The Awesome Party That Was and the almost Tragic Conclusion… Part 2

4 May

. I reached my room after a long-ish bus journey early morning. Golly, that place is far!

. I enter my hostel, unpack everything, wash all the dishes before theymake my entire room smell of marinade; bathe and settle down to sleep.

. Before I can close my eyes, a friend who had returned that morning with us, rings me up. News travels fast in the girls’ hostel. She tells me that my 3 classmates, and their friend who had joined in later (though uninvited) were in an accident.

. I head to the hospital after some time. The guys are more or less alright. Muscle pain etc. The girls aren’t doing as well. The one who’s my classmate, has 4 fractured ribs, and is flat on the bed. When I enter the room, I find her covered in a sheet below the neck. She greets me ever-so-normally, and is trying to make normal conversation. After a while, her dad rings. She talks to him, and before she can finish her call, she starts crying. Is it the pain or is it guilt? I don’t know. I keep petting her head, wishing I could hug her and make it alright.
Their friend is in bad shape at the moment. 36 hours hence, and she’s in and out of consciousness. She has a badly fractured right arm, besides, which cannot be operated upon until she’s fully conscious. We’ve all got our fingers crossed.

. Last night, when I was revisiting my friend at the hospital, I spoke to another friend on the phone who was stepping out from there. Apparently, my classmates’ friend’s father, who had come in that evening, was raging mad. He was yelling at almost anyone who came in his path, including the authorities and so on. She warned me not to mention my party in order to avoid more trouble. I didn’t enter the hospital at all.
I want to visit my friend badly, but there seems to be danger in the path! Her parents came in today, but it seems they’re very calm about the whole affair. Will visit her later this evening, then.

. Final exams for the semester are around the corner. I doubt the girls will be able to appear for many of them.

6 Responses to “The Awesome Party That Was and the almost Tragic Conclusion… Part 2”

  1. DewdropDream May 4, 2009 at 6:47 pm #

    Oh NO!!! That’s awful!!! How did the accident happen? I do hope they all recover really soon…

  2. Rakesh May 4, 2009 at 9:05 pm #

    I’m sorry this had to end in such a nasty way, but thankfully, no one is in critical condition. Sometimes, such wake up calls are helpful. Hope all of your friends recover soon, physically and emotionally.

  3. Orange May 4, 2009 at 10:17 pm #

    Oh Crap. This is just unfortunate. I hope everyone recovers soon. Yeah, how did the accident happen?

  4. unsungpsalm May 5, 2009 at 7:06 am #

    They were driving on a highway at 4.30 am. Where they were off to, god only knows.
    The rest is hazy. There was something about overtaking a truck, and truck crashing into them in the meanwhile… car turning over, them being thrown out of it, and car falling into ditch. Again, details are hazy.

  5. Nikita May 10, 2009 at 9:51 am #

    Oh! That’s terrible! I hope they have all recovered well. Tell me they have.

  6. unsungpsalm May 10, 2009 at 10:27 am #

    3 have. Another will take some time. Will write about her soon.

Leave a Reply

