Before Sunrise & Bimbo Behaviour

3 Jul

I’ve got so many posts swimming around in my head nowdays, what with a new environment at work and dad’s own gay rights movement, that I’m unable to document.

So here’s a feeble attempt…

Before Sunrise

(Got the idea for the title of this post from a little prick who reads my blog. Kudos to you, Mr. Bing…)

I was heading home from work on Wednesday evening, and managed to catch a cab for once. As I got on, so did this other fellow, dressed in casuals. He wasn’t amazingly cute, but there was something about his face that I founded attractive. His pouty lips, square-shaped face, nothing was very attractive. But it was… manly!

So anyway, we were sitting diagonally opposite each other. He was on the phone, and I was listening closely trying to decipher what language he was speaking in and what his accent sounded like. (I’m pathetic, I know)

Once he’d hung up, I pretended to be on a call, and spoke in slightly affected english. (Very pathetic, I know!) He didn’t show any interest, though.

Now I’m not one to initiate conversations. Neither did he. Then comes to my rescue this middle-aged co-passenger, who initiated conversation.

The dude (I’ll call him Squareface) turned out to be an employee of a call-centre. So while my copassenger enquired about their work ethics, timings, routine, life etc. I eased my way in,  asking Squareface about qualifications of the employees, job-requirements, accent-training (pathetic, I know) etc. etc. He saw my ID-card and asked me about my company. I informed him that I was interning and was actually studying in EFG college. Left him a bit impressed, seemingly. Either that, or the slight accent I’d put on (pathetic, I know).
Conversation went on afterwards to the monsoons, and how hot it had gotten prior to that, how warm the water in the taps was. In conversation, he mentioned that he used 20 litres of water for his bath (pronouncing bathe as bath and making me cringe), for which I condemned him (though it may have been incited, unconsciously, by his diction).

The car journey came to an end, within half an hour. We deboarded, and discovered that we were both heading for the Metro and towards the same direction. So we walked together, I waited when he had to buy a recharge, boarded the train together. We’d been making conversation throughout. I think we ran out, when we stepped onto the train, so thereafter, our only communication involved me making faces of disgust at the amount of crowd in the train, and him smiling at my expressions. As I had imagined at the beginning of the journey, he looked good with a smile on his face.

So at my stop, I deboarded, quickly whispering a “All the best with your interview” (that he was due to appear for) and him saying “Nice to meet you, take care”.

And then, as I stepped onto the platform, the doors slid shut behind me. And then he was gone.

Pathetic, I know.

____

As for the second part of the post…

Bimbo Behaviour

I guess I’ll just post an excerpt from a conversation I had with this acquaintance, who’s a somewhat prominent fellow on the Delhi gay scene. I was introduced to him by Daksh.

The conversation was on Gtalk. I’ve changed my own name here to “Unsung Psalm” and his name as well, to protect identities. 🙂

….
Unsung Psalm: I say
do you even know my name?
(I’d been wondering for quite some time if he did, because we’ve met only occasionally and he’s never addressed me by my name, opting for a more generic “Darling”)
Mohit: yes
Unsung Psalm: I’m doubtful
Mohit: Unsung Psalm
Unsung Psalm: Ahh
I’m impressed
oh shit
wait
damn
you’re on my Gtalk account
fuck
lol
feel like such a bimbo! So this is what it must feel to be in your shoes
Mohit: hah
Unsung Psalm: sorry, stilettos
20 Responses to “Before Sunrise & Bimbo Behaviour”

  1. BlueMist July 3, 2009 at 2:16 pm #

    For the first part
    ** Goes to search a suitable romantic bolly song ** 😛

    For the second part
    LOL. How can you do that USP ? :-O

    and I love the way you select alternate names to protect the identities of course. Do they gel with original or you select just on the fly ?
    any ways you are too cute …and in deed it is loss of those hottie guys !! 😉

  2. Only my rants July 3, 2009 at 3:45 pm #

    If u express openly everything that comes in ur mind n for that instance whatever u write on this blog.. I’m wondering there’ll be soooo many people who will fall for ur cuteness! 🙂

  3. Meghana July 3, 2009 at 3:50 pm #

    so i leave from college on my superbike (read: kinetic 4 stroke which goes from 0-60 in an hour) reach collosal speeds(manage to warm up the engine) and wroom homeward, after a while(a few kms of chan-esque antics in blore’s traffic) i begin to notice a guy tailing me.
    now he’s on a yummy bike (i forget which) and he looks even yummier. so i do the best possible thing. i speed up. he revs up too, we do that for a few more kms (insert total smugness here)
    and finally stop at a signal. he takes his helmet off and says “you are a crazy driver!” i say
    “i know” , smile, (light turns green) and rev away.
    😀

    why i chose to tell you this story, i dont know, but im sure you’ll appreciate the details.

    in total inaneness
    -Meg
    😉

  4. unsungpsalm July 3, 2009 at 4:15 pm #

    *BM
    How can I do WHAT??
    Yep, the names that I pick have at least some vague resemblance with the original ones… Very vague, but it’s there…
    Aww, thanks… But the hottie guys don’t look at cuteness that comes from personality, it seems. Plus, there’s no opportunity. Loud music, dim lights and dancing. That’s how the evening begins, continues and ends…

    *OMR
    Lol, that’s so sweet! I seem to have found a lot over here 😀 I’m indeed bloody lucky!

