When life isn’t too kind

31 Jul

I returned to the gym yesterday, after a 3 month hiatus. I’ve lost whatever little muscle mass I’d gained, and I’m struggling with dumbbell weights that I’d graduated beyond, if not perfected, several months ago.
I’m inflexible, feel foolish around the ultra-muscular dudes around, and some not-so-muscular fellows who still lift heavier weights.

Nonetheless, there was a slight feeling of belonging. A ray of hope that I’ll be fit again, and may even go beyond. I want nice biceps (and more)! Period!
The gym I’ve joined this time round isn’t the most elite, but has far more equipment than the “Fitness Centre” I was going to, earlier. So that brings added expectations as well!

In other news, the Unsung that we’ve known all along may soon be extinct. The Unsung with the falling hair may soon give way to the bald Unsung. That’ll be the worst tragedy to hit the world since WW2. My scalp is becoming increasingly visible, even though I’m struggling to prevent.
Moreover, my hair either keeps breaking (as opposed to falling) or is not rooted to my scalp anymore, since the fallen hair has no “root”.
I’m alternating Ayurvedic oil with good old “sarson” (mustard) oil, hoping that my scalp will find familiarity in the latter, that mom would forcefully apply on our heads through childhood.

If I knew this day was to come when I was young, I would’ve regularly oiled my hair every night of the year myself!

Anyway, the parents being negligent as they are about matters that are important to their kids, will be in for a rude shock if I go bald. I plan to shave my head off completely, get a visible tattoo somewhere and grow a funny beard. Or something. Get purple contacts. Totally punk. Just to teach them that this is what happens when you don’t take your balding son to a Trichologist when his hairfall is all that he ever talks about.

If anyone so much as dares to utter a word in their defence, you are banned from UnsungLand.
So there!

17 Responses to “When life isn’t too kind”

  1. Karan August 1, 2009 at 7:59 am #

    I am at the opposite end, the only things which have more hair than me are bear and barber’s shop/floor.

    • unsungpsalm August 1, 2009 at 8:12 am #

      Well then, if I decide to go for a hair transplant, you’re going to be in a bed (your own bed!) in the OT with me!

      • Karan August 2, 2009 at 12:22 pm #

        Anytime, take it all from me 🙂

  2. Pesto Sauce August 1, 2009 at 3:30 pm #

    I too am balding, already have a patch at the back

    Please tell me how to stop this, God save my hair

    • unsungpsalm August 1, 2009 at 5:40 pm #

      Lots of remedies online. Rub an onion. for instance, on the bald patch.

      And oil your hair with whatever oil you’ve used for most part of your life… It needs the nourishment!

  3. BlueMist August 1, 2009 at 5:05 pm #

    *** Devlish Laugh **** Welcome Welcome to bald land. Planning to apply for a residency ? 😛

    The tatoo, beard, purple contacts are much easier than hair transplant. Go for it !! 😉

    • unsungpsalm August 1, 2009 at 5:41 pm #

      Whaa! You’re not bald, are you? No authority to welcome me to bald land… especially before I’m even bald!

      • BlueMist August 1, 2009 at 6:37 pm #

        I am moving faster there ..faster than you !! 😦

        • unsungpsalm August 1, 2009 at 6:39 pm #

          Ohhh, that totally sucks!!

          • BlueMist August 2, 2009 at 4:02 pm #

            hey btw doesn’t your remedy of onion juice is working ? You suggested that on one of hair loss post of mine !! 😛

            • unsungpsalm August 2, 2009 at 4:31 pm #

              I’ve not been able to continue it here. no means for grating onions in the hostel room 😦

  4. DewdropDream August 2, 2009 at 4:00 pm #

    I think you might be excused if you were to use some teenage angst and rant saying they are bad parents who never pay attention… that would definitely get their attention.

    • unsungpsalm August 2, 2009 at 4:32 pm #

      Tried it a million times. They just say “Whatever! You’ll know when you become parents yourselves” to which I say “IF we become parents ourselves!”

  5. DewdropDream August 4, 2009 at 2:52 am #

    Darn! They’re not supposed to have a come back to everything dude! WE are!!! How do they not know the rules? 😦 No fun!

    • unsungpsalm August 4, 2009 at 11:45 am #

      Yep, parents can be pretty dull. Mom sent me a long, preachy response to an allegedly “sarcastic” email I wrote.
      Naturally, it was met only with more sarcasm.

  6. Nikita August 10, 2009 at 12:09 pm #

    Unsung, I think you will be the cutest, bald, punk gay in the world 🙂
    **Hugs**

Leave a Reply

