Acid Tests

22 May

For the first time in my life, and hopefully the last, I’ve written 3 of 4 exams (so far) with a viral fever.
I just finished the most recent one that I sat through boiling at 101 F. While I wasn’t at much discomfort while  answering the paper, my one-and-a-half days of preparation were the most tortuous I’ve ever been through. My temperature kept bouncing between 100 and 103, I had the severest of aches in my legs, back and head and my throat is so painful, I pretty much had to avoid solid foods for 2-3 days. The one paper that required more preparation than any 2 other papers put together, was the one that I had to, so-to-say, “sacrifice”.

I doubt I’ll ever forget these exams. Most tragic circumstances, yes.

Meanwhile, I woke up at 3 a.m. in the morning yesterday with a really high temperature and a throat that was giving me a slow death. I twisted and turned for 3-4 hours or so, waiting for the signs of human life. Eventually, dawn came and I left Tanuja an SMS asking her to take me to the hospital when she was up. Once there, I was unfortunate enough to land up with the stupidest intern who pretty much had little idea about what she was doing. She forgot to examine my throat that, I mentioned to her only 8 times, was hurting so much that it wouldn’t let me eat or sleep. She didn’t know how to spell the name of the medicine she was told by the senior doctor present there, to prescribe, and didn’t hear Prajakta when the latter was correcting her in a most hilariously sarcastic tone.

Anyway, it’s been a roller coaster ride of a weekend, particularly the last 2-3 days, and the next (and last) exam isn’t till Monday. So whilst I should have the most peaceful sleep tonight, my instinct tells me I’m going to get a rather raw deal instead.

3 Responses to “Acid Tests”

  1. saima May 22, 2009 at 8:01 pm #

    Hey, first time here…
    all the best for the exams….i am soo glad i got over with them forever!! 🙂
    oppss..soorryy 🙂 i remember running a very high fever and giving an exam. Its a nightmare!! Oh and i also remember having an upset stomach and writing an exam 🙂 *grin* i had to leave the paper mid-way!! Thankfully, they were just internals !!!

  2. Swats May 22, 2009 at 11:50 pm #

    This sounds really serious..I wish u a speedy recovery..
    God bls!!

  3. unsungpsalm May 23, 2009 at 7:22 am #

    Hullo Saima, and welcome. Not really glad to know that you too had to go through the damned experience, but delighted to know that you understand what I had to endure!

    Upset stomach? Yikes! That just sounds horrible (however amusing it may be for anyone else).

    I’m linking you, of course. Will drop in sometime 🙂

    *Swatsie
    The illness itself isn’t very serious, babe, but its impact is horrific 😦
    Thanks so much! 😀

Leave a Reply

