Coming of Age

20 Jun

Six hours ago, I got out of the shower and picked my attire for the evening. Then I spent roughly half an hour struggling with my lenses, brushing off my mother’s “I knew you wouldn’t be able to wear them” taunts, and finally got them in place. The first victory!

Then I got into a car, at 10 p.m. and drove alone halfway across town. To my very first gay party.
The first person I saw was, ironically, an acquaintence of an acquaintence. The second, third were cross-dressers. Most others were lesbians. This city has SO MANY LESBIANS! I mean, it’s so cool, to see them so liberated!

Most of the guys were extremely camp! Oh my god, so camp! Made me feel so very, very masculine, like wow! What’s the point of screaming at directors for “stereotyping” characters that very well fit into the stereotype?

The music was good, drinking was limited since I was driving, the room started out empty and got ridiculously crowded. The room was extremely hot. And present over there was an acquaintence from school, who was extremely obvious back in the day. Don’t know if he recognised me, but if he did, my secrecy is under serious threat! If one person from school gets to know, ALL persons from school get to know!
So there!

Anyway, returned at 2 am. Locked up the house, took off my contacts with far less effort as yesterday. It seems one simply has to get used to touching one’s eye with a finger.

Returning to the party, it was an interesting experience, one that I might repeat… But the crowdswould certainly catch attention wherever they went!

Anyway, got a busy day ahead. Later then, Ciao!

11 Responses to “Coming of Age”

  1. Rambunctious WhipperSnapper June 20, 2009 at 3:57 am #

    There was a GAY party?

    In Delhi??????

    Busy day = You hooked up??

    I don’t want to say this, but you’re one lucky son of a gun.

  2. unsungpsalm June 20, 2009 at 11:00 am #

    There are several gay parties in Delhi every week. Why am I a lucky son-of-a-gun?

    Didn’t hook up. Going for a(nother) cultural event…

  3. Meira June 20, 2009 at 12:09 pm #

    Gay parties!!!Delhi is oh so improving!

  4. v June 20, 2009 at 12:12 pm #

    hey unsung it was gr8 u went to ur first gay party but i did not find much description of what happended and what u did whom u met looking at the time u posted this blog 3 am u must be tired as such or are u keeping a SECRET lol have a gr8 weekend and enjoy

  5. unsungpsalm June 20, 2009 at 3:04 pm #

    *Meira
    They’ve been around for years, ma’am! What homophobic world are you living in!!

    *V
    Hehe! Did nothing exciting. It was just a very relaxed environment because one didn’t need to hide, pretend etc. etc. Something I’d want to do every week, this!

  6. aparna June 21, 2009 at 12:10 am #

    First time here and I am so very clueless. Parties have a sexual preference? I hope you enjoyed yourself. Gay bi or straight. the idea is to chill and be happy.

  7. unsungpsalm June 21, 2009 at 12:13 am #

    Hey Aparna, and welcome!
    It was a party organised primarily for the LGBT community of Delhi. There are about 2-3 every week.

    Point is for gay couples to come together, and be able to dance without inviting stares and glares. Ergo, being the majority, and not the minority.

    And music selection to suit the gay community 🙂

  8. TLOB June 21, 2009 at 11:47 am #

    10 PM is so not the time to arrive at a party…It never starts, in real sense, before 12.

    khair, what’s important that you went there and enjoyed yourself. And what’s this thing with schoolwallah..won’t he have the same fear? There is a tacit understanding – kinda secret society-don’t tell anyone!

    So, finally, who did you meet? any leads to follow?

  9. unsungpsalm June 21, 2009 at 12:06 pm #

    *TLOB
    Arre, he’s very “obvious”. Everyone always knew about him. People must’ve suspected me, but not known for sure. He could end up telling his closest friends, who’d spread it, etc etc.
    I reached at 10.30-10.40! But if I left home at 11.30… well, I wouldn’t be allowed to leave only!

    Didn’t meet anyone, as such. No leads to follow 🙂

  10. Nikita June 21, 2009 at 9:10 pm #

    wow ….your first gay Party!! Nice 🙂

  11. Meira June 23, 2009 at 10:00 am #

    Hmm..pretty outdated me , then 😦

Leave a Reply

