Poetry, Pretence

15 Apr

So a friend just pinged me on Gtalk and asked me to help her out. She had to write a poem by tomorrow morning for an application to a college, and was suffering from Writer’s Block.

I warned her that I hadn’t written one in ages, and was probably no good any more. I have absolutely zero command on my English, at present, and thus am perpetually grappling for words whenever I’m trying to write anything, as a result of which my writing is extremely sub-standard in comparison with what it once was.

Nonetheless, she asked me to make an attempt, maybe come up with a beginning that she could carry forth.
I ceded to her request, and began working on the cues she gave me. However, I cheated a bit and used a Dictionary/Thesaurus.

I came up with 8 lines, and not only was she impressed, I was, as well. Even though I’ve lost my command on my vocabulary, at least the creativity and the thought hasn’t gone away. Unfortunately I cannot post those 8 lines here, since I did give them away to her, and they are for her application.

But maybe you guys can help me out a bit. Throw a title/theme etc. (anything at all) and I’ll try to write a few lines of poetry using it. I really want to know if I still have it in me.

15 Responses to “Poetry, Pretence”

  1. BlueMist April 15, 2009 at 12:33 am #

    I know this is your personal type of blog and all but trying out take on prompts is something nice and creative especially if you have inclination towards poetry kind of thing. There are blogs who run these weekly kind of prompts. just my two cents.

  2. unsungpsalm April 15, 2009 at 8:23 am #

    Hmmm… I take that’s encouragement? Then go ahead, throw something at me!

  3. flygye12 April 15, 2009 at 9:37 am #

    okay, let’s see. you’ll prove that you’re creative by writing on something that’s really strange to you. So write on ‘Modesty’…. πŸ˜€

  4. unsungpsalm April 15, 2009 at 10:17 am #

    You bastard! πŸ˜›
    Okay, here goes…

    Shadow, will thou be my friend?
    For I must hide, I mustn’t glint
    Shadow, in thy hearth I hide
    For ostentation I must stint

    Egostist, I shut my door
    Humility, my path afore
    Tenacity, I must epouse
    And modesty, I must adore

  5. flygye12 April 15, 2009 at 10:23 am #

    okay, now how about a poem in English?

  6. DewdropDream April 15, 2009 at 2:52 pm #

    Hahahahahhaha… FG!!!!

    USP, you’re really good at this stuff!!!

    Right, let’s see you do one on… wisdom?

  7. BlueMist April 15, 2009 at 3:03 pm #

    Yes yes total encouragement πŸ™‚
    Now that you asked for it ; how about “Food” as topic ? πŸ˜›

    LOL@FG

  8. unsungpsalm April 15, 2009 at 3:34 pm #

    *FG
    Hope this next one is closer to English!

    Wisdom
    On one night, she lay and died
    Awoke the next, and then she cried
    Took some valour, cost her pride
    All she lost, she took in stride

    Distant are her younger days,
    No more youth in her embrace
    Lost, her beauty and her grace
    Scars of Wisdom etch her face

    That’s all for a while. Will attempt Food later, though it’ll be hard!
    Tests from tomorrow and I NEED to study!

  9. DewdropDream April 15, 2009 at 10:11 pm #

    Why must she lose grace?! Wisdom enhances grace I’d’ve thought! Nice stuff though…

    but go now, scram and cram!

    Psst… must poems always rhyme? I try very hard to write ones that do not rhyme but they just won’t stop!!!

  10. unsungpsalm April 15, 2009 at 11:05 pm #

    I have the same issue. I cannot help but rhyme. Will try and resist doing so in the next one.

    Why did she lose her beauty and grace? Re-read the first line. A very, very subtle message in it. See if you can figure that out…

  11. DewdropDream April 16, 2009 at 7:40 pm #

    I’m swamped with work and at the end of the day I’m too tired for my brain to function. And it refuses to figure this out 😦 halp?

    I wasn’t complaining about rhyming btw, was more of a poet-to-poet question πŸ˜€

  12. Rambunctious WhipperSnapper April 16, 2009 at 8:34 pm #

    @DDD, Unsung: If I had been blessed with a typical Indian mindset, I would have told you guys to get a room … but since I do know better,
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    Get a room …..

    @USP: Nice work, by the by ….. you should do a long one …….

    Why does everything I say sound euphemistic? Sigh.

  13. TOTALLYrandom April 18, 2009 at 10:18 pm #

    Wisdom did something she regretted , dint she ?

  14. Nikita April 19, 2009 at 10:25 am #

    Here are few lines by WB Yeats… why don’t you add more lines to it, keeping the tone intact

    O Cloud pale eyelids
    Dream dimmed eyes
    The poets labouring all their days
    To build a perfect beauty in rhyme
    Are overthrown by a woman’s gaze

  15. unsungpsalm April 19, 2009 at 11:42 am #

    *TotallyRandom
    Yes, Wisdom did something she regretted πŸ™‚

    *Ramby
    You sick perv, as always πŸ™‚ Thanks!

    *Nikita
    OMG! Will attempt it in a while… should take some effort to understand it!

Leave a Reply

