Mild Elation

4 Nov

So I was doing my best to study (finishing my Agatha Christie novel) for my Lab. Exam scheduled for tomorrow morning, when Mom came online and began calling me on skype.

“Did you check your email?” she asked.

“Ya… why?”

“There’s an offer letter from XYZ…”

“Oh.. really? I was going to tell you about it. They called this afternoon and asked me for suitable dates and all…”

I opened my email unenthusiastically, expecting an offer for an internship with no (or negligible) stipend, somewhere in Greater Noida…

“Dear Unsung,

…. pleased to offer you a position as Intern….. internship shall be for a period of 6 months …. you will be paid a stipend of Rs. 12,500 per month…”

!!!!!!!!!!!
Agreed 12.5k isn’t all the money in the world, but it’s definitely on the higher side of what most people are paid! And that I’ve been given the offer without as much as a telephonic interview (which I should feel guilty about, but don’t) seems to reiterate how amazing this opportunity is!

The downside is that I’ll be working in Bangalore. Which means I’ll probably have to live with the annoying, homophobic and belligerent sister.

Then again, I’ll be working in a company! And being paid a neat amount!

Yay, yay, yay!!!

Thought I’d post about this today, because I probably won’t think too much of it in a day or two, anyway :S

44 Responses to “Mild Elation”

  1. Karan November 5, 2009 at 12:26 am #

    Congratulations!! Now wait for the moment when you get your first paycheck,feels like you could buy the world with it,no matter what the amount 🙂

    • unsungpsalm November 5, 2009 at 12:00 pm #

      Already had my first paycheck 2 years back, for a silly internship… 🙂
      But yes, this will be the first paycheck in which I would’ve done concrete work! Can’t wait 😀

  2. Jackdaw November 5, 2009 at 12:49 am #

    Congrats! Happy to hear this… although I was kinda hoping you’d find an internship in Europe — for your sake more than mine, although I’d love to meet you in person.

    Finally some good news! And Karan is right about the first paycheck. 🙂

    • unsungpsalm November 5, 2009 at 12:01 pm #

      I’m still looking, Jack-o!
      Worry not, if I find something worthwhile there, I’ll drop this and fly!

  3. Vlad November 5, 2009 at 1:05 am #

    Congrats! Reading Dame Agatha always brings good luck 🙂

    • unsungpsalm November 5, 2009 at 12:01 pm #

      Hahaha! I should only read Agatha Christies, instead of course books, for my exams then 😐 I have your word. And if it won’t work out, your head is on the line 😛

      • Vlad November 5, 2009 at 2:05 pm #

        🙂
        I think that’s something I am really envious about – that you still have some Christie’s detectives that you haven’t read… for me, by the time I was 15 they were all finished (so I had to earn my good luck differently 😉

  4. Rebel November 5, 2009 at 1:31 am #

    Hey Congrats man! And yes, that is a pretty good amount for an internship. Well done.

    • unsungpsalm November 5, 2009 at 12:04 pm #

      I didn’t really do anything for it… But I still think I deserve it 😛
      Thanks 🙂

  5. DewdropDream November 5, 2009 at 1:37 am #

    Oh my!!! Congratulations!!!

    Maybe you can convert homophobic sister while you’re there … perhaps that is what is destined, that is the true cosmos-deigned reason for this 🙂

    Good luck, and do a swell job!

    • unsungpsalm November 5, 2009 at 12:06 pm #

      Oh, she’s as hard as stone… I better start looking for accommodation :S

      Thankyou 🙂

  6. Firebolt November 5, 2009 at 2:25 am #

    Congrats, mate! 12.5 K is a good sum for an internship and that too without an interview. Maybe the black insect was your (past) bad luck insectified, which you thwarted. 😛

    • unsungpsalm November 5, 2009 at 12:09 pm #

      Well then, you better get down to thwarting all the black insects you can find 🙂
      But let it be our secret 😉

  7. Rakesh November 5, 2009 at 2:26 am #

    Congrats!

  8. Orange November 5, 2009 at 2:49 am #

    Sounds good!

