Twenty One

19 Mar

So the exams came and went, and so did the birthday.

On my birthday/exam-eve (same day!) I didn’t have a birthday cake and was only moderately beaten up etc., because our tests were to start the next day, and most people were distracted. But Hagatha couldn’t let it go unmemorable. 21 after all! Unable to physically be by my side, she spent 3 weeks putting together 21 presents for the occasion.

I won’t bother listing all 21. Some were filler presents (how much can one collect) but most were meaningful! This included a cloth to keep my Tarot cards in, because I’d mentioned in passing that mine were kept in a wooden box, when they actually should be protected with a silk cloth. She got me satin, unable to find silk.
Another was this beautiful pen-stand that was customized by her. She had 4 pictures of our friend circle printed and very artfully stuck it on the 4 sides of the stand. The final result looks fabulous. Then there was some potpourri and a candle, because I’m perpetually talking about how elegant a present they would make, and some ornamental bamboos that I’d mentioned 2 years ago, brought good luck and how I’d have loved to have some (even though I never bought any).
Then there was a small pedicure set so that I could maintain what she calls the most beautiful feet she’s seen in her lifetime (mine) and a “Pisces” mug. A Smiley key-chain and badge that I plan to use, and a metallic nail-shaped pendant on a black thread because she knows I love black threads across my neck. And an arm-band for my gym workouts.
The last one I was supposed to open was a Tie-pin to match the cuff-links she’d bought me earlier this semester as what now turns out to be a pre-birthday present.
What I liked most, I suppose, was this small notepad in which she’s scribbled 21 things that she loves about me. Even though I knew she struggle to word out 21 (which she confessed to later), she left me grasping myself. I was so flattered.

Today, another surprise was in order. My ex-roomie asked me if my birthday had passed a few days ago. I said that it had, and not that I was surprised that I didn’t wish me, but I was rather taken aback by the fact that he didn’t come to know since his room-mate (Pankaj) came and wished me, and so many of our common friends. He claimed that he’d make up for it… with, say, a birthday present. I told him I couldn’t expect that from him for many years to come, but could hope that he’d at least be aware of the day that I turned a year older!

This evening, another friend asked me for my room-mate’s phone number. I could not for my life figure out why she wanted it since they have no possible path of intersection whatsoever. Nonetheless, I asked her why she wanted it, but eventually gave it to her.

I was walking back to my hostel when I sent Jay a message. He called back and a 2-hour-long phone conversation (rather enjoyable) ensued. I stepped into my room for a short bit to give my laundry to the laundry guy, and stepped back out to privacy, without as much as looking around my room. Next, I saw my roomie’s friend entering my room. As he passed me, he said something about “fish” in my room. I entered, and this time, noticed a gigantic fish bowl on my table! There was a ribbon and a note on it, marking it as a present from Pankaj, ex-roomie, a third friend, and yet another, who was behind it all!

So now I’m the proud owner of 2 fish! They’re silver right now, and were apparently red with spots when they were purchased. Once I figure out what sexes they’re of, respectively, I’ll name them. I want one Persian name and one Christian. Suggestions are most welcome.

Anyway, a birthday extravaganza must be organised soon. I need booze, music and food. And it’s all on my shoulders, with limited venue options. I’m considering an overnight siesta with friends on a seaside resort! It could cross my budget, but that means I’ll have to seek more finances from home!

Oh well, let’s see how things work out…

21 Responses to “Twenty One”

  1. Vlad March 19, 2009 at 4:36 am #

    Oh my, I am always late when it is time to wish happy birthday – I hope you enjoyed yourself overall! Tell me, on what day it is exactly?

  2. wonker March 19, 2009 at 5:01 am #

    Interesting blog, I’ll try and spread the word.

  3. unsungpsalm March 19, 2009 at 7:15 am #

    Oh, but that’s the point. In favour of my anonymity, I didn’t want to reveal the date. Hence, the post 1-4 days after my birthday. Could’ve been any of these past few days πŸ™‚

  4. Dark Knight March 19, 2009 at 10:55 am #

    Hehe belated B’day wish from my side too πŸ˜€

    So 2 bowl of fish, what name you have given to them??? lol

  5. Nikita March 19, 2009 at 12:44 pm #

    Oh shucks!!! I had plans of dropping you a happy birthday e-mail on the very day. But i have been so busy lately that it completely escaped me 😦
    Belated birthday wishes sweetheart. **Hugs** πŸ™‚
    Christian name for male fish could be – Albert. Ah! I am still not over my ex. That’s his name 😦

  6. Vlad March 19, 2009 at 3:31 pm #

    Anonymity? Do you really think you’re the only gay boy having his birthday on that day? Come on, give is a break πŸ˜›

  7. unsungpsalm March 19, 2009 at 3:36 pm #

    *DK
    Hmm, none yet!

