Dental Pain is Dental Gain

3 Sep

So I’ve never really kept it a secret that I’m never likely to be the owner of an “I Love My Dentist” Fan-club. There’s no pain I’ve suffered worse than dental pain.

Yet, one can never tell what may happen one day to change your life around, take your principles for a ride, change the very meaning of your life.

Now I’ve had these wisdom teeth of mine growing in the most peculiar manner ever since I can remember. 3 of them had partially erupted, but were lodged in a rather uncomfortable position. I evaded treatment as long as I could (one and a half years) but with college coming to an end in 3 months, it suddently struck me that so would the subsidized medical treatments that we receive here.

So when I was dropping in to visit my friend at the dental clinic in the nearby medical school-cum-hospital, I thought I’d drop in for a consult.

And so I did. The intern who was daignosing my problem was a almost a bimbo. She left no stone unturned in enciting a feeling of dislike within me by opening our conversation with “You speak English/Hindi?” Like helloo!! I know I haven’t shaved in a while, but that does not mean that I look South Indian!!

Anyway, after the linguistic barrier (or the lack of it) was resolved, it went quite alright. Clearly, I wasn’t going to let her come within a kilometre of me with a drill, but she was only looking.

It was only supposed to be a consult but one thing led to another, and post analysis and X-Ray, I found myself in the surgery department. A moderately reliable Doctor greeted me, holding my file. He led me to a chair, and told me about a million times that I’d have to have them out sooner or later. I wasn’t very excited at the idea of them performing a bit of bone cutting in my jaw, but well, it didn’t seem as if I had an option.
Finally, I was about to give consent provided that he’d do the extractions and not any of the 12 interns who were looking on, that he went away…

… to be replaced by my gym adonis!!!

Sigh! I couldn’t believe my luck! So he’s this fellow who I’ve seen and keenly observed in the gym. So he’s not very well spoken, and didn’t seem all that sophisticated in the gym. But this was a clinic, and he was wearing a white-coat! He’s got to be damn smart to be in that chair, right? Oh, and did I mention that he’s damn HOT???

We spent nearly 20 minutes talking. Why 20? In the first 3, I took the pains of elaborately describing to him the fear and trauma I faced in a Dentist’s chair, and indeed how much faith I would be investing in him if I let him come near me with any instruments.
He sort of picked up on the vibes I was giving out… and the next 17 minutes, he spoke to me in a tone that suggested I was no older than 12, on my first visit to the dentist! Which wasn’t a pleasant experience before so many interns, but hey… he was talking to me! And taking my name over and over again… Sigh!

Unexpected as it was, somewhere in between I heard him say “I suggest we take one out today, and the rest…” to which I gasped, “Did you say today?”

Before I knew it, he was administering local anasthesia, talking me through every movement he made! Remember how when we’re very little, and our pediatrician is administering an injection (which we’re very, very afraid of) and she keeps talking to us throughout saying “It won’t hurt, it won’t hurt, just a tiny prick” and subsequently “I’ll tell you when I put it in, don’t worry. If I don’t tell you, you can walk right out. Don’t worry, I haven’t done anything yet. Oh, oh and would you believe it, it’s done!”

Yes, well, I got the exact treatment. Except with 9 amused students were looking on. And the doctor was damn hot!

So it was hardly painful. I’m scheduled for my next extraction, an even more painful one, on Saturday. He gave me the choice to pick my own appointment, and I reached for the nearest one I could manage!

Tragically, the 3rd and 4th tooth will come out in one sitting. Which deprives me of one visit! Not fair, eh? Only 2 more visits left 😦

Hmm… I say, how useful are my molars anyway? πŸ™‚

____

Update : Randomly searched for his first name on Orkut. Found his profile. Pictures open to share. Yep, he very evidently is regular at the gym… And he loves posting his snaps…

… And he’s a bit of an exhibitionist πŸ™‚

Unsung is a notty boi!

23 Responses to “Dental Pain is Dental Gain”

  1. Meira September 3, 2009 at 10:07 pm #

    never heard of anyone who likes dentist. shudder at your visits…hot guy or no hot guy.

  2. Nu September 3, 2009 at 10:22 pm #

    Rest of the things are great but the extraction thingie…. errrrrrr…scared me ! Dental pains are the worst ever !

  3. unsungpsalm September 3, 2009 at 10:37 pm #

    It’s not as painful when you have an Amateur Model operating on you…. πŸ˜€
    It’s all pleasure, in that case πŸ˜‰

  4. Jackdaw September 3, 2009 at 10:38 pm #

    It’s a small world. Is he straight?

  5. Firebolt September 3, 2009 at 11:11 pm #

    I’ve never had a bad experience with a dentist because apparently I take good care of my teeth. This incident, however, brings to mind the crush I had on my mom’s OB/GYN. πŸ˜› She was young and Hot with a capital H. Unfortunately, she had a husband who was (apart from being way out of her league) also a Gynae at the same hospital.

    • unsungpsalm September 4, 2009 at 1:19 pm #

      It’s tragic when that happens… We need more (openly) gay doctors…

      • Dark Knight September 4, 2009 at 2:24 pm #

        agreed 100%.. at least we will knw wat to do… otherwise hitting target in dark is tiring job πŸ˜›

  6. BlueMist September 4, 2009 at 12:51 am #

    So you join the club at least for time being ? πŸ˜›
    You have met so many guys at Gym I am confused which one is dentist exactly. πŸ˜€
    It takes me first visit to decide to schedule next visit or not . heance so all my dentist are nice.
    so we are your molars are going too. Good going πŸ˜€

    • Dark Knight September 4, 2009 at 10:02 am #

      it doesn’t matter if we are confused… if he’s confused then that’s the matter to worry abt hehe

      pray BM.. Pray πŸ™‚

    • unsungpsalm September 4, 2009 at 1:21 pm #

      Haven’t mentioned this one, I’m afraid. First mention… and on what an occasion!

  7. Anonymous September 4, 2009 at 12:58 am #

    Every dark clinic ha a silver tooth coming out! πŸ˜‰

  8. Karan September 4, 2009 at 2:26 am #

    I hate dentists, but if i were you i would wish for a dozen wisdom tooth!

    • unsungpsalm September 4, 2009 at 1:22 pm #

      Thank you Karan. If you were to find a hot chick to operate on you, you’d feel the same way as me…

  9. Racy September 4, 2009 at 8:21 am #

    Well, you can always go for further consultations.. like gold teeth or something. I know its lame, but then you’re desperate. Oh damn, smart exhibitionist gym rat… i envy you!!

    • unsungpsalm September 4, 2009 at 1:27 pm #

      Sigh, but he mightn’t swing my way, so there’s not much to envy…

  10. Dark Knight September 4, 2009 at 10:00 am #

    haha is it the chocolate effect? (my mom always reminds me of this effect whenever i mention abt toothache.)
    n agreed, UsP is notty boy: ready to pull out teeth for hot-dentist πŸ˜› lol

    hehe find out more abt the dentist… who knows!!

    P.S. don’t listen to Meira πŸ˜›

    • unsungpsalm September 4, 2009 at 1:28 pm #

      Agreed. Meira is a very very silly girl in these matters… But then again, she already has a boy… and a damn smart one in his own right!

  11. Rani September 4, 2009 at 11:06 am #

    I hate dental visits but if u have a reason big enuff to actually enjoy that trauma, good for u notty boi πŸ™‚

    • unsungpsalm September 4, 2009 at 1:32 pm #

      Imagine if Hero was your dentist…

      … or even better, Jake Gyllenhall!

Leave a Reply

