unsungpsalm January 30, 2010 at 11:37 am #

      Okay, umm… I meant bride-groom wear. No, he’s quite married I should think. He was probably just trying his best for the “Best dressed male” award :-S

      Yep, that guy in drag was the only amusing moment of the entire day at office for me!

  2. H January 30, 2010 at 7:37 am #

    Arre Arre.
    UsP back to his days of drunkenness!
    I’m liking it.
    Try chugging 5 beers back to back.
    Best high EVER!

    • unsungpsalm January 30, 2010 at 11:36 am #

      Lol, will do!

      • H January 30, 2010 at 3:27 pm #

        “Like helloooo… How annoying is that?! What are all the freshly recruited employees for, I ask… Hmph!”

        Bloody Drama Queen πŸ˜›

        • unsungpsalm January 30, 2010 at 7:26 pm #

          I meant it in all seriousness 😐

  3. Vimesh January 30, 2010 at 11:56 am #

    What would u wear if u knew it was Ethnic day πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ and had to wear Ethnic clothes !!

    • unsungpsalm January 30, 2010 at 7:28 pm #

      I’d wear a nice Kurta, of course, with denims πŸ™‚

  4. Only my rants January 30, 2010 at 2:22 pm #

    Hehe.. ur posts are a real stress buster.. πŸ™‚

  5. Karan January 31, 2010 at 11:54 am #

    On the risk of sounding a stupid oldie, whats a drag ? πŸ™‚

    • unsungpsalm January 31, 2010 at 7:09 pm #

      You’re not a stupid oldie, just a stupid straightie πŸ™‚

      It actually means cross-dressing. Needs more explaining?

      • Karan February 1, 2010 at 2:10 pm #

        All clear now πŸ™‚

  6. Pesto Sauce January 31, 2010 at 10:19 pm #

    You will enjoy the city dear, it is in many ways bettrer than Delhi….enjoy the booze and smoke, though the hot chicks there will not be of interest to you

    • unsungpsalm February 4, 2010 at 9:11 pm #

      Precisely! Few hot chicks, not of interest to me. No hot guys, so there!

  7. The Restless Quill February 1, 2010 at 2:30 pm #

    Ah. Lungies?!?!?! Or were they dhoties a.k.a mundus? Lungies are loud, really really ugly and coloured. The other kind are sober, dignified and sexy to many of us Mallu women πŸ™‚

    My first time here and I enjoyed the schizophrenic back and forth that you indulge in. And oh! There are quite a few men out there like your visitor friend — young-looking, sophisticated, funny, sexy 43 year olds πŸ™‚

    And no, you won’t like Bangalore. I hated it, lasted there just a year. Not to sound depressing or anything ok?

    • unsungpsalm February 4, 2010 at 9:15 pm #

      I’m afraid I can’t distinguish between one and the other!

      Thank you for the optimism about B’lore, ma’am… I need to spend at least 2 years FYI!

      Really? 43 year olds like that? I can’t wait πŸ˜€

  8. Alan February 2, 2010 at 2:28 am #

    et alii or et al. – please. Mixing up with all – first usage was OK but the other was unacceptable – maybe you are turning into a Latin Exchange student πŸ˜‰

    Funny post πŸ™‚

    • unsungpsalm February 4, 2010 at 9:18 pm #

      Oh thanks for pointing that out! Actually just meant “and all”… I thought it was French :-S

  9. D February 4, 2010 at 11:00 pm #

    Something for you on my blog!

    • unsungpsalm February 4, 2010 at 11:29 pm #

      Hee hee hee! Thank you! It’s been so long πŸ™‚
      Will come over and accept it tomo πŸ˜€

  10. Roop Rai February 5, 2010 at 12:42 am #

    i hope you like bengaluru!! i found it to be a really dull city. all flash, no heart. if that makes any sense. πŸ˜€

    • unsungpsalm February 8, 2010 at 9:31 am #

      OH dear dear… You better not go to Delhi anytime…
      But flash IS what I’m looking for… and there ain’t nowt enough for me here 😦

Leave a Reply

