My Very Own Step-Mom Moment

11 Jul

So we were in one of our regular arguments, yesterday and suddenly Maa absolutely shocked me when, in a very non-chalant tone, she admitted…

“Well, I didn’t have any problem accepting you as my own child, when I got married to your father.”

There were several reasons why I thought that was peculiar.

  1. So she didn’t have any trouble accepting me as her own child, which implied that I was an offspring from my father’s earlier marriage. But there was no mention of her coming to terms with accepting my elder sister as her own child. Implying that my elder sister was her own child, meaning that my folks had her well before they got married and well before my dad and his earlier wife conceived me. Which would make my dad a pretty rotten man.
  2. She qouted my biological mother’s name as “Sukhan Lata” or something like that. As far as I know him, my dad would never marry a woman who was called “Sukhan Lata” (in the late 20th century) and I too would refuse to be born to a woman by that name.
  3. After the sensational proclamation, she went on to say something about being so accepting that she went on to have a third child with him, and avoided having a fourth out of financial considerations. Now in my 21 years of survival, I haven’t known a second sibling. So any talk of avoiding bearing a fourth child (for whatever reason) in the absence of a third would mean that either both my parents were mathematically impaired or that I was in some very ludicrous dream.

I decided it was the latter so I began attempting to break out of that environment into a more realistic one. I wasn’t successful, so I resigned myself to the fact that my beloved mother was a step mother, that I was born out of wed-lock and that I had a second sibling that I cannot see, and a fourth wasn’t born because of the invisible third.

Soon enough though, I did awake and was thankful to realise none of it was true. Phew!

52 Responses to “My Very Own Step-Mom Moment”

  1. DewdropDream July 11, 2009 at 3:36 pm #

    Hee hee… it’s amazing, the stuff one ends up dreaming about!

  2. v July 11, 2009 at 5:18 pm #

    When i got the header in the rss feed i was first shocked !!! either this was true or u were fooling around so without even bothering to read anything i went to the last line and then i said Phew!! no one should get such a shocker……:()

    • unsungpsalm July 11, 2009 at 5:43 pm #

      I tried to phrase it that way πŸ˜‰

  3. v July 11, 2009 at 5:19 pm #

    DREAMS DREAMS πŸ™‚

  4. BlueMist July 11, 2009 at 5:40 pm #

    ROFL …
    You dreamt all this ? 😯
    Pt. 2 – is hilarious !! πŸ˜†
    Complete DQ you are !! :p

    • unsungpsalm July 11, 2009 at 5:44 pm #

      I did πŸ˜›

      It was rather dramatic, I confess!

      • BlueMist July 11, 2009 at 5:54 pm #

        I must say you dream about interesting things . for example BD, hats and now this drama πŸ˜‰
        unlike mine where I dream about bomb-blasts and murders πŸ‘Ώ

        • unsungpsalm July 11, 2009 at 6:07 pm #

          Oh ouch! That’s positively frightening, BM!

          • BlueMist July 11, 2009 at 10:57 pm #

            I know 😦
            Thankfully I don’t recall a single thing from the dreams when morning comes !! πŸ™‚

  5. Freedom09 July 11, 2009 at 5:54 pm #

    cheah~ Apalah, bikin complicated and headache only. :p

  6. BlueMist July 11, 2009 at 5:55 pm #

    Oh i love this evil smiley .. cute it is πŸ™‚
    πŸ‘Ώ πŸ‘Ώ πŸ‘Ώ :P:

    • unsungpsalm July 11, 2009 at 6:08 pm #

      I never knew of it! Wow! πŸ‘Ώ πŸ‘Ώ πŸ‘Ώ πŸ‘Ώ

  7. Alan July 11, 2009 at 7:54 pm #

    Gosh – you are such a drama-mama!!!

    • unsungpsalm July 11, 2009 at 7:58 pm #

      I write what I see, sir. I write what I see.

