Darn It, He knows…

18 Jul

So I’ve been writing about it for quite some time now, how my pop’s surely aware of my sexuality, and being all supportive about it. Whether it would be in terms of calling Baba Ramdev a total idiot (and me Dad’s a huge yoga fanatic) to several other comments he’s passed against the homophobic lot, dad’s wearing rainbow colours for his son.

I was trying to be in denial about it all, but I think it’s starting to sink in.

Earlier at dinner today, he and mom were having another tiff. I eventually concluded, “You two are just a disaster together…”

To that he responded in a somewhat soft voice, “When you’re with your spouse, 20 years from now, you’ll know.”

“What did you say?” I asked, thinking I hadn’t heard him properly.

Turned out that I had. “You and your spouse.” SPOUSE!
Who uses the word Spouse anymore! Why not “wife”! Ohh no, it’s Spouse! And he said it both
times! I had to bow my head down to suppress my embarrassed smile.

18 Responses to “Darn It, He knows…”

  1. BlueMist July 19, 2009 at 12:11 am #

    Beginning of good times I suppose. Your dad is super cool. πŸ™‚

    • unsungpsalm July 19, 2009 at 6:55 am #

      I’m just not ready for a such a super cool dad, as yet 😦

      • BlueMist July 19, 2009 at 5:11 pm #

        ah okay. May be he is also not sure and trying to gauge the things by your reactions. just a possibility. and me too thinks “spouse” can be a husband or wife. so don’t worry too much.

        • unsungpsalm July 21, 2009 at 9:40 pm #

          Naw, truth is that he’s a very, very clever man.

          And he’s one person who doesn’t quite conform to the concept of a “generation gap”…

          Yep, he’s probably watching my reaction very acutely. Which is why I think he knows!

  2. Pesto Sauce July 19, 2009 at 12:30 am #

    kuchh baat chhupaaye nahi chhupte

    • unsungpsalm July 19, 2009 at 7:28 am #

      Oh lord, now what do I say to that :S πŸ˜›

  3. Karan July 19, 2009 at 12:43 am #

    Dictionary says Spouse means “A marriage partner; a husband or wife.”
    How can you be sure of what he meant … ?

    • unsungpsalm July 19, 2009 at 7:03 am #

      I cannot be sure, I can only suspect.

      But isn’t it just so much easier to say “wife”? Anyhow, it adds up; this and all the incidents prior to this. So I felt that he was being clever in a very subtle manner…

  4. PedroNYC July 19, 2009 at 8:13 pm #

    Look at it another way. He might have used SPOUSE out of spite for your mom, refusing to acknowledge her presence as ‘wife’ given that they were midway through another tiff.

    • unsungpsalm July 21, 2009 at 9:42 pm #

      Haha, no… he never does anything of the sort.

      He scarcely retaliates to anything mom says, anyway. His manner of revenge is by not heeding a word of what she says…

  5. Jackdaw July 19, 2009 at 9:46 pm #

    It sounds as if your dad’s a wise man.

    • unsungpsalm July 21, 2009 at 9:41 pm #

      You hit the nail on the head, Jack πŸ™‚

  6. Firebolt July 20, 2009 at 12:30 pm #

    Haha! Awesome. What’s next? πŸ˜‰

    • unsungpsalm July 21, 2009 at 9:41 pm #

      No drama on that front for 6 months, at least. I’m officially away from Delhi 😦

  7. Crazy Sam July 21, 2009 at 8:52 am #

    So I guess in future, you will be coming out to your dad first. πŸ™‚

    Reading your dad’s conversation from the prior incident, there could be two possibilities:
    He likes to freak your mom out with homosexuality or the second,
    he is trying to make her more homo-friendly.

    I hope that it is the second.

    • unsungpsalm July 21, 2009 at 9:47 pm #

      He’s not really trying to alter her opinion in any way… At least not around me…
      I don’t know the private conversations that they have though!

  8. BlueMist July 21, 2009 at 5:01 pm #

    hello knock knock !!
    Anybody there ?
    Wondering where you have gone missing. Come back pliss !!

Leave a Reply

