Not a daddy’s clone after all…

2 Jan

We had two of Mom’s cousin sisters over for lunch today. Incidentally, these were cousins she grew up with till way into their college years, so they all knew each other inside out.

As often happens, they started recollecting incidents from their younger days, and discussing them. So as I sat there spectating, I got to know a little more about my mother than I did, traces of her character that I occasionally find in me but cannot in my father.

“Every morning when we had to go to college,” my aunt was telling me, “your mother would wait for the car to pull in, go and stand next to the door and refuse to budge until someone came forth and opened it for her.”

I knew mom was quite used to being the Princess but this was more than I could handle!

“Oh yes, she was completely used to having people run around her, following her every order. It’s another thing the entire household used to call her Indira Gandhi.” And indeed, to this day she will extract countless favors from people who will oblige without the smallest sound, and she does it so naturally.

Non of it was too surprising since Mom had told me long ago how when they used to have to pay their fees in college once a year, she would never ever stand in queue, and seemingly was never expected to.

That was rather hysterical, and answered a lot of questions because I too have this gigantic ego of my own, that I’m forced to keep in check because, well, I don’t have an identity to justify it and as in her case, neither does my father. But whenever someone is even the slightest bit rude to me, I flare up on the inside and start imagining the day when I’ll have the capacity to blast him and cause sufficient threat to his employment, owing to the power and possession I fantasize having. Naturally, my father’s genes in me will never allow me to cause significant discomfort to the victim of my ego, however tainted his own character may be, but I would certainly enjoy having that extent of of influence.

What I’m learning with time is that yes, I do have a bit of my mother in me. Though she had to lose the ego and arrogance when she was married into a household as simple as ours, and pretty much have to earn whatever comforts for herself, I hope to be a self-made man, and restore a little bit of the glory that she lost and once again restore her to queen of her own world.

5 Responses to “Not a daddy’s clone after all…”

  1. H January 2, 2010 at 10:56 pm #

    Aww a mama’s boy 🙂
    So cute 😛

  2. Pesto Sauce January 2, 2010 at 11:33 pm #

    Most Moms are like that

  3. DewdropDream January 3, 2010 at 2:22 am #

    What a sweet kid you are 🙂

  4. Sanand Ramakrishnan January 5, 2010 at 4:57 pm #

    Very nice post. Reminded me of similar instances relating to my family too.

  5. BlueMist January 5, 2010 at 9:31 pm #

    How much your mom would be happy if she reads this. Sweet very sweet.

Leave a Reply

