The Dead Crow Scare

27 Jun

Speaking of being easily terrified, a few weeks back before I started working, I would arise at 9 a.m. and sit and have tea on the balcony with the folks. Sometimes dad would leave while mom and I were still reading the paper on the balcony.

On one of those mornings, dad was about to head of to work. He picked up some papers to carry with him that mom and I hadn’t read till then, so he said that he’d fish through them over breakfast and return them to us before leaving.

So mom and I were still on the balcony. I had a cup of tea on one hand, my legs were up on another chair and my head was bent over one of the magazine sections. Suddenly out of the corner of my eye, I noticed a shadow of a black bird, what looked like a crow, fly right over the railing of our first floor balcony. Miliseconds later, it landed on my legs.
Needless to say, I absolutely screamed at the very thought of a dead crow having landed right on me! The cry sounded like a very panicky “Aaaarrrgghhh!! Fuck, FUCK, FUCK!”

I looked up and it was only a bundle of newspapers, tied together. To my right, mom feigned an initial expression of surprise and then started hollering with laughter, uncontrollable laughter. I looked over the balcony and dad was looking up, extremely concerned at my cry for help, wondering if he’d broken something or someone with the newspapers he’d chucked up from the Verandah, without any warning whatsoever.

Mom kept laughing for quite some time.

3 Responses to “The Dead Crow Scare”

  1. Nikita June 28, 2009 at 7:53 am #

    haha… that was cute 🙂

  2. BlueMist June 28, 2009 at 1:11 pm #

    Scary !! I am scared of crows. I would have had fast racing heartbeat along with if I were you !!

  3. unsungpsalm June 28, 2009 at 1:17 pm #

    It WAS racing! A total shock. I really did scream out quite loud, I did…

Leave a Reply

