Departures and tongue-slips

22 Feb

Right, so here I am on my way back already. My bus has a 20 percent occupancy, yet there’s someone sitting next to me. Hmmph!
I realised2 hours in town, I didn’t take the opportunity to buy a single chocolate pastry. That’s equivalent to a nomad from the Sahara (hypothetical, if they don’t really exist) visiting a city for 2 days and not drinking any water.

I don’t know when I’ll return to this city again, but I just hope it’s sooner than later. There’s just so much youth here, it’s heartwarming! And this youth communicates in english!
Hurray to the IT culture. It’s the only saviour this country can hope for.

Before I sign off, here’s a tip. While, umm, catching a cuppa coffee with someone new, initial exchanges are not a good time to lose track of what you were saying, even if you’re only complementing him on newly acquired skills. Confused? Well, for instance…

You: You’re not bad… [thoughts drift away]
Him: Mmmhmm?

You: [realising where exactly you (embarrassingly) left your sentence hanging] at driving!!
Uh, Heh!

2 Responses to “Departures and tongue-slips”

  1. Nikita February 28, 2009 at 3:34 pm #

    Wow.. good to see someone championing IT culture. My own family dumps it before me, and I have now given up trying to defend my industry and its culture.

  2. unsungpsalm February 28, 2009 at 11:04 pm #

    Aww… well, as long as you get by 🙂

Leave a Reply

