Compliments, this late in the evening…

7 Jun

So mom, dad and I were sitting at an old Chinese favourite, that I used to visit when I was young. Except that this time, I’m all grown up and ordered myself a Long Island Ice Tea, that Nikita has been raving about. It wasn’t very strong, I’m afraid. Dad was a bit taken aback when he saw the description. He actually ushered the waiter and asked him if all the alcohols mentioned on the Menu were options that one had to select one out of. I was polite and didn’t snap at him in annoyance and embarrassment. Afterall, I was asking him to order a drink for his son that contained 4 alcohols!
The drink wasn’t very potent, unfortunately. Didn’t make any difference to me at all.

 

Most of the evening, mom and I were chatting. Dad seemed very occupied with his phone.  I ensured that we were loud enough that he could hear us and participate, since we were basically gossiping about the family and such, but he didn’t seem interested to.

 

Coming to the bit about Compliments, these three ladies, probably in their late 40s were sitting on the table opposite ours, absored in their conversation. We hardly noticed them or anything. But just as they were leaving, one of them came up to Maa and said, “I’m sorry but I just wanted to say that you have a lovely face…”

I didn’t think I heard her right! Mom was returning from a day of arduous work of renovation, and had taken a quick shower before coming. Basic make-up, ordinary clothes!

Naturally, that started her off on the other occasions that she’d received similar compliments, but they were at weddings, when she was in all her finery. Or at a party in which she was carrying off an ankle-length (I guess) skirt (Yes, the age of 48, god bless her! I don’t think she’ll manage much longer though!)
But today was absolutely unexpected!

 I’m sure she was gushing within. She’s obviously not going to forget this anytime soon…

 

… So now I know where I get it from.

13 Responses to “Compliments, this late in the evening…”

  1. BlueMist June 7, 2009 at 1:29 am #

    Whatta evening …chilling with coolest mom !! :envy:

  2. Firebolt June 7, 2009 at 2:09 am #

    You can now expect that when you’re middle-aged and balding and sitting in a restaurant, hot guys seated nearby might come up and compliment you similarly.

  3. D June 7, 2009 at 4:16 am #

    Lol @ Firebolt

    Aging gracefully is the best gift of good genes.

  4. unsungpsalm June 7, 2009 at 10:48 am #

    *BlueMist
    🙂

    *Firebolt
    Haw! I will not bald when middle-aged. I will invest all my wealth (at that time) into retaining my hair, but I will NOT bald!
    But yes, I hope people will come up and compliment me 🙂

    *D
    Yes well, one does have to use some natural home-remedies for skin-care to age “gracefully”… 😉

  5. Rakesh June 7, 2009 at 10:06 pm #

    Most times, bald/shaved is way better than a bad hair implant. And it usually is bad.

    They may have made the LIIT mild, since your dad asked them about the 4 types of alcohol in it. A well made LIIT is quite potent.

  6. unsungpsalm June 7, 2009 at 11:41 pm #

    Maybe I’m turning into a total drunkard 😛 A single drink just makes no difference anymore…
    Bald/Shaved? Hmm, I completely know where that’s coming from. Unfortunately, my facial features aren’t good enough to compensate for the loss of hair, natural or implant…

  7. Meira June 8, 2009 at 11:09 am #

    Ha.
    Oh comon. Bald is cool. You don’t think Bruce Willis and Andre Agassi are hot?

  8. unsungpsalm June 8, 2009 at 11:29 am #

    Positively not.

    But guysssss! I’m not Bald yet! I’m talking about many years hence!

  9. Saima June 8, 2009 at 11:42 am #

    I am sure your mum would have been on cloud 9!! 😀

  10. Just call me A June 8, 2009 at 1:39 pm #

    hello hello…it’s been a while since I came by. I see the layout is different and I like it a lot.
    you’re back at home for a vacation?

  11. Swats June 10, 2009 at 12:37 pm #

    I compliment strangers wen they genuienly deserve it..

    It’s amazing wen a stranger walks up to u and compliments u 🙂

    ur mom must b really happy 😛

  12. Nikita June 21, 2009 at 8:20 pm #

    wow… I made another person try my fav drink, and one whom I have never even met! 😀
    Sorry to know that they didn’t mix your LIIT well. Like Rakesh said, a well made LIIT is quite potent. Try it at Pebble Street in New Frends’ sometime. They used to mix perfecto LIIT a year-or-so back when I last visited. 🙂

  13. unsungpsalm June 21, 2009 at 9:48 pm #

    Haha, okay! Will do that. Or maybe TGIF, if I can…

Leave a Reply

