Conversations, Revelations, Premonitions

24 Aug

So I was walking into the hostel gates this evening when this classmate, who’s blended beautifully into the background for the past 2 years in class, was passing before me. We occasionally have 2 minute chats if we’re ever walking down the same corridor at the same time, but that’s happened about twice in the 2 years. Usual pleasantries, nothing much.

Today, however, the stars were conspiring. As he passed before me, I stopped him to ask him about a seminar that he’d attended. I didn’t stop him because he’s pretty darn cute, but because I had a genuine interest in hearing about the seminar. And lo behold…

Books, Literature, Movies, Careers, High School, Parenting, Girls (puke!), Booze, Weed, Gym…

45 minutes must’ve gone by without noticing. Well, I did notice, because I was running late for the gym. But I stood there in the corridor, with this dude, making pleasant conversation for 45 whole minutes!
My enthusiasm dropped 5 counts when I heard that he’d dated women until very recently. But the conversation just kept on going, even when on two occasions, I mentioned that I should be heading off!

Funniest is that the guy is extremely withdrawn, not very warm or animated. Yet, he kept talking and I kept talking. We kept talking about ourselves, and it didn’t even get competitive!

It was one of the highlights of the day, along with some others. Another was that I finally discovered the identity of this dude I’d met on a gay networking site, who is a college senior. The dude knew my identity but never told me his own. We eventually stopped talking until I remembered him the other day. So I traced his profile online, and discovered that he relocated to the USA. One short query to Tanuja and instantly, I knew his name! Hurray, a long-standing mystery solved!!

These highlights were quite essential after a horrid night’s sleep. I was trapped in this horrid dream in which I was at a family function and all of my relatives there were outright ignoring me. I figure it was because of the recent spat over email with Pop, to which the cousin reacted. Nonetheless, I wasn’t too bothered about it, in my dream. What I was bothered about were my nephews and neice! Those little toddlers that I dote on, and who, I confess, are fond of me as well! They had been turned against me, at their age! In my dream, I believed that my cousin sister was behind it! Yikes!Β So I don’t mind breaking away from the family at large, and may have to one day, but saying goodbye to those kiddos is too big a price to pay for being slightly rude to Pop…
I hope it’s not a warning of any kind!

Oh, this has to be one of my best blog titles ever!

12 Responses to “Conversations, Revelations, Premonitions”

  1. BlueMist August 24, 2009 at 11:22 pm #

    Quite interesting.
    two things
    The conversation continued because of the interesting topics or there was another common ground ? πŸ˜‰
    and you should start copy righting your dreams and can make money by selling them to these tele-soap makers…no seriously !! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
    Since “chachu” usp is fond of the toddlers; I see the remote chance of them turning against you. So not to worry too much πŸ™‚

    • unsungpsalm August 25, 2009 at 5:55 pm #

      No other common ground, as far as facts are concerned…

      Lol, yes I should copyright my dreams! And my life!

      • BlueMist August 25, 2009 at 6:10 pm #

        In fact I had same thoughts that DK mentioned..prolly he wanted to mention “men” but said “women” πŸ˜€

  2. Nu August 25, 2009 at 2:38 am #

    Yes , I think the title is really cool.. great ! And if one really notices neatly.. the titles says a lot !

    Good post once again πŸ™‚

  3. Meira August 25, 2009 at 9:48 am #

    Oh good…the guy sounds promising.
    And don’t worry. It’s really hard to turn kids against people they like They’re pretty strong minded about their likes n dislikes. Ask any vegetable!

    • unsungpsalm August 25, 2009 at 5:56 pm #

      Hum! Hope you’re right on that one 😦

  4. Dark Knight August 25, 2009 at 12:31 pm #

    Look someone is blowing his own trumpets πŸ˜›

    and wat did you expect? the guy would proudly declare he’s dated men? Haha even if he had, he will project him as her lol πŸ˜€
    try finding more πŸ˜›

    and wat’s happenin with ur blog? i tried to post 2 comments yesterday but failed… so i gave up… hopefully this time, it won’t be same πŸ™‚

    • unsungpsalm August 25, 2009 at 6:00 pm #

      That’s a very good point, DK. I thought it often. I did see him with a girl once… but only once…
      I wish ALL gay men were obvious…

      Okay, maybe not.

      Donno why it was spamming your comments… No worries, I’m here to unSpam them πŸ˜€

  5. aparna August 25, 2009 at 2:01 pm #

    You do meet interesting people in the gym, don’t you? And what did he mean he was dating girls till a while back? Is he confused or what? Stay away from such ‘dudes’.
    And the title is awesome.

    • unsungpsalm August 25, 2009 at 6:01 pm #

      Haha, no. Just means that he’s single at the moment… thaz all!

  6. Pesto Sauce August 25, 2009 at 7:32 pm #

    Talk more with this guy…who knows things may work somewhere

Leave a Reply

