Umm… Yeh kya ho raha hai?

4 Mar

With every passing day, as I near my target of leaving the country and rushing abroad, my comfort with the hindi is becoming increasingly better! Yesterday, a man joked in Hindi, and I laughed… genuinely! Not put on, as it always is!

I don’t have to make an effort to joke in hindi anymore, I’m comfortable interacting in hindi with people (sometimes a little too comfortable). Hagatha said it’s becoming natural!

 

LIKE OMG!

 

DO you KNOW how much hindi music there is on my iPod now? Last night, I went to sleep listening only to hindi tracks!

 

Someone save me… I’m becoming…. G!
No, not gay! You KNOW what!

Why do I feel that I’m becoming you-know-what because my hindi is becoming better? Scan my earlier posts to read about my I-am-inherently-monolingual theory. I have to rush now.

Chal, baad mein milte hain 😛

7 Responses to “Umm… Yeh kya ho raha hai?”

  1. closetalk March 5, 2009 at 2:07 am #

    lol. o, my…. DAT “g-word”! 🙂
    aaa, but no worries, being comfortable with hindi alone does not make u a “g-word” – it’s the overall attitude, and as long as ure safe with that, ure clean. 🙂

  2. unsungpsalm March 5, 2009 at 10:05 am #

    I’m developing the overall attitude too 😦
    Slow and steady…

  3. Nikita March 5, 2009 at 11:40 pm #

    haha… that seems a cute post to me… does that make me ‘G’ too?? 😀

  4. kabir March 6, 2009 at 3:10 am #

    Why is it a bad thing to be comfortable in Hindi? It doesn’t make you any less comfortable with English, right? I wish I were more comfortable with Urdu, but unfortunately I’m not (I speak it alright and understand it, but reading/writing are a different matter).

    I would take being comfortable in a language other than English as an asset rather than a negative. it’s a good skill to have. When you do get abroad, you can add it on your resume as something that differentiates you from the average IT guy (though, given so many IT people are desi, maybe comfort in Hindi is not so rare after all 🙂 )

  5. unsungpsalm March 6, 2009 at 8:45 pm #

    *Nicky
    Not at all, sweet 🙂

    *Kabir
    I’m a king-sized exception. I’m inherently mono-lingual. The more comfortable I get with one language, the less of it I do with another. My english was much better 3 years ago, than it is now. Back then, I scarcely spoke hindi!

    Urdu is really really beautiful 🙂

  6. kabir March 6, 2009 at 9:19 pm #

    hmm… inherently monolingual, I wonder why that is?

    Thanks Urdu is beautiful, but so is Hindi because they are mostly the same language. Urdu has some Arabic and Persian words while Hindi has some Sanskrit words, but most of the grammar and vocabulary are the same… So they’re both beautiful :).

    It’s actually funny on youtube when people post lata or rafi songs, people start fighting about whether they’re urdu or hindi… and one wants to say, “shut up people and just enjoy the song” 🙂

  7. unsungpsalm March 6, 2009 at 9:26 pm #

    Why am I so? I was made that way 🙂

    We all have our eccentricities, I suppose.

    True! Why cry over meagre matters… Enjoy the music, they say!

Leave a Reply

