Jocular Weather Gods

20 Sep

It gets rather annoying at times to live in a town where the daily weather forecast reads “Partially cloudy skies interspersed with thundershowers and scorching sunshine”. In a 15 minute walk outdoors, the average resident here is subjected to more kinds of weather conditions than an average (or above-average or below average or downright despicable, for that matter) Delhi-ite experiences in 6 months.
Nonetheless, the rains are the most irksome and capricious of the lot. Thus, the umbrella is one’s closest companion here.

Naturally, when one carries any article on oneself for extended periods of time, it becomes part of him. Yours Truly, if within his capacity, wouldn’t permit anything run-of-the-mill to be part of him, right? So last year, he decided to pioneer (or atleast propagate) a trend… The age of the long black umbrella! Or rather, umbrella-when-it’s-raining-and-walking-stick-otherwise.

The initiative was a grand success and truly caught on!

Unfortunately, as usually happens with fashion-trends, there’s always a flip side. The unfoldable long-black-umbrella can get rather annoying to carry around, when it isn’t raining. So after a year of apprehension, yours truly said “What the heck” and started using the umbrella during rain AND sun.

But you see, that’s where the weather gods hop in with their pranks targeting a fellow like me, whose thoughts take only a moment to travel from Tanzania to Timbuktu.
So I left the mess towards the library this afternoon. The sun was shining, and up went the umbrella. So there I was walking, content in my own dreamland, with Jeff Buckley (*coughabbacough*) belting Hallelujah(*coughgimmegimmegimmecough*) into my ears. Two minutes later, I saw a girl look at me as if I was gay or something(!!) A minute later, I realized I couldn’t begrudge her for looking awkwardly at a bloke who was walking under a large black umbrella which was protecting him from no-sun and no-rain!!
It wasn’t the first instance of course. If I had ten-thousand dollars for every time I walked through 2 corridors of my hostel with my umbrella open above me, I’d be able to afford myself all the riches that even a sugar-daddy couldn’t shower me with!

But well, such is life.
Ha ha, weather gods, Ha Ha. 😐

24 Responses to “Jocular Weather Gods”

  1. Meghana Naidu September 20, 2009 at 10:20 pm #

    i just CANT seem to read your blog but You know i think i know what it is. Your template. i dont like it! the new one! bring back the old. why does everybody have to go on a changing spree. sometimes change is bad very baaaaaad.

    • unsungpsalm September 21, 2009 at 8:49 am #

      I cannot for my life fathom why it is that you despise my template, and I have no recollection of which its predecessor was.
      But I’m going to change it anyway. Just for you. And because some of us like change!

      • Meghana Naidu September 21, 2009 at 10:47 am #

        oh you changed! Just for me! you flatter me so πŸ™‚

        • unsungpsalm September 21, 2009 at 11:30 pm #

          And then I changed it again, because I wanted to flatter you more!

  2. Meghana Naidu September 20, 2009 at 10:21 pm #

    OR the non-grumpy version of the above: hey! i dropped by here to read and catch up of which i have so much to do! but something or the other seems to be coming up 😦 ill be back soon
    ta πŸ™‚

  3. Pesto Sauce September 20, 2009 at 11:15 pm #

    Weather in Gurgaon is no better…last week it rained badly near my office, but there were not even clouds in my home vicinity

    • unsungpsalm September 21, 2009 at 8:49 am #

      That’s odd! It was raining in every other part of the city!

  4. Meira September 21, 2009 at 11:43 am #

    Pshaw! Lets NOT even talk about Gurgaon and weather in the same breath.

  5. Meira September 21, 2009 at 11:45 am #

    Hey this blog theme I like

    • unsungpsalm September 21, 2009 at 11:27 pm #

      You’re the only one, it seems… And me.

      I think the others here keep their screen brightness to maximum or something :S

      • Rani September 22, 2009 at 2:48 pm #

        thanks for changing it anyways πŸ™‚
        this is so so so much better.. if not the best ;P

  6. Nikita September 21, 2009 at 12:26 pm #

    Talk about 4 seasons in a day!! It is the same in Belgium. Sunshine-y, cloudy, rainy, too cold… all in one day.
    BTW good to read your posts again πŸ™‚

    • unsungpsalm September 21, 2009 at 11:27 pm #

      OMG you’re back! Yay!

      • Nikita September 24, 2009 at 11:28 am #

        yeah… don’t get enough time to blog but will try to keep up with my blogger friends πŸ™‚

  7. Rani September 21, 2009 at 3:05 pm #

    Oh God… this green on the sides doesn’t let me read anythin!!!

    Its too bright for my eyes.
    Is no one lese complainin? I canteven look at the comments without squintin!!

    What were u thinkin when u put this up homey?

  8. Tanuja September 21, 2009 at 4:30 pm #

    MY EYES ! MY EYES! Please. NOT green.

  9. akash September 22, 2009 at 1:12 am #

    how long is this mary poppins avatar going to continue

  10. DewdropDream September 22, 2009 at 3:57 am #

    HAHAHAHAHHAHAHA!!! I’ve NO idea what that template was but it sure has attracted a lot of funny crack-me-up comments πŸ˜€

    Oh and I do the open umbrella under a walkway thing a lot … people don’t get tired of staring evidently. Oh well. Sod it all.

  11. D September 22, 2009 at 5:43 pm #

    A well-written post Up!

  12. Just call me 'A' September 24, 2009 at 1:04 pm #

    I have one of em….teh long umbrellas…..can be soo fashionable….and such a pain…but so good for a photo…rain or shine πŸ™‚

    seems like I miss the blog theme everyone’s talking about 😦

    • unsungpsalm September 24, 2009 at 10:53 pm #

      Good for photos indeed!

      About the blog theme… You’re on WP too… Just go to the templates page and pick something very green! You’ll have tons of complaints on your blog too πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

