Mar jawan!

13 Mar

So I just finished flipping through scenes from Fashion, a DVD copy of which I procured last night.

I don’t know if I know of many well-hyped movies such as this, that were made sooo horribly. The acting is more or less pathetic, the dialogue delivery by everyone but the main stars gives one nightmares. Not to forget the stereotyping.

In spite of which this has to be one of my all-time favourites! What’s with gay people and glamour? Flashy clothing, Page3 personalities, beauty, sex ‘n’ drugs, sleaze and scandal. I’m so so thankful to M. Bhandarkar for giving us this disappointingly made master-piece! One that I’ll cherish for times to come.

Oh, and the title track? Well, this post’s title says it all. I think I’ll want that track to play the day I die!
(I would’ve wanted to say, “On my weeding day” but well… 😦  )

PS – Just to clarify, there’s no sarcasm in this post! I loved the film! I watched my favourite scenes three consecutive nights!

6 Responses to “Mar jawan!”

  1. Crazy Sam March 14, 2009 at 9:23 pm #

    I think when it comes to Indian movies, we have right-down opposite opinions. You liked Dostana, and I didn’t. Now you didn’t like Fashion. Hmm.. I loved Fashion (even though he wasn’t revealing anything we are unaware of) and I loved the music, especially Mar Jaawan and Aashiyaana. Well.. regarding portrayal of gays in fashion world, I think he was fair and did an honest attempt.

  2. unsungpsalm March 14, 2009 at 10:40 pm #

    No No! I LOVED Fashion!
    I just found most of the acting really horrid, but I loved the movie! There was nooo sarcasm in the post!

  3. Mumbai Diva March 14, 2009 at 11:51 pm #

    I loved that scene where kangna transforms from a neurotic, smoking wreck to this diva on stage. That one walk of hers from the green room to the ramp had me spell bound. Awesome. but yes, an ok movie. Watch Gulaal. I liked it, even though it despaired me that the ‘change’ we speak so vehemently about in the metros, has no meaning in grassroots, university ( especially in hinterland) politics.

  4. unsungpsalm March 15, 2009 at 12:06 am #

    Yep, Kangna was simply too awesome in the film! Every walk of hers was magical!

    I loved the attitude she carried even when she was sidelined from the showstopper to just another model… Wow!

  5. Dark Knight March 15, 2009 at 4:36 pm #

    haha so you watched it at last.

    Oh i had to watch this movie back to back because of my various friend circle. I got so much of headache i still can fill it 😛

  6. unsungpsalm March 15, 2009 at 5:35 pm #

    Not at last. I’d watched it in it’s first weekend of release. I just forgot how much I loved it.

    Which I rediscovered 2 nights back. And I’ve been watching it every night, ever since.

Leave a Reply

