Intrusive flatmates, Milky Slump

22 Mar

So I spent last night at my classmate’s flat. On our arrival, there was the casual introduction to his flat-mates. I’ve known one of them for over 2 years now, and we make casual talk around 2 times in six months. It scarcely gets very personal and most often, we only exchange pleasantries.

Last night was a total contrast, and conversation became a bit too personal, forcing me to endeavour to cut it short wherever possible. No, there were no references to sexuality or anything of the sort.
The gentleman, it seems, had read with tremendous interest my facebook tag containing 25 random things about me, which he informed me almost immediately upon my arrival. With that over, he proceeded to advise me to keep it shorter the next time. Initially, I attempted to explain to him that I was merely enjoying writing “after a long time” since I’d stopped blogging ages ago, and that I got slightly carried away. Soon after, I realised I had a better argument, and informed him that he was at complete liberty not to read my Facebook notes at all! And that those who spent unending amounts of time on facebook literally needed to get a life (albeit in subtle words, as he was in inebriated and I did not want to touch a nerve).

I must’ve moved off, feeling a dash counfounded with the interest he’d shown in my notes, and the issue came up again a few hours later. I mentioned something about myself, and he’d tell me that it was in my 25ers. I didn’t know it was in my 25ers.

It was just plain eerie, it was! I wasn’t flattered, only rather taken aback.

 

So today, I watched a full length film after a really really long time. It had to be Milk, and Milk it was. Upon completion of this film, I cannot hold against Sam his sentiments on being gay. I think it’s a huge obstacle that I face in my life, trying to survive in a society which just doesn’t want to let me. And it’s a shame that with this obstacle comes so many more.
I look at Harvey Milk’s life (through the film) and wonder that after all his actions and endeavours, what was in it for him? All the inspiring talks and speeches, the struggles and one million disappointments… what did he accomplish, as a reward for all his efforts, in terms of personal gains?
And I see nothing. 

 

Brilliant film though!

6 Responses to “Intrusive flatmates, Milky Slump”

  1. Dark Knight March 23, 2009 at 4:39 pm #

    That’s why don’t spell too much of info on facebook…. hehe

    hope you enjoyed 😛

  2. unsungpsalm March 23, 2009 at 9:04 pm #

    Hehe…
    Na, no regrets 🙂 I love attention 😛

  3. Rakesh March 24, 2009 at 12:19 am #

    Milk will always remain close to my heart for multiple reasons: 1) Good acting, 2) Harvey Milk’s story needs to be told 3) Eerily similar situation to Prop 8 4) It about my home town SF.

  4. unsungpsalm March 24, 2009 at 2:32 pm #

    🙂

    Really, I DO think you’re single only because you’re incapable of loving anyone more than you love SF!

  5. Rakesh March 24, 2009 at 8:27 pm #

    “Incapable” is too strong a word. I love SF, but its different than loving a person, right? 🙂

  6. unsungpsalm March 24, 2009 at 8:29 pm #

    It is.
    My comment was in jest.
    You’re completely capable of loving a person more than you love SF.
    You’re a very very warm person.
    This comment is not in jest.

Leave a Reply