      But if anyone here works on a gossip mag, you should totally hire me πŸ‘Ώ

      • BlueMist July 11, 2009 at 10:57 pm #

        or may be you can be a drama-chacha πŸ‘Ώ

        • unsungpsalm July 11, 2009 at 10:59 pm #

          I sometimes worry that I won’t be allowed around my nephews and nieces if I’m like that πŸ˜›

          • BlueMist July 12, 2009 at 1:21 am #

            Instead i am sure they will love you to death for most entertaining bed time stories… πŸ˜€
            Are you good at children’s stories btw ? Attempted any time ?

            • Alan July 12, 2009 at 7:40 am #

              I like drama-chacha πŸ™‚ Very cool – you should officially consider yourself ordained a Drama-Chaha – by the Church of Unending Relentless Doom, Disaster and Catastrophe@

              • unsungpsalm July 12, 2009 at 10:05 am #

                You guys don’t realise it but you’re actually becoming a bit mean over here —> 😦 <—-

                But I do say, wherever can one find that Church you speak of??

            • unsungpsalm July 12, 2009 at 10:04 am #

              *BlueMist

              Oh, I don’t recall :S
              Gawd, my memory is awful.

              I think I tried telling a story to a 30-year old once (who reads this blog, btw πŸ˜› )

              But to little kids? Maybe sometime long ago… But I’m sure I can totally do it! Will adopt a nice English accent too, to give it the Enid Blyton feel πŸ˜‰

              • BlueMist July 12, 2009 at 2:19 pm #

                Ahem … πŸ™‚
                But I am sure your little new niece is gonna like this cool “drama-chacha” πŸ™‚
                and btw you are too sweet to be mean with you !! πŸ˜‰

                • unsungpsalm July 12, 2009 at 11:35 pm #

                  Again, I home they realise that! But scan my blog archives for posts about them, and you’ll see that they don’t think very much of me!

  8. Meghana July 11, 2009 at 8:46 pm #

    ah unsung unsung. such a dearie aren’t you πŸ˜‰

    fear not though, you dont have to bear the DQ tag all alone.

    Once I (with another friend) managed to convince my best friend (of 2 years then) that i was adopted, and that my parents bought me off a fisher woman in Goa. We had a hearty laugh and wrapped up the day and went our seperate ways; Only to realise after 6 WHOLE months that she still thought i was adopted!
    now thats a real shocker isnt it. πŸ‘Ώ πŸ‘Ώ
    PS i dont have to type evil grin anymore πŸ˜‰

    you and your posts bring out the worst in me πŸ˜›

    • unsungpsalm July 11, 2009 at 8:55 pm #

      Oh my god, that’s hysterical!! However did you manage something like that πŸ˜€
      I wouldn’t have been able to keep a straight face…

      And of all the things, bought off a fisherwoman… In GOA! Someone’s got class, I must say πŸ˜›

      So she STILL thinks you’re adopted?

      • Meghana July 12, 2009 at 12:04 am #

        i owe the best trick i ever pulled off to my friend ofcourse πŸ˜‰
        we thought she was laughing because she realised it was a joke
        But she was laughing at the goan-fisherwoman part! πŸ˜›

        the awesome-est part was the 6-months-later revelation, when we got to know and told her it was a joke.
        Man did i laugh that day or what !! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

        BTW i was born in Goa πŸ˜€
        and i grew up along the coast,
        the whole sun-sand-wine deal *smug*

        come hither all you mere mortals born elsewhere πŸ‘Ώ

        • unsungpsalm July 12, 2009 at 10:07 am #

          Oh you bitch.

          So you’re telling me that she was LAUGHING at the fact that your Mum is a Goan fisher-woman??? That’s so mean! :O
          (Okay no, I got what you meant… I’m not THAT dense…

          or AM I?)

          • Meghana July 12, 2009 at 11:06 am #

            You REALLY want to know what i think πŸ˜‰ after the comment fiasco on my blog, i dont think you do πŸ‘Ώ

            Its all oh-so-interesting! whatever would i do without this sun-burst-orange-splash fun!

