Reunion

27 Aug

Not mine, but the music band that was my entire life in the early part of this decade.

However, I’ve come a long way since 2003, and I wasn’t nearly as excited as I thought I’d be. Nonetheless, I’m hopeful. Hopeful that they’ll create music like they did before. But I know they cannot match the standards that they back in the early 1990’s, well before I knew of their existence.

I was reading the news updates at a rather late hour, 2 nights ago. Nostalgia took over, and I began loading some of the old tracks that I hadn’t heard in years, simply because I got so bored of listening them over and over, back in the day.
They’re still all-too-familiar, but it was an enjoyable experiece, revisiting the past at 1.00 am. So enjoyable that I wanted to take it to another level. And out came the lone cigarette I had in my bag. I stood there in the bathroom, smoking in the dark and revisiting those depressing tunes with my iPod. As I saw the wisps of smoke, and as the tobacco mildly tingled my senses, I wondered how helpful the cigarettes would’ve been in those days. Scandalous, I know. But, well!

Before I sign off, here’s one of the tracks that moves me the most. Brilliant words, brilliant music. Hope you like it too.

10 Responses to “Reunion”

  1. Meira August 27, 2009 at 12:46 pm #

    No beer?

    • unsungpsalm August 27, 2009 at 5:26 pm #

      The B-word and all other calorific words are banned on this blog.

  2. Rohit August 27, 2009 at 9:29 pm #

    cigarettes?..did I hear that word ? did anybody talk on cigarettes and how helpful it is ? hehee..yeah agree.

  3. Jackdaw August 27, 2009 at 10:09 pm #

    Don’t you hate it when a band reunites and has just one more hit song, and suddenly your album “The very best of…” lacks one song.

    I’ve got many great memories connected to the Cranberries and their music.

    No calories on this blog? Yet I don’t consider it a ‘light’ blog 😉 .

    Just before I left for my holidays you wrote a post about suicide. I wanted to talk with you about that in a private conversation. Please remind me of that next time we meet on MSN (or irl).

    • unsungpsalm August 29, 2009 at 8:31 am #

      Oh, I certainly don’t mind if they come up with a track as good as that! There can always be another Best Of, 5 years hence…

      I logged onto MSN the moment you posted this comment, but you weren’t there. Another time, then…

  4. Pesto Sauce August 28, 2009 at 6:56 pm #

    You have good choice

  5. Meira September 3, 2009 at 12:05 pm #

    and cigarettes? the lung-damaging-cancer-causing fags are allowed?
    Meira exits scratching her head, and taking another swig of her Corona.

Leave a Reply

