Oops I did it again (for the fourth time)

18 Aug

Right, so I have this friend, who I’ve christened Saanya (my third hag-designate) on an earlier occasion, on this blog.

Saanya and I have a rather precarious history. It seems that I love to abuse when I’m around her… which becomes slightly embarassing at times.

For instance, on one occasion, she was on the phone with an aunt, while we were all at dinner, and I happened to be talking (rather loudly) in the background about… condoms, enquiring about the differences between the various kinds. Apparently, I was audible enough for the aunt to hear.
On another occasion, once again when we were out for dinner, she was on the phone with her sister-in-law, and I happened to be screaming “Whore! Whore!” at Tanuja, loudly enough for my voice to travel into her handset’s microphone and out the ear-piece halfway across the country.

A third time occurred over the summer break. Some 7 of us were having a chat over e-mail (the reply-to-all types, that Tanuja had initiated for us to stay in touch). To one of Saanya’s vauge e-mails, I responded (in jest, as always) “You’re a wh*re”. Which she unsuspectingly opened before her father’s unexpecting eyes. An extremely embarrassing moment that was, she said months later.

So yep, Saanya and I go back, when it comes to my abusive habits.

I was at the mess last night, with a few friends. Now Saanya and I haven’t had much time to catch up the last few weeks. Since we’re in our last semester in college, it is only imperative that we spend quality time together, right? So much so that we’d had a quick chat on the phone, the day before, and had decided to meet up the following day. Unfortunately, it was dinner time, the day was just about over and our meet hadn’t materialised. And here I was, minding my own business, having my dinner, and what do I behold but Saanya sitting on another table with her best friend from school, in a hostel mess that neither of them ever visit! And the b*tch couldn’t even come over to our table to say hello, let alone join us!

So I decided to join her instead. I picked up my plate and strutted over to her and greet her with “Oi r*ndi [Indian equivalent of wh*re], weren’t we supposed to meet today?? Why couldn’t you call?”

Normally, she wouldn’t react much to my occasionally vulgar language, except maybe a burst of laughter-in-shock. 3 years were quite enough for her (and her best friend, for that matter) to familiarize themselves with my antics.

But on this particularly evening, she just looked at me in an extremely odd and uncomfortable manner, and mumbled something I couldn’t quite understand. Meanwhile, I turned to say hello to her best friend, who rather impolitely hadn’t even looked up from her plate so far. I couldn’t get down to saying hello. I just kept looking, confused. She looked… different. But then, it was her surely! But there was something amiss. What was it that was so odd about her face? Everything seemed normal… the hair, the shape of her face, the complexion… but she still looked extremely different.

And then it all came rushing back to my mind… my phone conversation with Saanya on the previous day, when she had mentioned that her best friend’s elder sister was coming into town…

So… errr… oops!

I was at a total loss for words, of course. The poor visitor must have been wondering why Saanya was tolerant of this dude walking up to her, and calling her a r*ndi

It turns out I was wrong. This afternoon, I learned that the friend’s sister wasn’t so caught unaware by the casual vulgarity in my greeting but instead… by my attire. She was, in fact, so scandalized by my choice of a dinner suit that she had asked Saanya, and I quote, “Is he gay?!”

So I know the trousers aren’t really common around here, but hello!! Let’s exhibit some civility, shall we?

Oh right, I should be the last one to be saying that :S

22 Responses to “Oops I did it again (for the fourth time)”

  1. Karan August 18, 2009 at 12:30 am #

    If you really wear that thing to your mess, then you are the most gutsy engineer I have never met!

    • unsungpsalm August 18, 2009 at 11:17 pm #

      Gutsy, yes… Engineer, debatable!

      Not only to the mess, I was all over the campus in it! But I wear it on Sundays only, by principle πŸ˜‰

  2. Alan August 18, 2009 at 3:54 am #

    OMG!!! Were you seriously wearing THAT!!! Ha!! Ha!! Ha!! Brave of you – but the brave can’t expect sympathy :))

  3. Dark Knight August 18, 2009 at 9:46 am #

    oh god, how scandalous you can be?

    • unsungpsalm August 18, 2009 at 11:19 pm #

      As time passes, I keep pushing my boundaries πŸ˜‰

  4. Meira August 18, 2009 at 10:09 am #

    But they’re cool! And up here they’re called harem pants. Wonder why she was shocked!

    • unsungpsalm August 18, 2009 at 11:20 pm #

      Might be because it’s odd to see a guy braving them in a small little town where everyone attempts to conform…

  5. Only my rants August 18, 2009 at 1:04 pm #

    He ha ha ha!! πŸ˜€
    No doubt ur pants are cool.. n I truly admire u actually wearing them. But for some stranger like her who dont know you personally, its damn weird!

    • unsungpsalm August 18, 2009 at 11:22 pm #

      It’s damn weird even for people who’ve vaguely known me for three years!
      For the close friends, it isn’t so much. They’d expect me to do whacky things. But the first time I wore it, it was a shock to them as well!

  6. Rani August 18, 2009 at 1:50 pm #

    Those pants are super sexy!! I wish I had enough confidence to wear dat funk.
    Proud of u boy πŸ˜‰

    • unsungpsalm August 18, 2009 at 11:23 pm #

      Of course you have the confidence! All you need are the pants!
      I hear they’re available somewhere in Bangalore πŸ˜‰

  7. BlueMist August 18, 2009 at 3:23 pm #

    Geez talk of those pants again ? They have become so common in my place. and horror is I recall your post every time I see them …Gosh !! :Evil:

    • unsungpsalm August 18, 2009 at 11:23 pm #

      Are you sure you live in Portugal, and not in 15th century Arabia?

      • BlueMist August 18, 2009 at 11:46 pm #

        You got those pants from your ancestors 😯 πŸ˜›

        You can come here and check yourself ..come before summer ends !! πŸ˜‰

  8. JH August 18, 2009 at 5:39 pm #

    What is a dinner suit?
    Like a black tie event? Tux and patent leather etc? Not sure I understand…

    • unsungpsalm August 18, 2009 at 11:24 pm #

      It was a popular concept about a century ago, in British culture. They’d dress up in full formal attire, just to have dinner!

      It’s still observed in some of the old-fashioned boarding schools, in India!

  9. Miss M August 18, 2009 at 10:47 pm #

    Those pants are super cool! And the color even more! πŸ˜€

    • unsungpsalm August 18, 2009 at 11:25 pm #

      The colour? Really? I was thinking of dyeing them to black… The reason I picked this one up was because it was the last piece in the shop…

      • Miss M August 19, 2009 at 11:31 am #

        No no, I totally heart the color! Ofcourse black would look nice too, but this color is so festive. Don’t dye it.

        • unsungpsalm August 19, 2009 at 11:38 am #

          It’s a bit too… saffron… for my taste/faith

Leave a Reply

