I believe I can Fly

13 Nov

So ex-roomie and I had a dance-off at a crazy party, an hour or two ago. Was insane. He won, I was too tired. A first for me!

So what’s new? Yesterday, I was depressed all day. I received an email informing me that certain students had qualified for an interview by a company, and I was the first or second person in line who had missed the cut-off. I was extremely depressed because the work description sounded rather suitable.
In the evening, I was relieved to hear that the location was in Chennai. Even more reason to celebrate… there’s no way in hell I want to spend 6 months there when Bangalore is an option.

This morning, I was EVEN more delighted to hear that the stipend being paid is (a measly) 500 less than what my present internship offer has quoted. Hurray Hurray!

And lo behold, last I heard, they had lowered the cut-off, and I was now eligible!

So I had all of 5 minutes to decide whether or not I wanted to appear for the exam. I was told that the first written round was entirely an aptitude round, and would be a CAT aspirant’s baby. So I said, “what the heck” and wrote it.
They took 60 of the top unplaced students of the batch, and reduced it to 16. I made the cut-off.

Naturally, in round 2 I would have to under-perform in order to not go further in the selection process. Afterall, I didn’t want this internship and didn’t want to deny it to someone who wanted it. So I under-performed… or so I thought.
I have an interview tomorrow morning.

I feel so guilty. I actually attended a party and got as high as I could to offset the guilt.

On the way back, ex-roomie (who called me his “best roomate ever” πŸ™‚ ) insisted on taking me on a bike ride, before taking us back to our hostel.

We must’ve been on the road for at least 30 minutes, at an average speed of 90 kmph. We saw some glorious sights. It was a glorious experience. It was DAMN scary. But I practically flew tonight. I practically flew. And I saw corners of the town I never thought I would, and that I wouldn’t recognise in daylight.

But I flew tonight. Tomorrow, I must be interviewed, so now I should sleep.

Bonne nuit!

24 Responses to “I believe I can Fly”

  1. D November 13, 2009 at 1:33 am #

    The first time I’ve enjoyed a fly-by-night kind of experience!

  2. v November 13, 2009 at 8:52 am #

    All the best!!!

    Chennai sound good and paris awaits u next year!

    and u should fly regularly…on your own ,:) πŸ™‚

    • unsungpsalm November 14, 2009 at 11:03 pm #

      Chennai sounds good? I don’t think so :O
      I’d love to, if only I had “pilot”-training πŸ™‚

  3. G November 13, 2009 at 9:54 am #

    Awww! Prolly they wanted to pick underdogs and not the usual ‘shiner’ public. Good luck for ur interview πŸ™‚

    • unsungpsalm November 14, 2009 at 11:09 pm #

      Thankie πŸ™‚ Your wishes paid off πŸ™‚
      And thanks for visiting! I shall hop over to your end, when these darned exams conclude…

  4. H November 13, 2009 at 10:31 am #

    Somebody’s an overachiever!! πŸ˜›
    I’m glad you made it through…please be hung over at the interview if you know what’s good for you! Chennai doesnt sound too pretty ;P

    • unsungpsalm November 14, 2009 at 11:10 pm #

      I WAS slightly hung over… Hardly had a voice!
      They probably thought I was soft-spoken πŸ˜›

      • H November 15, 2009 at 7:28 pm #

        Dayumn!
        You just can’t get wrong! Can you? πŸ˜›

        • unsungpsalm November 16, 2009 at 1:35 am #

          Don’t attempt to flatter, it’s not very becoming on you πŸ˜›

          • H November 18, 2009 at 9:18 pm #

            I assumed you’d sense the hint of sarcasm with just a dash of spite πŸ˜›

  5. Karan November 13, 2009 at 3:42 pm #

    I like this post. It has bikes, at night, doing 90+. I like it!

    • unsungpsalm November 14, 2009 at 11:11 pm #

      I thought you would πŸ™‚
      You men are serious suckers for bikes…

  6. BlueMist November 13, 2009 at 4:17 pm #

    Good times are rolling. Great. Good luck. πŸ™‚

  7. meghana November 13, 2009 at 10:25 pm #

    you dont even read the blog anymore do you. :O

  8. Pesto Sauce November 14, 2009 at 10:52 pm #

    Congrats dude, you seem to be doing great. Got an offer inspite of trying NOT to get it!

    And that offer from France is a good option. Go for it

    • unsungpsalm November 14, 2009 at 11:13 pm #

      Thanks Pesto! I’m gonna give it my all!

  9. Shruti November 16, 2009 at 1:55 am #

    Wow, it’s so cool…you guys have internship now (not sure which field you are in, first time here) cos when I was in engg (which was not so long ago, just 3 years back) we didn’t have any such thing..!

    And don’t feel guilty about anything, you have as much right for the interview as others. People say it’s good to have options. And the operative word being “people say so” πŸ™‚

    • unsungpsalm November 18, 2009 at 6:35 pm #

      Oh, this system is present in very few colleges, I believe. Ours is amongst them.
      Yep, 6 months of internship! Should be something!

  10. Dark Knight November 18, 2009 at 4:28 pm #

    Ohhh Mr. Achiever!!
    am jealous of you now, officially!! hehehe

    so what happened to the interview?? you rock man!

    • unsungpsalm November 18, 2009 at 6:34 pm #

      I got the internship, which I will be rejecting.
      Wouldn’t call it an accomplishment… I really didn’t want it…

      Jealous? Whatever for? What I want is what you’re enjoying at the mo!

      • Dark Knight November 18, 2009 at 8:43 pm #

        hahaha the grass is always greener on other side πŸ˜›

        i just returned back from paris and i want to settle there. And you got two big shots in france. So wont i be jealous πŸ˜›

        hehe abt internship: πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