            πŸ™‚

            • unsungpsalm July 12, 2009 at 11:12 am #

              Comment fiasco?
              You really DO live in a little world of your own! I have no idea what you speak of…

              • Meghana July 12, 2009 at 12:24 pm #

                oooooo yeah baby

                and dont you love it πŸ˜€
                dont say that is debatable now. i know you do πŸ˜‰

                ❀ ❀

                • unsungpsalm July 12, 2009 at 12:38 pm #

                  If I can’t say that, I have nothing left to say…

  9. Pesto Sauce July 11, 2009 at 9:02 pm #

    Filmy….very filmy

    • BlueMist July 11, 2009 at 10:55 pm #

      I agree πŸ˜‰

      • unsungpsalm July 11, 2009 at 10:58 pm #

        Fine, fine… I’m a drama queen yada yada yada

  10. Meira July 11, 2009 at 10:47 pm #

    Whoa…I was confused after the third line…who isn’t, on a saturday night after liquor takes over !
    Such complicated dreams! Think of tall-dark-handsome hunks re!

    • unsungpsalm July 11, 2009 at 10:58 pm #

      Sigh! I’m the only one who’s not getting any fun this Saturday night 😦

  11. Saima July 11, 2009 at 11:39 pm #

    πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
    ROFL
    Trust you to cook up such stories….your nieces and nephews will be sent to you for bed-time stories I am sure!!

    • unsungpsalm July 11, 2009 at 11:50 pm #

      I swear I didn’t cook up even ONE word! Exactly as it happened, with all those very thoughts!

  12. D July 12, 2009 at 12:09 am #

    LOL… I used to have such misgivings when I was 10 and I was teased about how I was found in a nullah near our house, had been picked up by my mom who bathed me and scrubbed me so hard that I became so fair πŸ˜› I believed all of it!

    • unsungpsalm July 12, 2009 at 10:11 am #

      Oh, Lol! Those stories are such fun!! You fell for it? For how long?

      And what’s with this entire obsession behind fairness?

  13. Firebolt July 12, 2009 at 2:56 am #

    “LOL”, “ROFL” and “LMFAO” fail to do justice to the gales of laughter this story incited in me. I have probably woken up the whole house.

    • unsungpsalm July 12, 2009 at 10:10 am #

      I’m going to say to you what Barkha Dutt once said to me…

      “Thanks… that’s sweet.”

      As you may or may not recall, it made my heart melt and made me jump in total ecstasy, so I hope I’ve given you reason for an encore of your performance that your folks were treated to, last night…

      … or not :S

  14. Just call me A July 12, 2009 at 1:46 pm #

    phew! you got me doing a lot of math out there …..only to go pop!

    • unsungpsalm July 12, 2009 at 11:36 pm #

      Heh! But I’m sure you’re awesome at math, so you shouldn’t complain over elementary calculations!

  15. Rani July 13, 2009 at 10:52 am #

    that was frighteningly funny… o whatever!

  16. Dark Knight July 13, 2009 at 11:07 am #

    haha…. dreams dreams…. according to Freud, dream’s are result of our desire which we try to suppress. Did you really want a step mom or ya wanted to act in some dramatic soap opera hehehe???

    hell, if i decide to make a movie, i will hire you as a script writer… definitely…

    you are a hell of drama king (DK, ops! it’ my name lol πŸ˜› )

    • unsungpsalm July 13, 2009 at 11:09 am #

      Oh wee, that should be fun!
      But I swear, it was all true!!!

      • Dark Knight July 13, 2009 at 11:12 am #

        u don’t have to swear πŸ˜› i know πŸ˜€
        Ops, i think i was banned from this blog πŸ˜›

  17. Swats July 14, 2009 at 5:22 pm #

    GOD! I’m still dumbfounded..
    You are just toooo much!!!

    • unsungpsalm July 14, 2009 at 5:30 pm #

      You guys make it sound like I was making it up :S

Leave a Reply

