I’m in LOVVVEEE…….

24 Dec

with

&

With these 2 in my life, I feel much more complete.

If you guys haven’t caught either of them, and don’t intend to, be banished from Earth and never return again.

Enough has been said about the former. It was a journey. It was hyped around me beyond all norms, I went with tremendous expectations and the film surpassed them.

As for the book, my sister left it behind at home, and I thankfully opened it. I’m not able to read a single paragraph without laughing out loud, and am unable to finish a page without shaking with laughter and hitting myself to contain it. So you get my point.
Go watch the movie.
Go buy (and read) the book. And after having read 2 pages of the book, or however much it takes to fall in love with it, Tweet the author and tell her you love her, as I did.
http://twitter.com/AdvaitaKala

14 Responses to “I’m in LOVVVEEE…….”

  1. sreeja December 24, 2009 at 12:21 pm #

    when you said you were in love, i was like wowieeee!!! 😐 still ok πŸ˜› me too is in love with books these days. So i will catch both soon πŸ™‚

    • unsungpsalm December 24, 2009 at 1:14 pm #

      That was my intention πŸ™‚
      Thanks for dropping by!

      • sreeja December 24, 2009 at 8:24 pm #

        hei u r in my blog roll. so i always drop by πŸ˜€

        • unsungpsalm December 25, 2009 at 11:01 am #

          and I must add you to mine, next time I update it! You’re on my Reader already, though πŸ™‚

  2. Pesto Sauce December 24, 2009 at 8:22 pm #

    Dude, what do you like so much about hotel life? I read this one by Advaita kala (have it on my bedstead but yet to complete). All chapters are different episodes and somewhere it is a poor take on Sex and the City

    Recently I read a work on corporate sleaze “Devil in Pinstripes”, a good one

    • unsungpsalm December 25, 2009 at 11:02 am #

      I’ve not seen sex-and-the-city yet, so cannot make that comparison…
      Hotel life? That’s hardly what the book is about!!!

      And complete it already! The story’s not what’s gripping me, it’s the humour in her style… It’s hysterical!

  3. Rakesh December 24, 2009 at 8:41 pm #

    I disagree about Avatar. I thought it was an over hyped film that was too long and could have been cut about 45 min short. I do agree the CGI is awesome and Pandora looks amazing. But once you get past the fairy tale animated utopia, there’s no meat to the matter. Also, I did not find anything new that has not been done before. On the contrary, the entire film is a rehash of things “stolen” from various other movies in the last 15 years. Jim Cameron is a huge Bollywood fan, and his Titanic and Avatar, both prove that he could be just another Bollywood film maker with a (230 mil) Hollywood budget.

    • unsungpsalm December 25, 2009 at 11:12 am #

      Why cut it by 45 minutes? I can’t imagine any compromise on it anywhere… I’d have preferred it 45 minutes longer!

      I’m not a Bollywood fan, but I certainly loved the flick… I don’t see what’s wrong with the story being cliched. In fact, the story was only needed to “support” the rest of the film… The sights, the sounds, the concept.
      When the film was over, I could not figure out any front on which it was lacking, and because that didn’t hit me instantly or while watching the film, I could say that I found the film to be fine as it is. On the contrary, one million things annoyed me about 2012 while I was watching the film and after.

      Lots of people re-use old plots and manipulate storylines, but none can do it as beautifully as this was done. Hence, I see no room for improvement, and even if there is, if James Cameron couldn’t bring it in, I don’t know who can…

      And read the damn book!!!

  4. H December 25, 2009 at 11:48 pm #

    Hi Unsung,
    I saw Avatar in IMAX 3D and it blew me off…i believe we bombayites are the only lucky souls in India who can see the spectacle in IMAX…if u get a chance please watch it again on an IMAX screen…the 12000 watts of sound is awesome too…the flap of the banshee’s wings comes out alive…i agree with u and wouldnt have minded 45 mins of more time in the jungles of Pandora…truly James Cameron is the God of filmmaking…awesome imagination has gone in the creation of the flora and fauna of the Pandorian jungles…abt the book i am not sure…currently reading ‘Lord of The Rings – Two Towers’…cheers!!

    • unsungpsalm December 26, 2009 at 6:16 pm #

      Oh oww! I couldn’t have tolerated the sheer shock value of seeing ugly creatures come out at me!
      No thanks, I’m happy with the 2D I caught πŸ™‚

      • H December 27, 2009 at 10:29 am #

        lolzzz….
        ugly?? Na’vi’s are so pretty and blue!!
        πŸ™‚

        • unsungpsalm December 27, 2009 at 2:21 pm #

          Ummm… Okay! To each his own πŸ˜‰

  5. TLOB January 5, 2010 at 4:45 am #

    So I am back. I didn’t like ms kala’s book at all ( bought it on a frnd’s recommendation) in fact I wrote her a nasty comment on her blog. ( The bitch deleted it!)

    I know what you liked in that book. Pick any book of Marian Keyes in the same genre, then you will realize what trash Kala wrote.

    • unsungpsalm January 6, 2010 at 12:58 am #

      You have no sense of humour, it seems… But I will pick up books from Marian Keyes, and check them out. I hope they involve Delhi, because that’s another thing that made me connect with Kala…

Leave a Reply

