UsP goes to work…

12 Jan

I think I’m going to have to become a mobile blogger, going by how things run here. On Day 2, it’s nearly 9.30 am and hardly anyone is here. And I’m afraid, quite like yesterday, at 6.00 pm, few will show intentions of leaving!

How is work? I don’t know, I haven’t done any! All day yesterday, I read a book (finished it, from cover to cover), and then received a briefing on my task for the next week… at 6-friggin’-30!

How’s the workplace? Fantastic. Average age is 35. Everyone is predominantly, no, exclusively South Indian and choose to patronize their regional dialects in conversation. And the sign o my table says I’m a Ms. Manjula. Don’t even want to take the last name! So I’m done for, for 6 months.
On the positive side, Gmail is not blocked. Thank god for small mercies!

14 Responses to “UsP goes to work…”

  1. foruchandan January 12, 2010 at 12:06 pm #

    hey..whats wrong in having predominatly south indians in the work place…. i always feel so bad when ppl talk about their own country men with those demeaning sentences….. north indian men are handsome, but they should not be having such an attitude that they are the best .. having south indians around is not demeaning you right.. am an indian first and then south indian… i have heard this many a times.. even TWO states by Chethan bhagat where he insults the world famous MS Subbulakshmi’s chants as wailing ladies… there should be some kind of sensitivity on other human beings.. because of this i am now a days not liking chethan bhagat too.. please leave great people from your small brain thoughts.. its not to u buds… but for others.. not all of North indians acts is likable in South India… its a different culture.. please accomodate it.. and move on.. diversity should be understood not made fun of… please understand you are also having online friends who keep tracking your blogs.. and now this was for you… i know you are a boy… i know you might get angry by this.. but i am asking for accomodation mentality from fellow indian… nothing more nothing less

    sorry if i have hurt while writing this

    amen

    • unsungpsalm January 12, 2010 at 10:38 pm #

      Lol, I don’t know what you’re talking about. My 2 best friends are south Indian! And I have nothing against them… It’s just that I can’t really socialize with them as long as they’re speaking in a language that I cannot understand, and since I’ll be working there for 6 whole months, I don’t appreciate it at all…

      And please don’t bring up any North vs. South Indian arguments on this blog… I really am not part of that, and don’t care.

      • Anonymous January 13, 2010 at 10:08 am #

        I wanted this clarification…thats all… and more over.. u dont care i dont care… but i was a fan of your blog and hence thought i can comment on that… for your information not all SOuth Indians know hindi as it is not required for their daily living.. only those who need have learnt… and least to say there are some elements(south indian) who think that their’s is the only langauge which is gr8 and others are not..

        • unsungpsalm January 13, 2010 at 8:36 pm #

          Oh, I’m quite bad at Hindi too ๐Ÿ˜›
          I prefer the use of English, at least at office. In fact, I’m extremely uncomfortable conversing in Hindi, at work!

          I can imagine their sentiments that their language is great et all (South Indians). And that sentiment varies significantly across the states (TN, Ka, Ke, AP)

          • Rakesh January 13, 2010 at 9:11 pm #

            It makes me very sad to see that people in India are uncomfortable speaking in Hindi, which is the national language. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
            All over Europe, people pride in speaking their national languages.

            • unsungpsalm January 13, 2010 at 9:15 pm #

              Not people in India, don’t worry. Just me…

              At work, I’m uncomfortable. Ruins the professional atmosphere for me, and hence my frame of mind.
              Otherwise, I’ve quite taken to Hindi, with friends and guys and all ๐Ÿ˜›

  2. Vimesh January 12, 2010 at 2:27 pm #

    On a positive note at least the Gmail is working…. in my office infosec has blocked every social sites and mailing site accept the old and rusty Hotmail…:)

    and no induction..:( bit of shocker …when u r suppose to even intern…. and this too i an big org..

    • unsungpsalm January 12, 2010 at 10:39 pm #

      Intern for 6 months!
      This isn’t MS… Smaller company. Very small in fact. Had the smallest induction today. They told me work hours were 9.25 hours daily. Hardly care, I do… I worked for 10 today!

  3. Karan January 12, 2010 at 2:50 pm #

    Welcome to the cubicle world and as you would realize in a while that gmail working is not a small mercy, its so much more, its my lifeline ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • unsungpsalm January 12, 2010 at 11:03 pm #

      Lol, so so very true! I spoke to at least 2-3 people… Didn’t feel so out of touch with the real world, thanks to the virtual world :p

  4. Jon January 12, 2010 at 3:46 pm #

    Hey u r a software engineer?

  5. Swats January 13, 2010 at 5:14 pm #

    Heyyy..How u doin??

    Good tht gmail is not blocked..My reporting time is 10 am..and I leave at 6 ๐Ÿ™‚

    I am hardly a chat person..gtalk or no gtalk, doesnt really matter to me..

    PS: It’s a delight to read ur blog, even tho I hardly ever comment

    • unsungpsalm January 15, 2010 at 12:23 am #

      That’s so cool! 10 AM! I’m do damn J!!!

      Thank you lady, a delight to read yours as well!

Leave a Reply

