“Thought I’d let you know… you’re out.”

2 Jan

So Hagatha called me this morning.

Hagatha : I have something to tell you
Me : Haan haan, go on…
Hagatha : You have some time to spare? It’ll take a while…
Me : Ya re, go ahead… Tons of time…
Hagatha : Arre no, we’ll talk later… You wake up and all, first.
Hagatha : Been awake for a while, not to worry. What’s up?
Hagatha : I told Amit about you.
Me : Oh, okay… Cool… thanks!
Hagatha : I hope you’re not mad… I felt bad telling him without asking you first
Me : I have no issues at all re… Had to tell him some time or the other. You just made it easier for me. Besides, I’m sure he knew it at some level. It was probably the last piece in the jigsaw.
Hagatha : Yes, exactly. He didn’t react very negatively or anything… He sort of guessed it, and I just said yes. He asked me how I knew, and how long I’d known and who all knew… and if you had told your parents. And he was very worried that you hadn’t. That you shouldn’t leave them in the dark like this. That it was better to drop the bomb sooner. I told him you wanted to keep it to yourself till I was independent and “had a boyfriend” (Sigh! The old me….)
Me : So when did you tell him?
Hagatha : October End
Me : Whhhhhhhaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaatttttttt??????? I was with him for 2 friggin’ months during which he’d known and I had no idea???
Hagatha : Umm… yes… In fact, when you told him that you were spending New Years with school friends, he was confused and remarked “But he said he wasn’t really close to any of his school friends” and I just said “Ummm… I don’t quite think he’s partying with his school friends!” and he understood.

The delightful individual that he is, he chose not to make anything awkward for me over the past 2 months while I was in the dark about him not being in the dark anymore, but instead decided to make up for it by calling me up today, probably after she informed him of our conversation.

Amit : Haan, kya kar raha hai?
Then I engaged in very random, trivial conversation, not really letting him speak since I knew the point of his call, and found that to be awkward.
Amit : So how was your New Year’s Party? With your “school friends”?
Me : I don’t remember too much. Good, I guess. I was really drunk and slept through an hour of it, I was told the next day.
Amit : So had a good time with your “school friends”, eh?Β  Met anyone interesting?
Me : Errr… no.
Amit : Achha, just wanted to tell you… No awkwardness from my side.
Me : Haan re, I know…

And then thankfully, we hung up!
Right, so that officially makes him the first guy friend I’m out to. Unless of course some of the others know as well, and someone else needs to out that fact to me. Hmph!

12 Responses to ““Thought I’d let you know… you’re out.””

  1. vimesh January 2, 2010 at 8:26 pm #

    Good your friend accepted you for who you are!! but still wondering why did hagatha waited for 2 months… was she afraid of you ? how would you react… πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Atleast its kool your friend reacted positively

    • unsungpsalm January 3, 2010 at 11:58 am #

      Yes, it is quite cool! And no, I don’t know why she didn’t tell me for 2 months…

  2. Meghana Naidu January 2, 2010 at 11:19 pm #

    darlin boi!

    where have you been? Bangalore’s waiting to show you some lurve πŸ˜€

  3. Pesto Sauce January 2, 2010 at 11:32 pm #

    Oops, got caught

  4. DewdropDream January 3, 2010 at 2:22 am #

    Haha, that is good!

  5. Rambunctious WhipperSnapper January 3, 2010 at 7:21 pm #

    I bet it feels great to let it out!Pretty son, telling people will stop being such a big deal! I’m over it, now. πŸ˜› . . .

    • unsungpsalm January 3, 2010 at 7:33 pm #

      Really? Geez, I’m happy for you πŸ™‚
      I’m yet to tell anyone in person, y’know… It’s been either over SMS or email or through a proxy, so far πŸ˜›

      • Rambunctious WhipperSnapper January 3, 2010 at 8:00 pm #

        That was supposed to be “pretty soon”! Damn you, typos!

        You should try telling people in person! It’s cathartic, to say the least.

        Hopefully, I’m done with the coming out part. I think it’s the easiest.

  6. Assoc Editor, Pink Pages January 7, 2010 at 1:05 pm #

    Ouch…confession…my roomie knows abt you…but you don’t know him anyhow…I’m not sure whether my hag knows abt you but I don’t think she’d care…

    AssEdit
    (This nickname rocks! :D)

    • unsungpsalm January 7, 2010 at 2:57 pm #

      If I cared the slightest bit, I’d be damn annoyed at you.

Leave a Reply

