Triumph & Failure

10 Aug

Triumph. It took place last night. I’d come back from dinner, and wanted to check out a notice for a placement procedure that was to take place today. Tragically, half of the notice wasburried under a lot of other posters. These other posters included several events that were over already, as well as 3 duplicate copies of “Hostel Rules”, none of which have been read even once in the past 3 weeks at least!

So I thought I’d do the normal thing to do in the situation, and ask one of the caretakers to unlock the sliding glass that sealed the notice board, so that I could uncover relevant articles. To which he promptly responded…

Caretaker: Can’t be done. Will remove them tomorrow.

Big mistake!

Me: Whaddaya mean you can’t? I have the frikkin’ placement tomorrow and I need to read the full instructions TODAY!

Caretaker: You should’ve read the notice when it was put up…

Me: It was put up 2 weeks ago! What was the point of reading it then…

Caretaker: Well, I don’t have the key. The guy who does has gone for dinner… When he comes back, I’ll ask him to.

But I was too annoyed at him to let it end there.

Me: You guys are extremely incapable of maintaining a stupid notice board. Look at all the junk on it!

Caretaker: What do you mean by Junk? Those are all your notices that go up there!

Me: And then the event gets over, and the notices are supposed to come off… Can’t you people read?

Caretaker: Everyone complains if their notice comes off…

Me: Not if the bloody event is over! Besides, look at the 3 different copies of hostel rules that you’ve put up! And THAT copy is 5 years old!

Caretaker: It’s come from the administration! We can’t remove that… It has the director’s signature on it…

Me: So do the 2 updated copies from the same university! 2 copies of the rules are sufficient, without a third!

Caretaker: If it has a signature on it, we have to put it up. Otherwise, the higher authorities would scream at us.

Me: If the “Higher Authorities” had so much as looked at this notice board ever, it wouldn’t be having a 5 year old copy of Hostel Rules on it! Who ARE these higher authorities anyway? Tell me and I’ll go and talk to them…

Caretaker: Errr… Talk to the Director.

Me: So I’m supposed to go and tell the Director of the college that some idiots can’t maintain a notice board in the hostel…

Caretaker: All problems are created  by you students only…

Me: Yeah, Yeah… we’re always the culprits, aren’t we! You are the poor victims of our antics! All we want to do in life is seize control over and misuse the noticeboard which was made for us in the first place…
What use IS the damn thing, if it isn’t useful to us?!

Somewhere around now, I got bored of fighting and knew that I wasn’t going to break any ground with the complacent bonehead. The 2-way argument lasted 10 minutes, after which I started talking to another friend present there, even though he kept shouting back, but having realized that he was shouting at someone who was engaged in conversation with another, he did eventually shut up.

I was walking past the reception the next morning, and was pleasantly surprised to see the entire notice-board crisp and clean. The 5-year old copy of the Hostel Rules were gone. A friend who had witnessed my argument told me later that he had seen the caretakers frantically cleaning up later at night. It sounds like a trivial matter, but our heated argument over it entirely suggested otherwise. My efforts bore fruit 🙂

Failure. Didn’t even clear the written (first) round of the placement exam. Didn’t deserve to either, bearing in mind that those who did had probably spent a lot more time flipping through our course books over the last few days, whereas I don’t even own a copy of them! So no surprises there. However, I do enjoy an undeserved treat, so I was ever-so-slightly dismayed at the result.

Triumph. At the gym today, I observed an acquaintance of mine talking to a pretty darn hot dude. They were both standing in the area dedicated to dumbell exercises, whereby they face a large looking-glass and train. I was on the machines, which I promptly dropped and made my way to the dumbells. In the process, I skipped (or delayed rather) several machine-exercises that were in my routine, to skip forward to the dumbell ones.

A dumbell in each hand, I proceeded to squeeze into a little gap next to my acquaintance (who shall hence be SteppingStone), who was still in conversation (thankfully) with the Hot Dude, let’s call him Aby. Now Aby and the SteppingStone were talking on general topics (Swine Flu) so it wasn’t long before I’d caught up, and was stealing a bit of their air-time for my own comments, addressing them only to SteppingStone of course. Obviously, my comments were laced with my standard sarcastic humour, which unfailingly makes SteppingStone laugh, but seemed to be working on Aby as well. My input to our conversations grew dramatically. Soon, all 3 of us were in rapid conversation, and eventually, SteppingStone was thrown aside (okay okay, left voluntarily) and it was only Aby and Me. From there on, the conversation went everywhere else… to his academic background, my academic background, music favourites, university gossip, exercise tips, my laziness, subtle compliments to his physique, the occasional confession by me [ Aby: “You don’t give a damn about fitness, do you?”    Me: Nope! I just want to look good :)” ] and so on and so forth.

It was in the midst of this that he asked the damned question…

Failure.

Aby: So how are the girls in your college?

And it all came tumbling down. Why did GIRLS have to come into the conversation?! Ugh! Girls!
Gay… Straight… girls are the root of all misery for all kinds of men!

But then there was hope…

Triumph.

Me: Ummm… they’re okay. Apparently, not so bad for an engineering college.

Aby:  The girls in my college are wild. They’re far wilder than the men… They drink sooo much more… It’s nuts!

Ahh! No mention of how they “look”! Just how liberated they are! There is hope after all… there is hope!

The icing on the cake… Just as he was leaving,

Aby: Hey dude, do you come around this time every day?

