Towards a Global “Village”!

24 Oct

So here I am studying in my (air-conditioned) mess. The army of maintenance staff is struggling away, trying to keep the floor as spotless as it was when the place opened doors a few months back.

One of the cleaners, who for some reason is misleadingly not wearing their uniform, asks me to move my feet, to clean under the table.

As I comply, he asks, “You’re having exams?”
They start soon, so I respond in affirmative.
Then he decides to follow up with a most unrelated and unexpected query. “Which village are you from?”
I couldn’t believe what I’d heard, and actually asked him to repeat the question. Still unsure if I’d misinterpreted his query, I hesitantly responded “Delhi”. When he accepted the answer as plausible, I let out a small sigh!

Now please don’t misinterpret my statements as implying that I found it demeaning or anything of the sort, to be asked that question. Only, never has one phrased this particular query in such a manner. One usually settles for something more generic as “Where are you from?”
The very thought of imagining Delhi as a village, bursting at its seems with hundreds migrating into it daily, seems so ironical.

So that’s the village I’m from then. New Delhi πŸ™‚

11 Responses to “Towards a Global “Village”!”

  1. Rohit October 24, 2009 at 1:32 pm #

    heehee..maybe it was his attempt at calming your nerves down before the exams

    • unsungpsalm October 24, 2009 at 5:52 pm #

      Oh, I’m too calm for my own good as always πŸ˜›

  2. Rebel October 24, 2009 at 4:51 pm #

    Thats a slang baba. Seems he is more in sync with slangs than you. Haven’t you ever used statements like ‘Humaare gaon mein aisa nahin hota…’ etc etc??

  3. Karan October 24, 2009 at 9:29 pm #

    What were you wearing? πŸ˜›

  4. H October 24, 2009 at 10:06 pm #

    I think it was too cute. I can just imagine this man coming to you and asking you so unassumingly which “gaon” you’re from. It’s so simple and so refreshing!

  5. Pesto Sauce October 25, 2009 at 10:02 pm #

    I had once gone to a new tuition class during my school days. The tutor asked me about my background and then asked me how often I visit my village. I was taken totally aback and did not continue there for long

  6. Nikita November 1, 2009 at 3:32 pm #

    Gaon – New Delhi!! hahahahahaha πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

