House-count!

25 Jul

So this semester, several friends happen to have moved out into independent apartments. I think it’s a bit silly for just a semester, but they seem quite pleased.
I stand to benefit nonetheless as I have a place to crash when I’m really drunk, and to hang out with friends (girls inclusive) which doesn’t cost money. Oh, and not to mention, house parties!

So yesterday, I visited 2 of these apartments. The first was Pankaj’s. I wasn’t quite looking forward to that visit, knowing that I’d be bombarded with endless stories of his foreign travels this summer. Thankfully, it didn’t last very long and I managed to sustain myself through it. Afterwards, we watched a fun movie and then smoked a Hookah! Ah, the joys of independent living!

In the evening, we moved to another friend’s who is in the neighbourhood. There, I was scandalized on being introduced to this new concept of “House-Count”.
Those ladies here who are familiar with the term would cringe. For others, brace yourself.
“House-Count” is the count of the number of women that have visited a particular house for reasons that you must be all to familiar with. Most often, the women don’t visit a second time! Shocked? So was I!

What was more shocking was that he told me of an apartment where four guys used to stay till last year that had a count of over 120! All of this in a town that I couldn’t imagine taking sex so lightly!
Call me chauvinistic or whatever, but though I appreciate and encourage women’s liberation and what-not (in terms of wearing “scandalous” clothing or so and so) I don’t quite like the idea of them participating in One-Night-Only’s. I thought women liable to get emotionally attached!

I was even more shocked to find out that my friend has a count-of his own. A non-zero one, I mean. He carries a condom in his wallet! I’m happy for him, and what not, but I never imagined him this way. (Tanuja, you did NOT hear this from me!)
When I was leaving, he mockingly told me that it’s high time I should start a count of my own. I told him I had. He told me he meant one that had been “initialised”. Thankfully, I could tell him that it had been initialised. Just not in this murky town…

Though now I’m feeling more competitive. For cryin’ out loud, I’m gay! My count should soar to the skies, right??

23 Responses to “House-count!”

  1. Rebel July 25, 2009 at 2:37 pm #

    House Count? Whats the significance of ‘house’ in it? Why not rather keep a simple count for yourself?

    • unsungpsalm July 25, 2009 at 3:28 pm #

      They do that as well, duh!
      The “house-count” brings about a certain kind of respect for that house/apartment… People sort of look up to it 🙂

      • Rebel July 25, 2009 at 3:52 pm #

        Ummm…whateva

  2. Daksh July 25, 2009 at 6:30 pm #

    you know the old rule right- guys tend to multiply their real counts by a factor of 3, gals tend to divide their real counts by a factor of 3, gay guys generally lose count after some time and tend to think in ranges rather than numbers 😛

  3. Pesto Sauce July 25, 2009 at 10:11 pm #

    Now come on….this is scandolous

    I will give you my house number….I too would like to be counted

  4. Karan July 26, 2009 at 1:08 am #

    Hahaha, house count, wow! Perks of living independently…
    Between what city is this 😛

    • unsungpsalm July 26, 2009 at 9:04 pm #

      Email me if you really need to know…

  5. Meira July 26, 2009 at 8:34 pm #

    Why? Why should you not fight like others?

    • unsungpsalm July 26, 2009 at 9:06 pm #

      Why should I not fight in what way, and for what?

  6. Secret admirer July 27, 2009 at 1:41 pm #

    “I don’t quite like the idea of them participating in One-Night-Only’s” – Why do YOU think so ????

    do you know it makes you sound like a conservative gay 🙂

    I would really like to know the crux of your statement .PLEASE 🙂

    • unsungpsalm July 27, 2009 at 5:09 pm #

      Yes, I am a conservative “gay”. I cannot indulge in sex without getting a bit attached, and need to make a very conscious effort not to get hurt. Which pretty much explains my so-called sex life.
      Being the old-fashioned sort, I too assume that all ladies in general don’t like the idea of indulging in sex-for-fun and I feel that they’re usually pressurized into it, or “give in” to a guy they’re fond of, if they have sex outside of a relationship…

      … even though vocally, I’ll always encourage girls around me to have casual sex… But I do it with a mischevious smile, so they know I’m joking 😛

      • Meghana July 27, 2009 at 9:50 pm #

        I totally understand how you’d think “NO! not the girls too! i thought you belived in love,commitment etcetera”
        But sweetheart there are girls ( and boys 😛 ) of all kind, you never know who’s the one under pressure 😉

        • unsungpsalm July 27, 2009 at 10:38 pm #

          Oh, I’m aware of that 🙂
          Doesn’t stop me from being scandalized at the exceptions to the rule 😛

          • Meghana July 27, 2009 at 10:46 pm #

            there is NO rule!

            anyway that aside didnt you miss me :O
            i was away for almost 3 whole days!

            beat that for narcissism
            😉

            • unsungpsalm July 27, 2009 at 10:55 pm #

              Au contraire, it caused me a minor depression, this sudden lull in my blog and yours…

              Where’d you go to??

              • Meghana July 27, 2009 at 11:06 pm #

                ah so you DID notice, sweet sweet boy you 🙂

                900 kms in 36 hours… away for a wedding, dressed up, got bored, checked out a few too many not-available cute boys, got more bored and came back
                Started my brand-new-internship today and worked for 8 hours straight on my dream project right away!
                so yeah ive been kinda busy
                🙂

                now 2 new posts on the way soon and the story ofcourse..

                i thought id have a host of posts to read! weekend and all… you havent written.. much that is

                ?

                • unsungpsalm July 28, 2009 at 11:41 am #

                  I thought college would bring a slew of things to write about, but surprisingly not!

                  Wow, Dream Project! Sounds swell!

                  Yes, you’ve left us hanging terribly, on that story… It’s terribly unethical you know!!

                  Non-existent cute boys? Aww 😦

                  • meghana July 28, 2009 at 12:08 pm #

                    well good news,
                    i wrote two whole pages yesterday
                    night 😉

                    • unsungpsalm July 30, 2009 at 11:39 am #

                      Post them already, then!

  7. Nikita July 29, 2009 at 7:51 pm #

    I am scandalized!!! And this when I am 26!!
    And you guys are not even out of college…. *jaw dropped open*

    120 house count for 4 guys… that averages 30 each…. OMG!!!

    Is that even possible??

    @Daksh – Lol… laughing out really loud at your comment 😀

    • unsungpsalm July 30, 2009 at 11:40 am #

      Well, I’m sure one guy got more than the others 😛

      And that’s over 4 years, so yep… Totally possible!

      Shocking, but possible…

      Heterosexuals are so sleazy 🙂

Leave a Reply

