Myths, Fables, Mystery

3 Jun

I’ve always had an extreme fascination for mysteries. No, not the murderous kind, but historical ones. My failing memory that several of you must be familiar with, fails to retain which all I’ve come across in my lifetime, but some of the salient ones will never leave my thoughts.

 

I’d read in the paper the other day about the discovery of a fossil that resembles the Loch Ness Monster. The article immediately attracted my attention, given my fascination with legends and legendary characters. I’d never really heard of the creature, per se, but on reading that its existence was debated, it immediately caught my fascination. So much so that I googled it today, and subsequently you-tubed it. Unfortunately, I didn’t find much material on it, and not as many videos as I hoped to. It brought back memories, though, of the Giant Squid fascination I’d had for a while some months back after reading about it in the paper. Shockingly little recordings exist of that creature, and practically none of a living specimen, which surprises me in the present times.

As I write this, other past fascinations come to mind. For example, there’s the undying story of the Titanic. It all started, of course, with the release of the film. What followed was a spate of documentaries pertaining to the discovery of the wreckage. Some of them would be screened as late as 11 pm at night, and young as I was then, I had to fight with Mom to allow her to let me watch it.
It feels so strange to be affected so deeply by the whole incident. I feel nostalgic when I watch footage of the ship wreck, the grand staircase, the fireplace mantles, cutlery and so on. I feel saddened by the thought of the remains of the ship, so much of it intact, lying at the bottom of the sea, slowly disintegrating with every passing year. I feel cheated by technological advancement, for its inability be able to salvage the remains and raise what’s left of it, so that it can be protected forever. Then again, I also feel angered by the “moral” fools who wouldn’t want the Titanic touched because they consider it a gravesite. What good is a gravesite if it’ll crumble away in 50 years or so?

From clips of the Loch Ness monster, I moved on to UFO sightings. Finding nothing fascinating, I resisted the temptation of googling ghost videos (not advisable for me after dark) and instead googled videos relating to the Last Grand Duchess, Anastasia Romanov, who I was first introduced to through a book I’d read around the time I was 14. I was terribly fascinated with her story as well, and would follow it passionately in the years to come. I was taken aback on learning today, and a bit disappointed to know, that Anastasia’s remains were discovered only last year (and I’m surprised it escaped my notice). All the mysteries surrounding her alleged escape from death back in 1918 were put to rest, and the poor girl, it seems, had been brutally  murdered with family over 90 years ago.

If there was no mystery left in life, I’d hardly find reason to live…

7 Responses to “Myths, Fables, Mystery”

  1. v June 4, 2009 at 10:13 am #

    unsung this template of urs is perfect,and speaking of mystries i think there are many stories out there if we look in with a “NORMAL” view they ought not to happen but they have happended and have baffled many of us i had seen a documentary on loch ness in the past few months i would try to find the name in which a guy really died in the lake while diving with a whole team of researchers he was part of the grp and it was captured on video/////

  2. Rohit June 4, 2009 at 5:26 pm #

    so true unsung..mysteries always fascinate..and especially
    those which we hear at a younger age..those tend to
    get imbibed in our memories for long..I remember
    I was really fascinated when I first heard about the bermuda triangle ..and it continues..

  3. Trip.thong June 5, 2009 at 12:11 am #

    that’s time well spent..what happened to ur gym plans?

  4. unsungpsalm June 5, 2009 at 9:49 am #

    *V
    Oh geez, that sounds… horrific!
    I pity the poor diver 😦

    *Rohit
    Oh, look what you’ve done now! Got me hooked on to another one 🙂

    *Trip.thong
    Those plans await some info on how my days will be cut out once I start my internship 😦
    You’re new around here? 🙂

  5. Dark Knight June 5, 2009 at 4:52 pm #

    Ohh i get fascinated by history… I wonder “did things happen the way it’s presented…how the looser felt…their emotions and their plots… ahh…hehe

    And of course, i am fascinated by other mysteries as well… 😛

  6. TanyaK July 2, 2009 at 3:04 pm #

    Hmmm, that was interesting. Looks like somethings will always remain mystery.

    I myself has been trying to solve the mystery of the legend that forces you to have “earn it before

    having it”, for a wile now. Could not understand much though.

    Let me know in case you get to understand the mystery of the Old Hound and the Legend

    By the way, good writing style. I’d love to read more on similar topics

  7. Jahanavi July 7, 2009 at 10:22 am #

    Man, I followed that dark truth link, and was completely in the story. Damn exciting. The latest post talks about a friend of him who’s gone missing . Somewhere on his way to Leh, India. And the guy is asking for help find it. Soundss like an online game . This looks interesting. M already hooked on.

    Hey, btw, nice post you have there – keep rocking – 😉

Leave a Reply

