Saddi Dilli, Unka London

26 Jun
I had an extremely long  day today. Should write about it now, lest I forget later!
1. MJ
So it started with someone mentioning that Michael Jackson had died. We had no source to confirm it at the moment, and thought it was a joke and forgot about it. Came home later and discovered it was true. Am extremely shocked. Not really a fan, nor did he ever occupy any place in my life, but he’s had a long, awe-inspiring life and his death is quite a shock. May his soul rest in peace…
So where did I spend the entire day? Travelling Delhi! Tanuja is visiting Delhi, with some other friends, and they decided to take a guided tour of the city. So I hopped on with them onto a Delhi Tourism tour, which took us to Red Fort, Gandhi Smriti,  Qutab Minar, some random temple, the Lotus (Bahai) temple and Humayun’s Tomb. It was 7 of us in all, partly accompanied by this cute Irish fellow. I wanted to flirt endlessly with him, but he wasn’t really a vision of perfection. Lots of warts on his neck (yuck!) and quite a belly! But still, he was cute… Oh damn!
Anyway, the third item on our tour was a father-son duo from Florida. The dad was really old, the son was 16 and kept frowning at the father. VERY Cute kid… but then, just a kid!
I’m sure we left the kid slightly fascinated. He wouldn’t have expected a crowd so… well, urban. He seemed to be heavily under the opinion that we liked aping the west, in terms of dressing, etc. I told him it wasn’t a 100% true, but partly so, only for the sake of comfort. We also secretly bought him “Bhaang” drops. He asked us where he’d get them (had it written on a piece of paper). He wanted to get really high in his hotel room, and had to do it discreetly, thanks to Daddy dear being with him all the time. Extremely strange situation! Anyway, we found some in a Pan store near CP and picked them up for him. He was pleased!
His dad was quite annoying. A cynical man who spent a LOT of money buying silly tour books, and arguing that everything everyone else said was wrong!
The fourth and most entertaining part of the group was the guide. When she initially started speaking into the mic, I couldn’t understand what she was saying. And a lot of that, even after. “Tample” (Temple), “Kooch” (Coach), “Naxt” (next)… the list is endless. We were all making a LOT of fun about her accent. The Irish dude was very amused!
Anyway, the bus took us all over, we clicked a LOT of snaps (OMG!) It was scorching hot, and we must’ve bought like a million water bottles, cokes etc.
Delhi is a BEAUTIFUL city, especially Lutyen’s Delhi. The monuments are gorgeous! Qutab Minar was fascinating! The difference in entry fee for Indians and Foreigners is insane (Rs. 10 vs. Rs. 250) even though it isn’t so much in their currency ($5). At the last venue, the old man didn’t even step inside because he was tired of paying that entry, knowing that us Indians were paying only 10 bucks. Unfortunately, I found Humayun’s the most well maintained of them all!
Oh, and I’d specially bought dark glasses yesterday for today’s tour, so wearing them felt awesome! Dad took a snap of me when I was leaving because I was looking so… I forget the word 😦 I think he meant to imply “Flamboyant” (though not the gay stereotype kind).
Oh, and Gandhi Smriti is absolutely AMAZING! The place is flooded with employees and guides who are extremely sweet and helpful.
The ground was scorchingly hot. We literally burnt the soles of our feet at Bahai temple. Oh, and sitting in the Bahai too is a fabulous experience. So peaceful! I should want to go by myself some time, sit there in the peace and tranquility and listen to the sounds of the birds.
Oh, and Iranian people have an amazingly cute accent 😀
Okay, so that’s as much as I can remember. As and when I recall more details (which is when I start looking at the snaps once I get my hands on them) I’ll be able to recollect more.
Awesome day, awesome people, awesome city, awesome experience!
In more news, this uncle of mine and his family, that my dad worked with until he got tired of his work ethic, are going on a one-month tour of England. Their company is in tremendous amount of debt, and the thought is dismal. Yet they manage to find a way to afford a lavish lifestyle. I cannot find a reasonable explanation. My dad works more and better, allegedly makes more money and we live dull and unsatisfying lives. It’s the exact opposite for them.
Either way, I’m letting go of this constant desire to go abroad. If this part of you keeps yearning endlessly for something and you just don’t have the means of catering to those needs, you just have to kill that part of you to avoid being hurt over and over again.
Anyway, cheers!

I had an extremely long  day today. Should write about it now, lest I forget later!

So it started with someone mentioning that Michael Jackson had died. We had no source to confirm it at the moment, and thought it was a joke and forgot about it. Came home later and discovered it was true. Am extremely shocked. Not really a fan, nor did he ever occupy any place in my life, but he’s had a long, awe-inspiring life and his death is quite a shock. May his soul rest in peace…

So where did I spend the entire day? Travelling Delhi! Tanuja is visiting Delhi, with some other friends, and they decided to take a guided tour of the city. So I hopped on with them onto a Delhi Tourism tour, which took us to Red Fort, Gandhi Smriti,  Qutab Minar, some random temple, the Lotus (Bahai) temple and Humayun’s Tomb. It was 7 of us in all, partly accompanied by this cute Irish fellow. I wanted to flirt endlessly with him, but he wasn’t really a vision of perfection. Lots of warts on his neck (yuck!) and quite a belly! But still, he was cute… Oh damn!