Me: Not religiously. The occasional day, I go for a swim. But I try to be regular.

Aby: Gimme your number…

Me: Errr… okay! It’s 9987654321

Aby: I’ll give you a missed call?

Me: Umm… sure!

Aby: Okay… we should hang out sometime… See you then!

Me: Umm… bye!

Before we all start getting excited, there’s only one other reason, apart from the one that Unsung’s company is always interesting and entertaining, which would make a person want to hang out with a random, interesting but far less hot dude who he met at the gym.

Failure. He has few friends!
Which totally seems to be the case with this fellow. He’s studying in a class/course that has less than 5 people in it! No class-mates, thus few friends… Thus, turn to the funny, interesting and nothing-homosexual-about-him-as-far-as-I-could-see dude at the gym.

Frankly, I hope he doesn’t call or anything! (Yes, even though he was soo fuckin’ hot! See? I’m not completely shallow! Oh, and he has a dusky complexion… so not completely racist either! So there 🙂 )

22 Responses to “Triumph & Failure”

  1. Miss M August 11, 2009 at 1:03 am #

    Whyy? Why do you hope he doesnt call?? Hot dude gone to waste! Do something about it USP! 😛

    • unsungpsalm August 11, 2009 at 7:19 am #

      You can have him, sweets 🙂
      I don’t do straighties 😦

      • Miss M August 11, 2009 at 9:50 am #

        I thought you asked us women to stick to gay men? That’s what I am going to do! 😉

  2. v August 11, 2009 at 6:07 am #

    good u became an activist…….:) 🙂 …. and took on the college official ..instead of the usual chalta hai attitude we all are following…..

    and about the gym rendezvous all the best…lets see what happens 🙂

    “I drank glass after glass of Love;
    neither did the wine finish, nor my thirst.”

    • unsungpsalm August 11, 2009 at 7:20 am #

      Haha! You always come up with very amusing quotations for my posts 🙂

      • v August 11, 2009 at 7:36 am #

        yep…i got some kool ebooks would mail u later on …..

  3. Meira August 11, 2009 at 9:52 am #

    You posted your number on a public forum?
    Is that intentional 😛

    • Dark Knight August 11, 2009 at 10:17 am #

      haha i don’t think it’s UsP’s number…if yes, he wants to get calls from not only this hot dude from others as well lol 😛
      (now wondering should i call too 😛 )

      • unsungpsalm August 11, 2009 at 11:32 am #

        Yes indeed, my phone number is 9987654321! Even the president of India wouldn’t get that phone number!

        • Dark Knight August 11, 2009 at 11:49 am #

          you are so special tht you will get the number even President can’t have lol 😛

          • Meira August 12, 2009 at 11:29 am #

            I agree with DK. You are special 😛

  4. Dark Knight August 11, 2009 at 10:14 am #

    hehe he might call you…
    who knows he could straight-looking-gay lol 😛 (it’s good to live in fantasies sometimes lol 😀 )

    hmm…and abt notice board thing: did right thing 🙂

    • unsungpsalm August 11, 2009 at 11:33 am #

      Yep, I’m wondering too! It’s completely possible that he’s homo!

      If all the gay men on campus were obvious, then one wouldn’t have such issues as one does here 😦

      • BlueMist August 11, 2009 at 3:51 pm #

        At some party you met some seniors right ? ( remember reading at your party posts !) so there is possibility even slim one !! Keep your fingers crossed.

  5. Karan August 11, 2009 at 11:05 am #

    Sweet victory after the apparently fruitless argument. Caretaker ke dimag mein der hain, andher nahin 🙂

    • unsungpsalm August 11, 2009 at 11:34 am #

      Touche!
      Though he probably didn’t want to face my wrath over a couple of old notices, I think…

  6. kabir August 11, 2009 at 1:03 pm #

    Yay for the hot guy at the gym! Hope it leads to something good:)

    Regarding one of our earlier posts about the swimming pool: I too feel your frustration. I am currently visiting Lahore and went swimming at the Defence club for a month. Most days unfortunately, the only other people there were hairy and fat babas… even the young guys had bellies. Now, I’m not the most svelte guy myself, but god damn it, where’s my eye candy:)

  7. Anonymous August 11, 2009 at 2:14 pm #

    Have to admit I was going up and down with your triumphs and failures… Love the way you take your posts forward so effortlessly, hope you meet the right guy soon, till then its not that bad being single is it?

  8. sujata August 11, 2009 at 2:14 pm #

    Have to admit I was going up and down with your triumphs and failures… Love the way you take your posts forward so effortlessly, hope you meet the right guy soon, till then its not that bad being single is it?

  9. BlueMist August 11, 2009 at 3:48 pm #

    By the time I reached the end of the post I completely forgot about the notice board thing !! ;P
    While scrolling thro’ comments made me to come back to that topic !! 😀
    And that is not your REAL number right ? and I think the guy will call you or try meeting you in the gym. Keep us posted !! 😉

  10. Pesto Sauce August 11, 2009 at 10:31 pm #

    Best of luck dude….hope you go far (and deep!!!) with this guy

    And take your placements seriously. In ths economy not everyone is getting their share of pie

  11. aparna August 12, 2009 at 1:52 pm #

    College placements are serious stuff, hope you succeeded in your mission.
    So did you receive any calls after you posted your phone number on your blog? Good luck with it. Hope you meet the man of your dreams soon.

Leave a Reply