  9. v November 5, 2009 at 6:04 am #

    this is great news… so if they r paying u 12.5K as an stipend then after the internship the starting salary should be something good i guess….

    but its kool…. and thanks u shared

    • unsungpsalm November 5, 2009 at 12:10 pm #

      Oh, there’s no job offer… just an internship at the mo…
      Anyway, one step at a time 😉

  10. Rani November 5, 2009 at 10:22 am #

    congrats boy! bangalore will only do good to you. Handle ur sis, i don’t know much on that but this place is great.
    12.5K in such times isn’t too bad really.

    btw which of agatha christie’s are u on?

    • unsungpsalm November 5, 2009 at 12:11 pm #

      Finished “Man In The Brown Suit”
      Next up is “Sparkling Cyanide”!

  11. BlueMist November 5, 2009 at 4:06 pm #

    Geez I am late. 😦 Congrats boy. I am so glad. Beginning of Happy times. and it calls for a party. 😉

    • Dark Knight November 5, 2009 at 9:03 pm #

      am evel late than u BM :(,

      oye, congrats… have a great time working!! and yeah: welcome again to the club lol 😛

    • BlueMist November 6, 2009 at 4:12 pm #

      Haw. USP ignored my wishes. ** uncontrollably sobbing ** 😥

      • unsungpsalm November 6, 2009 at 4:25 pm #

        OMG lol! I saw DK’s reply to your comment, and thought it was a comment by me instead 😀 😀 😀

        Don’t be a drama queen!
        Thank you VERY VERY VERY MUCH! MWah!
        Yep, more reasons to party shall come hither soon!

        And thank you Unsung-Impersonator, DK! Which club do you welcome me to?

        • BlueMist November 6, 2009 at 4:33 pm #

          Whoa lame excuse. Anyways I have been reading USP blog from long so obviously drama effect has to come :d 😀

          Aww..more reasons to party ..Wow. That’s awesome. 🙂

          • unsungpsalm November 6, 2009 at 5:05 pm #

            Yep… more news soon, hopefully!

            • meghana November 10, 2009 at 5:17 pm #

              wait, wait
              too much clutter, i missed the point altogether,

              more reasons??

              explain yourself!

  12. Miss M November 5, 2009 at 6:46 pm #

    That was my first intern salary at British Petroleum. I was just as excited as you are when I learnt about my pay. And yes, its quite a neat amount! 😉

    Good luck with the internship! 🙂

  13. Nikita November 6, 2009 at 12:11 pm #

    wow!! Congrats!! Very happy for you Unsung!
    You will do great, and while you are in Bangalore, meet my boyfriend and tell him that I miss him 🙂
    Can’t wait to read about your Bangalore and Internship experiences!

  14. unsungpsalm November 6, 2009 at 1:42 pm #

    Haha! If he’s in Bangalore, then you must visit!

    See you in Bangalore soon, lady 😉

    • meghana November 7, 2009 at 11:26 pm #

      i am late, i know, i know. but you know how thrilled i for you
      would you believe that i didnt even see this post. talk about selective reading
      and i know i’ve been away long

      but you’re coming to Bangalore and you didnt tell me
      *sigh
      you too unsung?

      • unsungpsalm November 10, 2009 at 1:42 pm #

        This post practically started out with “Hey Meghana”!!!

        You have to learn to read between the lines…

        • meghana November 10, 2009 at 5:15 pm #

          god, how you lie flatter 😉

          but whatever! it does the heart good 😉

          one thing or the other, im still happy that you’ll be in bangalore
          you know what to do when you get here

          🙂

    • Nikita November 8, 2009 at 3:09 pm #

      I wish I could come… but he will come to Delhi during my India visit in December. However, will definitely see you sometime soon… it would be fun meeting you!

  15. Rambunctious WhipperSnapper November 6, 2009 at 1:51 pm #

    Congrats!

    Back in the day, when I did my first internship, I did it for FREE.

    Plus you get to go to Bangalore, where almost everyone is gay.

    Cheers!

    • unsungpsalm November 6, 2009 at 1:53 pm #

      OMG you’re visiting blogs again! HUGS!

  16. Alan November 7, 2009 at 10:14 am #

    Congratulations!! Now keep your chin up and enjoy!

    • unsungpsalm November 10, 2009 at 1:43 pm #

      Thank you… it’s as high as I deem safe 😉

  17. Pesto Sauce November 9, 2009 at 11:36 pm #

    During these times anything is good

    Congrats

Leave a Reply