    *Nikita
    Ohh, then I cannot possibly use that name! What an awful thing to recommend it :@

    If I ever happen to keep a very rabid dog, I’ll name him Albert πŸ™‚

    *Vlad
    Maybe the only gay boy with a blog.

  8. Nikita March 19, 2009 at 5:06 pm #

    @unsung:
    Lolz…. hahahaha
    I like that name, isliye made the suggestion πŸ˜€
    Hey, you were right about the Hindi bug getting hold of one when one has plans of going abroad.

  9. Nikita March 19, 2009 at 5:28 pm #

    To make up for the previous suggestion, here are some Christian names you could use:
    Abel – I think it is the best Christian name ever.
    Pierre – Give a French twist to Peter. I know you have a thing for French.
    Ariel – You can give this name to your lady fish, after the famous mermaid
    Ichthus – That’s the Greek name for fish. Close connection with Christianity (pronounced Iktus)
    πŸ˜€

  10. unsungpsalm March 19, 2009 at 5:38 pm #

    Lovely πŸ˜€

    I’ll surely use one!

  11. DewdropDream March 19, 2009 at 6:40 pm #

    Twenty-one?! TWENTY-ONE???!!! I had you pegged for someone a little older… shucks!

    Belated Happy Birthday πŸ™‚

  12. unsungpsalm March 19, 2009 at 9:25 pm #

    Thank you πŸ™‚

    If I had a thousand dollars for each time someone said that… sigh!
    What is it that makes me sound so old, anyway!

  13. JH March 20, 2009 at 6:39 am #

    Hey Unsung. I was on the road and totally missed your birthday. Belated, many happy returns of the day. Have loads of fun this year and best wishes for a glorious future. Hugs. JH…

  14. unsungpsalm March 20, 2009 at 10:32 pm #

    Thank you, JH πŸ™‚

  15. DewdropDream March 22, 2009 at 2:51 am #

    Dunno! You just do…

    On the other hand, maybe it’s only me, living in denial about growing older.

  16. unsungpsalm March 22, 2009 at 3:02 am #

    Oh certainly not!

    I’m sure it’s just me πŸ™‚

  17. Rambunctious WhipperSnapper March 22, 2009 at 12:19 pm #

    You had a birthday?

    Well, happy belated birthday, then!

    And you sound more like 15 or 16 … not 21.
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    And since it’s your birthday, you can go ahead and assume that I meant that as a compliment. I won’t offer any evidence to the contrary.

    .
    .
    .

    Boy, sometimes I just astound myself with the kindness is my heart.

    Anyways, you’re 21. You can get straight-married now. Congratulations!! You can also have little unsungs. But in Delhi, you still can’t legally get wasted.

  18. unsungpsalm March 22, 2009 at 2:03 pm #

    Yes sire, thank you for your umm… best? wishes.

    Yep, I know I cannot get wasted in Delhi ATM, but I’m sure Sheila Auntry will look into that soon!
    15 or 16 you say? How very kind! But many have said so. (Not really, but I thought it’d be nice if I said that. I’m nice like that sometimes.)

    Straight-Married (Great big Punjabi wedding) and little Unsungs! Sigh, but a dream…

  19. Vlad March 22, 2009 at 3:49 pm #

    Right. “I am the only gay in the village” πŸ™‚ Hi Daffyd πŸ˜€

  20. Rambunctious WhipperSnapper March 22, 2009 at 4:09 pm #

    Way to punch a balloon ….

    .
    .
    .
    Stop stealing my catchphrases …… Or if you do, remember where to put the comma.

    You want to get straight married? Does Hagatha love you that much? .. ?

  21. unsungpsalm March 22, 2009 at 5:27 pm #

    Not to a woman, of course! But just a straight-marriage-type-marriage πŸ™‚
    Damn, it still hasn’t settled into me that it’ll never happen… πŸ˜₯ I suppose it won’t until I see my friends and cousins get married themselves…

    And I’m sure Hagatha loves me enough πŸ™‚ But I’m not asking her!

    *Vlad
    I know that’s from Little Britain, but I’m struggling to make a connection here…

Leave a Reply

