A good start on an accented note

20 Feb

So it’s 3 p.m. and I’ve been having a rather good day. As per the Law of Balance that I strongly believe in, the horrid part of the day should start sometime now.

What was so good about the day? This morning, I had lab which ended in one hour, so we went off for a king-sized breakfast of omelette dripping with cheese spread and garlic toast. I was riding behind my ex-roomie on his fabulous bike, and thoroughly enjoyed the ride so much so that I wish it wasn’t him steering it but my hot gay (presently non-existent) boyfriend, or alternatively, me, with the above-said fictional person sitting behind me and clinging on to me.

Later in conversation, we were talking about music and how I never utilised my talents when I was young, as a consequence of which I never trained my voice. Since it cracked, anything that I sing sounds awful.
Meanwhile, I mentioned to Hagatha how I’d suddenly taken to hindi music and would listen to a Atif Aslam number before going to sleep every night. I couldn’t recall the title of the track, so I started singing it. Another friend at the table, who’s a trained singer, started laughing hysterically. Apparently, my singing in hindi is more accented than my speech.
It’s been mentioned many times, but this particular friend hasn’t heard me sing in Hindi before, and melodramatic as she is, she really got me very very embarrassed about the whole affair!

Usually, I’m flattered if someone says I’m accented (pathetic, I know) and would’ve been delighted to be told what she said to me. But somehow, she was sooo dramatic about it, that it got embarrassing. Then she whisked out her phone and said that she wanted to record me singing, so that she could set it as a ring-tone!
I refused to oblige, though I would’ve done it for anyone else slightly less animated about it.
Awkward as it was, I found the whole situation really really funny.

Afterwards, I discovered that I’d made a decent score (finally) in one of my tests earlier, which added to the optimism. To top it all, I bunked gym and returned to my room after a whole-some cheesy breakfast and no workout. Sheer indulgence!

In other news, I’ve once again acquired a bicycle (the last one was over a year ago) and am cycling my way around campus. Sure it leaves one a little sweaty, with the sweltering heat, but hey, I think it looks really really cool! Sort of… umm, *coughwesterncough*.
It’s cutting my travel time significantly, I reach classes easily, and my legs are getting some exercise, so I think I can safely bump off the leg workout from my weekly routine (and focus more on what can be made more visibly appealing ๐Ÿ˜› )

So basically, it’s been a good day. And I’m scheduled to depart tonight for Bangalore, so I would’ve prefered if that was the highlight of the day.

Hmm… maybe the trip won’t go off all that well… Geez, I hope not!

10 Responses to “A good start on an accented note”

  1. Childwoman February 20, 2009 at 4:20 pm #

    Have a good trip yo!

  2. unsungpsalm February 20, 2009 at 4:22 pm #

    Thanks ๐Ÿ™‚
    Peace out!

  3. Childwoman February 20, 2009 at 4:23 pm #

    LOL!!!!!!!!!!!! ๐Ÿ˜€

  4. Crazy Sam February 20, 2009 at 5:30 pm #

    I dunno why I’m feeling jealous reading this. ๐Ÿ˜€

  5. Jh February 20, 2009 at 5:42 pm #

    You’re a riot! Have fun in blr.Jh

  6. BlueMist February 20, 2009 at 5:57 pm #

    YAY !! Wish you more and more happy days like this. Touch wood. Have fun.
    BTW bicycle is really cool ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. unsungpsalm February 20, 2009 at 6:26 pm #

    *Sam
    Hmm, I really wonder why!

    *JH
    Thankie! When are you coming… err, near BLR?

    *Blue
    Thanks a lot! I really hope so too ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. JH February 20, 2009 at 7:16 pm #

    Working on it….need to get an adequate batch mate quorum. I may end up in DEL/BOM way before “near BLR” ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. unsungpsalm February 20, 2009 at 7:26 pm #

    Ahh, right.

    Hoping it happens though!

  10. D February 20, 2009 at 8:28 pm #

    I love cycling and wish I was in a place where it was easier to cycle to work for a woman.

Leave a Reply

