Next Stop, Bengaluru

21 Nov

With 3 of my 5 exams over, the semester approaches a close. As of January, I should be moving to Bangalore. Thus begins the entire affair of finding accommodation and planning the next 6 months of my life…

My sister is (annoyingly) assertive over my not staying alone [frankly, I don’t know whether a 1 BHK would be affordable, and how much freedom I would be accorded if I opted for a PG accommodation instead] and insists that I move into an extra bedroom that her boyfriend’s friend has in his new rental. I don’t mind the idea of living in a flat and having my own bedroom, but the thought of sharing it with 1 person I only vaguely know and another who I’ve never met, isn’t appealing.
Since no close friend seems to be moving to Bangalore, and since I’ve picked up an off-campus offer (and thus don’t have anyone else from college joining that company), finding a flatmate would be hard. It wouldn’t have been so if I were taking my Chennai offer instead, but as that is in Chennai, but since I’m not, well…

Meanwhile, a flood of other questions come to mind. What will I be doing with my spare time? I’d initially planned that once I left college, I’d join a gym, try and find a nice theatre group to audition for, look for some decent latin dance classes and, what now takes priority, pick up French classes.
Now I’m beginning to wonder how much free time I’m going to end up having, to meet all my aspirations in 6 months…

9 Responses to “Next Stop, Bengaluru”

  1. vimesh November 21, 2009 at 6:54 pm #

    If you are going to pay from the internship pay you are getting then may be it might be bit expensive …. however my friend stays in Jalahalli ,north banglore and he pays around 4.5k towards rent…so you might get flats around that range there but i think its bit far from city centre

    and yes you should learn salsa et al and also learn spanish Flamenco..we all have only one life so lets make most out of it … 🙂 🙂 🙂

  2. Nikita November 24, 2009 at 1:37 am #

    I wish I was the one going to Bangalore! 😉
    All the best for Bangalore UsP!

    • unsungpsalm November 24, 2009 at 8:00 am #

      Hahahhaa! Now wouldn’t you want to move to Bangalore!

  3. diwakar sinha November 25, 2009 at 3:37 pm #

    came here via subtle signs…
    interesting blog…

    • unsungpsalm November 26, 2009 at 12:05 am #

      Thank you 🙂 I shall drop in to yours soon!

  4. Pesto Sauce November 25, 2009 at 8:41 pm #

    In my entire life I have never seen a Northie survive Chennai, that too you being a Delhi guy don’t even think of it

    Bangalore may not be what it was 4-5 years back but anyday livable and far better than Chennai

    • unsungpsalm November 26, 2009 at 12:06 am #

      What was Bangalore 4-5 years back?

  5. Vaishnavi November 28, 2009 at 8:31 pm #

    many congrats on moving to blore. finding a 1bhk isnt as tough as it sounds. or as expensive. what you need to do is try a side lane. the further a house is from the main road, the cheaper it gets. irrespective of locality. get one which is a little towards the interior and you got yourself a deal.
    thats my plan next may onwards.

    • unsungpsalm December 1, 2009 at 8:37 am #

      Oh, tat’s Vaishnavi! That’s very useful information 🙂

      Will certainly keep it in mind…

Leave a Reply

