Can you hear those Voices too?

25 Oct

Spending an infinite amount of time with a family that you’ve never seen before, and cannot figure out your association with…

… watching a man perform fascinating acrobatics on the moon, such as fireworks and colourful displays of artificially-generated light-rings (really! on the moon!), that dissipate into the universe… (with no explanation as to how those acrobats travel to the moon and back, and perform all those stunts, minus atmosphere and 22nd-century technology)…

… watching a so-called “Fashion Show” put up by some ugly-ducklings of the nearby college of Journalism, which culminates in the arrival of an over-dressed dorky ex-student, who according to them epitomizes attitude and “hotness”. (His arrival is greeted with the aforementioned performance-on-the-moon)…

These are a few of the absolutely arbit dreams that I vindictively attempted to deprive myself of, last night. As I was falling asleep, the voices in my head chanted in unison that one can determine what dreams one is to have during the night, by mulling over desirable themes as the senses dim.
One should never trust the voices within one’s head post midnight. This morning, they have revised their pearls of wisdom to “One can control what sort of trip one is to have, by thinking of appropriate thoughts just before he begins to smoke up.”
Utterly misleading, I tell you.

Thus I lay there last night attempting to keep my mind devoid of any thoughts, imaginary conversations and reflections. I attempted to do so by concentrating hard on the sound that the fan was making.

”                                                                                                                   the fan sounds funny. It’s so qui-  SHHHHHHHHHH! NO TALKING!”

”                                                                                                                   wow, i really hope this works, because i really deserv- SSHHHHHHHHHHHHHH! STOP THINKING! CONCENTRATE ON THE SOUND OF THE FAN!

”                                                                                                                   i wonder why i ever desire a companion at the swimming pool. the conversations in my head are enough to keep a person enterta- SHUT UP ALREADY!”

”                                                                                                                    i wonder if we’ll keep driving him insane his whole life with our chattering. we should give him a little peace and quiet sometimes…       Now would be a jolly good time to start!

What I need is a lifetime supply of good medication. The voices in my head are becoming stronger. Not once, not twice but several times has Hagatha caught my lips moving. “What are you thinking about?” she laughs each time. I consider it a breach of privacy, her knowing about the voices in my head. Nonetheless, it is only I who is responsible for letting them prosper all these years, and now, make their way to the exterior.
Yes indeed, I need a supply of good medication.

21 Responses to “Can you hear those Voices too?”

  1. Alan October 25, 2009 at 7:15 pm #

    Try counting backwards – always does the trick 🙂

    • unsungpsalm October 25, 2009 at 11:12 pm #

      I wouldn’t know which number to start at :S

  2. Pesto Sauce October 25, 2009 at 9:58 pm #

    Take care man…these things can turn out to be bad

    • unsungpsalm October 25, 2009 at 11:11 pm #

      Been living it for years now… Can’t get FAR worse, maybe only a little…

  3. BlueMist October 26, 2009 at 3:08 am #

    Try reading Electro Magnetic Engineering Book. You will surely doze off. 😀
    May be you should get back to your regular blogging frequency so that you channelize these thoughts.and can have interesting cinematic dreams ! 😛

    • unsungpsalm October 27, 2009 at 7:12 pm #

      Haha, yes I’ll be as regular as I can!

      • BlueMist October 28, 2009 at 12:40 am #

        Sending some cheer and an award you away. Please collect if possible. 🙂

  4. Rani October 26, 2009 at 11:37 am #

    Oh that sounds bad Unsung. If you are as serious in the post as I have assumed you are, you should go see a doc. I kind of know what these voices are, had this thing once in my head too. But that was when I was terribly disturbed abt smthing..When the problem was resolved, the voice disappeared. I forced it to go away. Do you have any such thing eating up your mind? If yes, try getting it sorted. And be strong, u’ll be ok.

    Luv.

    • unsungpsalm October 27, 2009 at 7:13 pm #

      Oh, I always have things eating away in my mind… very stressing, but it just becomes routine…

      Sigh, no! Wouldn’t be comfortable with any doc. And wouldn’t know how to explain it to him!

  5. Rakesh October 26, 2009 at 8:13 pm #

    Kinda disturbing. Please go talk to a therapist.

    • unsungpsalm October 27, 2009 at 7:13 pm #

      Dahling, this isn’t the US of A! We don’t seek professional help unless there’s too much blood or too much pain!

      • Rakesh October 27, 2009 at 7:40 pm #

        I know, but that’s got to change with intelligent people like you.

        • unsungpsalm October 28, 2009 at 12:26 am #

          I’d feel extremely stupid telling a therapist about this situation…

          It’s not always a problem, it’s just how I am…

  6. Rani October 27, 2009 at 10:39 am #

    And when u are feeling better, take up the tag thats waitin for u. 🙂

  7. Only my rants October 27, 2009 at 6:51 pm #

    Hey Hey.. all this happens!
    Try meditation (by any means) It surely helps.. Even I’ve gone through all this..

    • unsungpsalm October 27, 2009 at 7:21 pm #

      Oh, I’ve tried it on occasions, in the past few years! I can hold my thoughts for a maximum of 2 minutes or so… then it goes wandering again!

      TV helps the most, I suppose…

  8. Nikita November 1, 2009 at 3:29 pm #

    awww Unsung… I can relate to that. Tire urself so much every day that u fall asleep as soon as you hit the pillow. It helps.
    Love,
    Nikita

    • unsungpsalm November 2, 2009 at 8:59 am #

      Aww, I can understand what you’re going through! It’s miraculous you find time to log on to the net!!

Leave a Reply