    *Meghana
    OMG That’s so HOT!!! You should’ve totally taken his number, babe!!!
    But be careful, okay? Bangalore roads are not meant for speeding, given that they don’t have very many…

  5. DewdropDream July 3, 2009 at 5:05 pm #

    Take your pick, you either get ‘Aankhon hi aankhon mein ishara ho gaya’ or ‘Do dil mil rahe hain’ 😛

  6. unsungpsalm July 3, 2009 at 5:09 pm #

    Ohhhh, “Do Dil”! Love that one!

  7. BlueMist July 3, 2009 at 5:48 pm #

    and I thought about ” jub kisi ki taraf dil zukane lage ; baat aa kar jubaan par rukane lage ” 😉
    Too cheesy eh ? 😛
    hey why dont u turn on the threading in comments ? u no like me thinks …

  8. BlueMist July 3, 2009 at 5:51 pm #

    besides have that tight hold on faith; it just now you started attending those cool parties isn’t it ? It will not be too long before you start writing about “that someone special” with some cute name ; in your even more cuter ways !! ya ? so lets keep fingers crossed !!

    • unsungpsalm July 3, 2009 at 5:59 pm #

      Oh, I’ll do that! Only just discovered that option!

      Sweets, I’ll stop attending these parties in 2 weeks (when I go back to my college town)… and no scope of finding anyone special over there 😦

      As for the song, I have NO idea what that is, sorry! Never heard it!

      • BlueMist July 3, 2009 at 6:33 pm #

        here you go

        and thanks for having threading on.
        oh I had a feeling you are done with college thing 😛

        • unsungpsalm July 3, 2009 at 6:44 pm #

          Ohhhh! Pyar Toh Hona Hi Thha! I know this song! Eeps 😛

          Nope, 6 more months in college!

  9. DewdropDream July 3, 2009 at 9:02 pm #

    Oye, who said your search ends because you go back to college in two weeks? There’s life after college too! You’re bound to be gushing about Mr.Right sooner or later 😉

    • unsungpsalm July 3, 2009 at 9:39 pm #

      Ohh, search ends for the time being, I meant to say.

      Though I actually think I’ve stopped searching altogether. I don’t expect to find undying love, I don’t want random sex. All I want is good friendships and good company to go to a club once a week and dance away. That’s not asking for too much, I guess, and leaves no room for disappointment.

  10. DewdropDream July 3, 2009 at 9:50 pm #

    While I appreciate that practical attitude I think you’re rather too young to be adopting it 🙂 Not that it’s in my place to say so… just, someone so young, outgoing, nice and entertaining ought to live more… hopefully? Hope like you’ve never been disappointed!

    • unsungpsalm July 4, 2009 at 2:14 am #

      Too young?
      Age, I’ve come to learn, is just a state of mind.

      I was hopeful, very hopeful. Then constant let-downs sort of wore it away, and I just find it easier this way, now…

  11. Karan July 3, 2009 at 11:43 pm #

    No numbers exchanged with the stranger ? 🙂
    feels like a typical movie scene!

    • unsungpsalm July 4, 2009 at 2:15 am #

      Doesn’t it? I thought so myself!

      And no, people don’t randomly exchange numbers. He wasn’t gay or anything, and we were essentially just giving each other company!

  12. Trip.thong July 4, 2009 at 1:37 pm #

    you gotta tell me abt that prominent person. Heck, Why am I not a prominent personality?

    • unsungpsalm July 4, 2009 at 3:20 pm #

      Well, if you’re part of the gay scene in Delhi (and I don’t mean just parties… activism, movie screenings and the sort) you’d know him.
      Why are you not a prominent personality? I don’t know whether you are or not. So that question is for you yourself to answer. Unless it was rhetoric, that the “?” suggests was not the case.

  13. Nairobi July 4, 2009 at 10:32 pm #

    Hi there…
    Well what happened next…didya meet up again? All mushy mushy eh?
    U can continue this one for all of us….

    http://songofsea.wordpress.com/2009/06/29/more-of-you/

Leave a Reply

