A little bit o’ culture

14 Jun

So Daksh, acquaintance from school who discovered me on this blog by spitefully tallying the contents of this space and my facebook account, came to town last week. We met up earlier this week in CP, where he took me to an art gallery. No, I’m not into art and I’ve never been to one before. Apparently, he studied art in college, and now calls it “a lot of pretentious hogwash that proves resoundingly costly to some people”. We spent a decent amount of time there, “analysing” the art. It was quite fun, a rare experience. For a moment, I tried imagining what would happen if I planted any of my heterosexual friends before the artwork and asked them to interpret it. It made me feel rather good about myself!

Day before, I was glancing through the paper and was delighted to see that this play was being staged on 2 consecutive days, near CP. It had been put up before, in Gurgaon last year, and it was far too far away for me to drive by myself, back then.
I was tremendously excited, and it was a free screening, so I didn’t have to make trips beforehand to pick up tickets. I immediately called up Daksh, and asked him to join me for it.
I was randomly googling the play when I came across a write-up about the show, that stated that entry was by passes. This caught me unaware, and I rang up the centre, which informed me that entry was indeed confined to pass-bearers, which were (the passes) exhausted. This left me terribly disappointed. Having noticed the director’s email ID in one of the googled web-pages, I emailed him about my disappointment at not managing to be able to catch a show, asking him if he was planning to stage it again sometime.

Unbelieveably, the same night, he wrote back saying he could hand me some passes, 2 hours before the show, and gave me his number, asking me to text him when I got there to pick them up!
Which I did. Would you believe it? The man himself came out to give them to me! How very astonishingly sweet of him! He was quite harried so close to show time (I cannot imagine why he simply didn’t send someone else with them) so we didn’t speak long.

So there I was, outside the venue at sharp showtime. Once Daksh and I had entered, we were appalled to discover that we were in fact being seated before a Television screen. We discovered that we’d arrived too late (exactly at showtime!) and the theatre was full.
So we saw the first half of the play on a virtual projection. Which was extremely disappointing because it completely destroyed the fun of watching theatre; and one of the actors was so cute, the only appropriate way to watch him on stage was in flesh and blood.

Daksh and I were strategically located very near to the entry into the auditorium. Halfway through the play, we saw some folks coming out, sensed the opportunity, and darted towards the door. The theatre was extremely small, so it wasn’t surprising that it was full. They gave out twice as many passes as they had chairs! So we made do with sitting on the aisle, which already had a few people occupying it. But hell, we got to see the real thing, and golly was it different! Oh, the SA (the humongously cute actor) looked so much nicer in person πŸ˜›

On a whole, I went with very high expectations, so the play was mildly disappointing. But only very mildly. The jokes were initally quite corny, but I guess the play had been dumbed down for a mostly heterosexual audience. There were amazing moments that made me laugh out very loud (so loudly that once, it made a few heads turn back at me) and I really, really wished I could’ve also acted in that production. It was right up my alley!

I came home after the play and began googling all I could about SA. Having come across his Facebook profile, I was totally tempted to message him telling him how much I enjoyed watching him on stage (because of his acting, guys!), but Daksh convinced me not to. While I argued that it wasn’t as much flirtatious as a general compliment, he argued correctly that if I indeed messaged him via facebook, it would amount to stalking. Well argued, Daksh!

So I refrained from messaging him. I just hope he’s actually gay, and I meet him somewhere, at some point in my life (but within the next 1 month). But I guess I shouldn’t be very hopeful. I suppose he’ll be forgotten in time as well, like most other infatuations. Remember a certain French Conquest I attempted and lost, and forgot all about until this very moment?

16 Responses to “A little bit o’ culture”

  1. Pesto Sauce June 14, 2009 at 8:28 pm #

    Well I have heard lot about pays in Delhi….Kamini auditorium, Mandi house, Habitat Center

  2. unsungpsalm June 14, 2009 at 8:38 pm #

    Yep, they’re quite awesome! Delhi’s a nice place for theatre…

  3. Rani June 15, 2009 at 11:04 am #

    sweet of the Director to come and hand u the tickets…
    I like sweet guys πŸ™‚

  4. meira June 15, 2009 at 11:36 am #

    wow ! people go out of their ways to please ya …you lucky you:D

  5. Saima June 15, 2009 at 12:31 pm #

    Thats really sweet of the director!! πŸ™‚ Ohh.. I have been wanting to watch a nice play since ages!! It just doesnt happen 😦
    Next time you get to know of something..LET ME ALSO KNOW!! πŸ™‚

  6. Just call me 'A' June 15, 2009 at 1:18 pm #

    I love watching plays. I find it more entertaining than movies. btw, I don’t think it would be stalking if you message the guy on facebook to tell him you like the play and his acting.
    It’s only amounts to stalking if you continuously message him or follow his wheraabouts. Continuously is the key here. Everyone likes being appreciated for their work…and I’m sure he’ll like it too….although he might not message back to tell you….but who know πŸ™‚

  7. Only my rants June 15, 2009 at 1:21 pm #

    Wow.. that reminds me .. need to book tickets for my favorite play! I’m sure no director wud come himelf to give me the passes.. πŸ™‚

  8. unsungpsalm June 15, 2009 at 11:25 pm #

    *Rani
    I like sweet guys too πŸ˜›
    But I prefer naughty guys :-*

    *Meira
    I wish they’d do so in more ways than just giving me free passes. Like TAKING me for a play… And then an exquisite dinner… And a walk in the moonlight… Sigh!

    *Saima
    Ohh, sorry! Didn’t know. How about tomorrow and day after (Tuesday & Wed) at IHC. Called ‘The complete works of William Shakespeare! Very funny, apparently!
    Either HT or TOI print a supplement called “What’s Hot!” every friday. It’ll tell you all you need to know πŸ™‚

    *OMR
    They usually don’t do these sorta things. This particular director was something special! (And so was I :P)
    Which play??

  9. TLOB June 16, 2009 at 2:04 pm #

    you shd have told me..I was there for Saturday’s show…and I know the SA personally..ping me πŸ˜‰

  10. unsungpsalm June 16, 2009 at 8:29 pm #

    Hum 😦
    Everyone else knows all the right people, and I know none 😦

    * Just ‘A’
    I passed on my compliments to him through our friend TLOB, here… Hope he obliges πŸ™‚

  11. Saima June 16, 2009 at 9:21 pm #

    Dude..what time??!! And how do i get the passes??? Are there any plays over the weekend??

  12. unsungpsalm June 16, 2009 at 9:49 pm #

    Emailing you…

  13. Rambunctious WhipperSnapper June 19, 2009 at 12:59 am #

    So did you tell SA you love him?

  14. unsungpsalm June 19, 2009 at 3:27 am #

    Nope. And I don’t love him anymore, thanks to TLOB!

  15. Rambunctious WhipperSnapper June 20, 2009 at 3:58 am #

    Why? You really are fickle in love, arentcha?

  16. unsungpsalm June 20, 2009 at 11:00 am #

    Naw, I just fall into love far too easily! Why ever would you say something like that!!!

Leave a Reply

