A Smoke For An Eye

29 May

So it takes my mother under 48 hours of my arrival here to drive me up the wall.
Today, some money had to be taken across to Dad’s workplace. Normally, his employee, along with the driver would’ve completed the task. Since it was a large sum of money, she said she would’ve felt better if I went along. Not that if I hadn’t been around, the work wouldn’t get done. It would, and by the very people who I went along with, who knew what work was to be done while I was clueless. But since I was sitting idle at home, my second day of vacation, mind you, she thought I should go along.

So thus, I had to spend 5 hours out in the scorching sun, driving to different parts of the city, chaperoning two men whose company isn’t worth writing home about, while they did their work.

Mom and I were supposed to drop by an aunt’s house for evening tea. I was supposed to complete my work and join her elsewhere, from where we’d head to the aunt’s. I thought i’d get my own back by giving it a miss and heading home directly, knowing it would annoy her. Foolishly, I let slip my intentions to her beforehand.
As I was heading home, I got a call from my aunt to confirm that I was coming over. The network was rather weak and the call kept dropping, but she kept calling back, till she knew for sure that I’d attend. Naturally, I couldn’t say No, so here I am silently making my way to her house with Mom. Not talking to her, or listening to anything she has to say.

Which means that my retribution is still awaited.
I’m considering smoking in front of her. As far as she knows, I don’t smoke. And I hardly do, actually. Not frequently enough for her to need to know that I do. But I suppose I’ll let her know anyway. If she questions me on my smoking habits, I’ll tell her that I only do it when someone gets on my nerves. Maybe she’ll think twice next time, before playing games with me.
Will let you know how it goes.

15 Responses to “A Smoke For An Eye”

  1. Rakesh May 29, 2009 at 7:35 pm #

    Haha … and you’re 21?

  2. Rohit May 29, 2009 at 9:30 pm #

    and whoever said men are no so good when it comes to multitasking? πŸ˜‰

    nice blog..infact went through most of your posts in the first page ..made delightful reading.. adding you to blogroll..

  3. unsungpsalm May 29, 2009 at 10:37 pm #

    *Rakesh
    Hmph. Whose side are you on?

    *Rohit
    Thanks, bro. Shall add you to my blogroll too. Though I wish you’d post more often. Once a month is grossly insufficient!

  4. Rakesh May 29, 2009 at 11:13 pm #

    I’m on your side, babe. In the long run, it will benefit you to act more mature now πŸ™‚

  5. Saima May 29, 2009 at 11:25 pm #

    ha ha ha πŸ™‚
    mummies love to dictate things to their kids, hoping against hope that they become their ‘lil ones’ again πŸ™‚ alas..their hopes are dashed when they realise what devils their ‘lil ones’ have become! Still they never lose hope πŸ™‚

    AND you shouldn’t smoke! trust me your life will become A LIVING HELL at home !!!

  6. unsungpsalm May 30, 2009 at 9:18 am #

    *Rakesh
    Well, everything that I want is supposedly to yield results in the “long run”, no? Finding love, traveling abroad, and now retaliation at my mother’s antics?
    A person runs out of patience, y’know… Especially a person like me!

    *Saima
    Naw, I didn’t. Well, not in front of her. Eventually, my temper cooled off, and I wasn’t as livid as to go ahead with it. But I’m still giving her the cold shoulder nonetheless.
    Again, it took her bloody 2 days to get on my nerves… 2 DAYS!

  7. v May 30, 2009 at 2:32 pm #

    hi unsung ,
    kool ur blog turned 1 and check ur email i wanted to post it hear but felt it was tooooo long…..and i dont know if u know but http://www.4shared.com and http://www.esnips.com are good sites for free stuff books music software et al

  8. closetalk May 31, 2009 at 8:52 am #

    lol. careful. mothers are awfully tricky to fool around with! πŸ™‚

  9. Peter May 31, 2009 at 9:14 am #

    Mata-ji’s can be like that! Grin, and bear with it!

  10. Peter May 31, 2009 at 9:19 am #

    keep in mind that you haven’t been around, so she is looking to keep you gainfully occupied…

  11. unsungpsalm June 1, 2009 at 10:09 am #

    *V
    Thankie, I use esnips sometimes…

    *CT
    Mine specially is!

    *Peter
    Sigh! It’s hard to grin when it’s so friggin’ hot outside…
    Yes, that was what she thought she was doing, but it certainly wasn’t gainful occupation!

  12. Only my rants June 1, 2009 at 4:12 pm #

    hey unsung..
    I’ve been reading ur blog since many days.. n I’m in love with the way u write..
    Just started my blog today..
    Adding u to my blogroll..
    Do visit my blog whenever u get time!
    Take care

  13. unsungpsalm June 1, 2009 at 10:02 pm #

    Thank you ma’am!
    Shall add you tomorrow as well… my neck hurts from all the jobless surfing I did today, at the moment…

  14. Nikita June 21, 2009 at 7:57 pm #

    haha… funny post. You wrote that in the ‘heat’ of the moment, didn’t you? πŸ˜‰

  15. unsungpsalm June 21, 2009 at 9:41 pm #

    Absolutely did! Never implemented 😦

Leave a Reply