Anyway, the third item on our tour was a father-son duo from Florida. The dad was really old, the son was 16 and kept frowning at the father. VERY Cute kid… but then, just a kid!

I’m sure we left the kid slightly fascinated. He wouldn’t have expected a crowd so… well, urban. He seemed to be heavily under the opinion that we liked aping the west, in terms of dressing, etc. I told him it wasn’t a 100% true, but partly so, only for the sake of comfort. We also secretly bought him “Bhaang” drops. He asked us where he’d get them (had it written on a piece of paper). He wanted to get really high in his hotel room, and had to do it discreetly, thanks to Daddy dear being with him all the time. Extremely strange situation! Anyway, we found some in a Pan store near CP and picked them up for him. He was pleased!

His dad was quite annoying. A cynical man who spent a LOT of money buying silly tour books, and arguing that everything everyone else said was wrong!

The fourth and most entertaining part of the group was the guide. When she initially started speaking into the mic, I couldn’t understand what she was saying. And a lot of that, even after. “Tample” (Temple), “Kooch” (Coach), “Naxt” (next)… the list is endless. We were all making a LOT of fun about her accent. The Irish dude was very amused!

Anyway, the bus took us all over, we clicked a LOT of snaps (OMG!) It was scorching hot, and we must’ve bought like a million water bottles, cokes etc.

Delhi is a BEAUTIFUL city, especially Lutyen’s Delhi. The monuments are gorgeous! Qutab Minar was fascinating! The difference in entry fee for Indians and Foreigners is insane (Rs. 10 vs. Rs. 250) even though it isn’t so much in their currency ($5). At the last venue, the old man didn’t even step inside because he was tired of paying that entry, knowing that us Indians were paying only 10 bucks. Unfortunately, I found Humayun’s the most well maintained of them all!

Oh, and I’d specially bought dark glasses yesterday for today’s tour, so wearing them felt awesome! Dad took a snap of me when I was leaving because I was looking so… I forget the word 😦 I think he meant to imply “Flamboyant” (though not the gay stereotype kind).

Oh, and Gandhi Smriti is absolutely AMAZING! The place is flooded with employees and guides who are extremely sweet and helpful.

The ground was scorchingly hot. We literally burnt the soles of our feet at Bahai temple. Oh, and sitting in the Bahai too is a fabulous experience. So peaceful! I should want to go by myself some time, sit there in the peace and tranquility and listen to the sounds of the birds.

Oh, and Iranian people have an amazingly cute accent 😀

Okay, so that’s as much as I can remember. As and when I recall more details (which is when I start looking at the snaps once I get my hands on them) I’ll be able to recollect more.

Awesome day, awesome people, awesome city, awesome experience!

In more news, this uncle of mine and his family, that my dad worked with until he got tired of his work ethic, are going on a one-month tour of London and the States. Their company is in tremendous amount of debt, and the thought is dismal. Yet they manage to find a way to afford a lavish lifestyle. I cannot find a reasonable explanation. My dad works more and better, allegedly makes more money and we live dull and unsatisfying lives. It’s the exact opposite for them.

Either way, I’m letting go of this constant desire to go abroad. If this part of you keeps yearning endlessly for something and you just don’t have the means of catering to those needs, you just have to kill that part of you to avoid being hurt over and over again.

Anyway, cheers!

6 Responses to “Saddi Dilli, Unka London”

  1. v June 27, 2009 at 10:02 am #

    delhi is a kinda ancient city ,in ancient past to rule over delhi meant to rule over the whole subcontinent.i think after such an eventfull day ,u would be spending the weekend taking slunber ,and for those of us who yearn to visit delhi “Dilli door ast”, which means ‘it’s a long way to Delhi’

  2. unsungpsalm June 27, 2009 at 9:22 pm #

    Don’t worry, you have bigger ambitions ahead of you 🙂

  3. Nikita June 28, 2009 at 7:49 am #

    A Delhi Tour in this heat!! And you even survive to say that it was awesome?
    Here I find it excruciatingly difficult to venture out even for shopping. This is so unfair 😦

  4. BlueMist June 28, 2009 at 1:16 pm #

    I have never been to these Indian tourism sight seeing tours in any city. now I am wanting to give it a shot next time I am in Delhi. It would be fun.

    Last bit don’t even go on thinking on those lanes. Sometimes there is third angle to things sometimes it is kismat. Ultimately we need to concentrate on what we have and how we can excel from there. Isn’t it ?

  5. unsungpsalm June 28, 2009 at 1:22 pm #

    *Nikita
    Yep, when you’re a gang of 7, it HAS to be awesome 😀
    But our max. expenditure was on purchasing drinking water, cokes etc.
    As for shopping, go to the malls, duh!

    *BM
    Oh, it certainly is! Put on your tourist hat and hop onto an a/c bus!
    Yep, we have to concentrate on what we have. I only just get by, doing that, unfortunately. Don’t have enough discipline to tap my full potential, ever!

  6. Steven June 29, 2009 at 5:02 pm #

    I’d like to visit the Lotus Temple myself some day. A place I have been to I’d suggest for your attention would be the Baha’i Gardens on Mt. Carmel.

Leave a Reply

