Hats and Barkhas

12 Feb

So I had this really awkward dream last night.
In that dream, I was visiting some college for an event or a conference or something of the sort. I walked into a room, and lo behold, before me was talking on the phone, before my very eyes, none other than the magnanimous Barkha Dutt!

To the very detail, I recall pretending to faint on seeing her, just to flatter her. Coupled with falling on the floor… the entire do. Soon after, I was on my feet and expressing my admiration of her work “even though I haven’t seen you on the telly for quite some time now.” And I told her about how, on a recording of WeThePeople that I’d gone for (in real), she was asking around for comments during a commercial break, and when I managed to attract her attention and was addressing her, she kept her hand on my shoulder while listening to what I had to say (again, in real). And how I never wanted to wash that shoulder ever again.

At the same time, I recalled that Chandni and her Boy, along with some others, had been complaining about NDTV coverage being irresponsible and intrusive. And I mentioned it to her, in brief, because it’s hard to concentrate on details in dreams.
While she was offering an explanation, my mind happened to drift off to a shelf behind her. Lo behold, on the shelf were not 1, not 2, but 4-5 cowboy hats, my fetish-since-eternity! In different makes, designs and colours too! I recall there was at least one in tan and another in greyish black.

And while Barkha was explaining to me why her work was not irresponsible, I simply walked past her and started admiring the hats. At that exact point in time, I was under the impression that I was in my own home, that these hats had been around under my roof, and that I hadn’t known till then.

Dreams are soo abstract. Especially, locations, people and events.

I don’t think I got to try on any of the hats. I was awake soon after. And no, I didn’t manage to catch Barkha’s defence either.
Quite a waste of a marvellous dream, if you ask me.

11 Responses to “Hats and Barkhas”

  1. Rakesh February 13, 2009 at 12:54 am #

    I like hats too (not a fetish) but I never found one that looked good on me, that is, until the one I bought for the new year’s eve party. This one fits me so well and dare I say, looks good too. πŸ™‚ Its not a cowboy hat, its a gentleman’s fedora style dress hat.

  2. unsungpsalm February 13, 2009 at 7:35 am #

    It suited you immensely πŸ™‚

  3. Crazy Sam February 14, 2009 at 7:54 pm #

    You seem to have got quite an exposure on MTVs and NDTVs. Who are you really! Should I start hunting for YouTube videos to find that??

  4. unsungpsalm February 14, 2009 at 8:38 pm #

    Ha, I’m afraid you won’t be successful. I’ve never been on TV long enough to be noticed. And on WeThePeople, I didn’t even get to speak 😦

    On MTV, I was asked some random questions about “Muzamil Ibrahim”. The guy asked me if I’d want to go on a date with him…

    Why ever would he ask me if I’d want to go on a date with him!?!?

    And then, I was googling Muzamil right now, and I realised…

    I’d love to go on a date with him!! So hot πŸ˜›

    Anyway, I’ve been on TV more often than that, of course, but never “featured”. Have no fear, I’ll be making headlines some day πŸ™‚

  5. Jay February 15, 2009 at 12:06 am #

    Barkha Dutt is quite a catty little bitch by the way.

  6. Nikita February 15, 2009 at 1:21 am #

    Hmmm interesting. By the bye, I have heard seeing famous people in one’s dreams indicates something good, maybe some success, in near future πŸ™‚
    I don’t know how true is that, I hope it comes true for you πŸ™‚

  7. unsungpsalm February 15, 2009 at 8:08 am #

    *Jay
    I like me ladies that way πŸ˜›

    *Nikita
    Awww, thanks. I wish the same for you too!

  8. BlueMist February 15, 2009 at 3:46 pm #

    Awww I hear that you will be making headlines soon ; dont forget old blog buddies then πŸ˜›

    quite interesting dream and I too dream such random dreams where people who dont know in real life tend to interact with each other in dream. πŸ™‚

  9. unsungpsalm February 15, 2009 at 9:38 pm #

    Haha, it’s fun, isn’t it!

    • BlueMist July 8, 2009 at 6:41 pm #

      I have feeling. You loved the hats more than BD. so you royally ignored her and walked past her to hats shelf. πŸ˜‰
      Now after your tweet with BD post; this dream has given a total new angle to look at πŸ˜€

      ** Note to myself **
      OMG ….BlueMist Run Now…USP is gonna kill you !! πŸ˜›

      • unsungpsalm July 8, 2009 at 10:08 pm #

        Eh, wrong! I already shot you.

        You’re quite dead now πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

