Ode To the Room-mate

2 Dec

He left early this morning. I’m experiencing the worst bout of depression and nostalgia till now. So damn depressing to see that someone, who represented a sort of stability in your life, suddenly packs up and leaves.

Three years of living together. Of mutual respect, understanding. Of compatibility. The occasional hysterical anecdotes. Of sharing for the sheer desire to share. Three years of living together in peace and harmony.

And now his shelves are empty (barring the one million things he discarded!!) The match-boxes that we’d used to light up our occasional indulgence. The lighter he left behind, signalling the end of a phase of his life. His morning breakfast items… cereal, milk powders… some unfinished. The coffee mug he got for a present 3 years ago, and the wine glasses in which he drank with Alika on their something-th anniversary (that I think he might have unintentionally left behind!) The fully functional umbrella that he left behind (and I’m going to take).

I’m going to stop writing before I end up crying for a guy… Ugh, that’s so gay!

14 Responses to “Ode To the Room-mate”

  1. Firebolt December 2, 2009 at 10:38 am #

    *hugs UsP and pats his head*
    There, there… It will be alright…

    Oh! Who am I kidding? In a couple of weeks I will be going through the same thing. Although I’m unlikely to cry over my housemate’s departure. 😛

    • unsungpsalm December 2, 2009 at 11:17 am #

      Oh!
      Hmm… good for you then, I guess

  2. D December 2, 2009 at 11:40 am #

    That’s not gay, it’s just human – to miss someone you’ve lived with for 3 years and cry for them! I would have done that too but then, I can do it because I’m a girl 🙂

    • unsungpsalm December 2, 2009 at 11:44 am #

      Sigh! Women are SO DAMN LUCKY!

      • Karan December 3, 2009 at 12:12 am #

        Yeah, why are men not allowed to cry, and then they say its a man’s world 😛

  3. Rambunctious WhipperSnapper December 3, 2009 at 8:57 pm #

    Well crying is good if you’re a gay man. It helps get rid of toxins.

    Also, as I heard on an episode of Ally McBeal, it might be therapeutic.

    Not that I would know.

    • unsungpsalm December 5, 2009 at 11:21 am #

      Ahh, toxins, eh? Why’d you know that now!

  4. DewdropDream December 4, 2009 at 1:54 am #

    Oh cmon! Be a man! CRY for god’s sake … cry dammit! Only if you want to, I mean.

    I hate goodbyes. I almost ended up owing someone a dry-cleaning bill the last time I had to say good-bye.

  5. G December 4, 2009 at 9:52 am #

    “End of an era”..
    gone thro similar phases when moving houses or leaving roomies 😦

    • unsungpsalm December 5, 2009 at 11:23 am #

      Oh, I never thought of it as the “End of an era”… 😦

  6. Pesto Sauce December 5, 2009 at 10:59 am #

    Always tough when good companions leave…may you get good ones to follow

    • unsungpsalm December 5, 2009 at 11:24 am #

      I REALLY hope I do! And for you too!

Leave a Reply

