Half Past Two

20 May

I was tucking myself into my bed, to finally fall asleep after completing more study in one evening than I can recall managing in the past 3 years. I’d popped my (noise-reduction) headphones and was all set to doze off to the sound of Fields Of Gold, when I happened to pull one out to readjust it in my ear, only to hear the sound of rainfall. Not just a soft pitter-patter, but a full-fledged thunderstorm.

I’ve been meaning to write about it for the last 2 times that it rained this summer, but never quite got down to doing it. The most recent shower happened 2 days ago, and the drastic change of weather it brought about is pretty much the reason I’m ill during my exams.
But no hard feelings.

Tonight, this thunderstorm has pretty much signalled the arrival of the monsoon here. My window is open, and the strong winds are blowing a spray right across the length of the window ledge, my table, onto my laptop and my bed. In fact, I’m constantly having to wipe my laptop, lest the water percolate into it and cause extensive damage.

Half an hour has elapsed and the rain is refusing to die down. Thunder keeps recurring, but lightning is quite constant. It’s strange though, lightning without thunder, but I’ve gotten used to strange phenomena, living here. I recall one night towards the end of my first year, when my bed used to be along the length of my window. I was woken up at around 4 in the morningby the sound of what seemed to be construction work proceeding on the floor above me. Or as if some vandalists were smashing college tables. It was the thunder of course, and it felt quite unreal. Louder and more dramatic than what one hears in the old Hindi flicks.

Thunderstorms are nearly as dear to me as winters. They also carry on them an air of melancholy. Of heartbreak, departures and tragedy. Some 3 years back, I would often listen to a couple of James Blunt tracks on rewind through the monsoon season in Delhi just before I was to begin college. Even when I play those tracks now, thoughts of thunderstorms come rushing into my mind, heart and senses. It makes me 3 notches depressed and 5 notches happier.
I wonder if I’ll ever be able to stop finding solace in thoughts of sorrow.

 

I think this is another song I’ll now be able to associate with Thunderstorms…

5 Responses to “Half Past Two”

  1. Swats May 20, 2009 at 3:18 pm #

    whts with rain and melancholy?
    heavy rain, thunder and lightning r usually associated with extreme emotions, anguish, and sadness..y is it so?

    PS: read ur previous post.. hope ure feeling better 🙂

  2. unsungpsalm May 20, 2009 at 6:13 pm #

    I’m afraid I’m worse! My throat is aching so bad, I can hardly talk… And I love to talk!!

    I suppose thunderstorms are associated with sadness because that’s what has always been portrayed in Films and Television, no? One scarcely sees thunder, lightning and song and dance.

  3. Swats May 21, 2009 at 12:17 pm #

    OMG..take care

    yeah..rain is used as a backdrop to depict sadness in films..rain songs r also used to depict sensuality

  4. unsungpsalm May 21, 2009 at 1:09 pm #

    Lol, yes. You’re right on that last bit!

  5. Meira May 21, 2009 at 1:54 pm #

    imagine living on the 7th floor when it thunders…heavenly!
    and spec? you wear specs? good…now i’l recognize you in a crowd:P

Leave a Reply

