Return to Sanctum

12 May

It was after over 4 years that I escaped again, last night. Escaped to my refuge from the world around me, all obstacles, tasks, trials and tribulations.

Through most of my childhood, I had the uncanny ability of what most would call daydreaming. Even with my eyes open, I would mentally and spiritually disappear to my sanctuary. When I was riding the bus to school in the morning, when classes were proceeding, when I was riding the bus home, while I was lying in my bed at night, waiting to fall asleep.
Amusing as this may sound to some of you, my sanctuary was a concert stage, with a large audience before me. And I would sing all my favourite songs that reflected my mood, never a positive one because I would never have to visit the sanctuary then.
But I would sing, and they would listen. I never saw my audience, but they were there. All I could see and feel was myself. On the stage. Emoting. Escaping. By singing. Not so much singing as performing… introducing each song, the original artist. And eventually introducing my own compositions too.

In the past years, I found enough happiness in life that I never needed to revisit my sanctuary. When I dreamed, I would visit other places… mostly real ones. But when I tried visiting the stage, it would all be hazy and I could never quite feel myself on it.
As I lay on my bed last night, I tried again. I was allowed in.

Not much has changed.

4 Responses to “Return to Sanctum”

  1. Blue Rain May 13, 2009 at 10:18 am #

    I have returned to my sanctum too. I have restarted blogging.

    -childwoman-

  2. unsungpsalm May 14, 2009 at 8:17 am #

    And doesn’t it feel just divine 🙂

  3. Rebel May 15, 2009 at 3:05 am #

    naya post delete maar diya?

  4. Pesto Sauce May 17, 2009 at 8:22 pm #

    Everybody likes to escape somewhere…

Leave a Reply

